We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“** great hotel **”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“** great hotel **”
Reviewed February 17, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel between 15th and the 23rd Jan 2007. I booked this hotel mainly due to the reviews on this site, so felt I should leave a review.

This was our 4th trip and we usually use a different hotel every trip. Not anymore!

This hotel is very good value for money, having the option of breakfast is great. It cuts down on wasted time trying to find a dinner and is great value. The choices were fruit, yougart, bagels, muffins and cerials. The only negitive point is that we found it very hard to get a seat during the weekend and felt the hotel should provide more seats at this busy time. ** might I add that the girls who work in the hotel cafe are brilliant, very friendly and wont allow you to lift a finger.

I was unsure about the wine and cheese receptions, we are in our mid 20's and didnt know what the age range would be, however it was great and with good quality drinks and help when I was getting ready for night out!

The bedrooms were fine and came wih everything you could need. My only problem was that I felt the beds were uncomfortable, but each to their own I suppose.
The room and bathroom was kept very clean by daily maid service.

The reception staff were great, very friendly and helpful.

I will deff use this hotel again and am considering it for my return shopping trip with my friend later this year in September.

Hope this helps any future hoildays!

  • Liked — The breakfast being included and the staff
  • Disliked — Felt beds were not comfy, not enough seating in cafe to accomodate weekend business.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank kezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,840
    677
    111
    40
    26
See reviews for
1,215
3,015
208
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (982)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2007

Excellent hotel and good value for this expensive area. The cafe, wine and cheese along with the internet access were nice touches. The decor was also excellent with the only downside being the room was a little on the small side - everything's huge in the U S of A afterall.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BigJaydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2007

If you like small and friendly, attentive staff and a great location, don't think about it, just BOOK IT! The 24 hour tea, coffee, cakes and cookies is a nice touch as is the late afternoon wine, cheese and biscuits. Basic rooms are a bit on the small side but guess that's Manhattan! We loved it...

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank BorgsBearsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAINESVILLE
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2007

My wife and I go to NYC every June for our wedding anniversary, we picked this hotel based on tripadvisor recommendations and they were absolutely on the mark with this hotel. Easy access to everything downtown. food, wine, room, staff all 5 star, if this hotel had a pool and gym, it would be a 10 out of 10 instead of a 9.8 out of 10!!!!

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — no pool or gym but they did give a pass to a gym
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank bamafutbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2007

I only stayed in NY for one night last week - and picked the Casablanca on the basis of the Tripadviser reviews - and they are not wrong. The hotel itself is in an incredible location - just off Times Square. The rooms are as good as you could get for location and are clean and well stocked. The breakfast is good for a basic continental and certainly adequate - unless you like to gorge yourself on a cooked breakfast - something only possible in bigger hotels. The real plus was the staff. I cannot remember coming across a nicer bunch of people than the front desk and bellhop staff. I ended up spending a lot longer checking in (it was late at night) just chatting to the guys on the front desk - and did the same checking out (it was quiet). They stored my bag and helped me move into the room without the usual hanging around for a tip and got me a limo to the airport because there were no cabs around. An excellent experience - I will stay there again.

  • Liked — The staff and location
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Big-Flip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2007

We booked the Casablanca for 5 nights in New York as part of an anniversary trip to the USA in November.

Everything was great - I wondered about the complimentary breakfast and cheese / wine - the quality was much better than I expected. Also the lounge was so calm and peaceful.

We asked for a quiet room - we got one. The room was not large, but everything was good quality.

We really liked the front desk staff who were always friendly and helpful.

Being from the UK, and a first time visitor to New York, I can not compare with other New York hotels, or comment on value - but if you are looking for a place which is close to the tourist spots for a first time visitor to NY, this is a tremendous choice.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Paul Schofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2007

Although we live in the area, we chose to stay overnight in midtown after a wine tasting around the corner.
Pros:
Location, Location, Location. Just steps from Times Square. Surprisingly quiet for a Manhattan hotel (how do they do it?) Convenient inexpensive parking right next door. Very attentive friendly staff with a total "can-do" attitude. Beautiful comfortable common areas. Coffee and tea available 24/7. Room decor is themed and a welcome change from the ho-hum routine. Large shower, comfortable for two. Sparkling clean.
Con:
Only one con, the bed was lumpy, but I am sure they would have changed the room if we had mentioned it.

Enjoy your stay at this incredible gem in Midtown.

  • Liked — Location. Theme.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank AtlanticJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,377 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 467 in New York City
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
773 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing