We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - fantastic staff and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel - fantastic staff and location”
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Just returned from a week here and very impressed. Hotel location ideal for Broadway theatres, we found it was within walking distance of many areas of interest in Manhatten, but subway with wide line access very close on 42nd St/Times Sq. The included breakfast (great selection of fresh bagels/buns, cereal, fruit, freshly squeezed OJ etc) and evening wine & cheese were big plus factors - especially with the relaxed friendly atmosphere and genuine warmth and attention of the staff. There's 24 hour access to coffee and cookies, and free internet access including a terminal in the lounge/cafe. Can't really comment on the noise of the in-window air-con as this was drowned out by nocturnal roadworks whilst we were staying! I guess it's a reflection on how relaxed we felt staying at the Casablanca, and how pleasantly exhausted by sightseeing and enjoying ourselves, that even the 1am pneumatic drills didn't really bother us......they did clear away by our last night though!
We preferentially stay at smaller "boutique" hotels and have no hesitation in recommending Casablanca. Would definitely stay here again. This hotel deserves it's high TA ranking.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subaru3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,741
    669
    108
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,183
2,953
200
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2009

After visiting NYC for 50+ years for both business and leisure we have finally found our NYC home away from home. We could not believe the website presented a true picture of the property. From the moment we entered the lobby we had positive feelings. The staff was professional and helpful. Every ammenity was excellent. Ricks cafe is a treasure. The breakfast buffet and evening reception were excellent. We even had the pleasure of the friday evening piano program. We look forward to our next visit and have already recommended the Casablanca to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

in this beautiful hotel. Our second time staying here and this time uuas even better than the first...possibly because it uuas for longer...possibly for other reasons. Our anniversary uuas very special and as far as I can make out the staf uuere very helpful in making arrangements for my partner to surprise me.
If you happen to read this honey ......please can uue go back?? :O)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0Penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

If ever in New York City again, I will definitely be staying here again.

We choose to stay in a mini suite which was just fantastic. My friend tends to wake up a little earlier than me, so she could relax in the sitting room without disturbing me. The suite was great, the toiletries were fantastic, the location was right at Time Square, you really could not get a better location to experience Downtown Manhattan. Even though there was so much happening outside on Time Square, the moment you step inside the hotel the noise of the street is left behind. It really is a little gem of a hotel.

The breakfast was very nice and the wine & cheese each evening was a nice touch. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I would have to agree with the other reviews and say that the air-conditioning was very loud but it certainly didn't interrupt our sleep. Unless you are a light sleeper this shouldn't be too difficult to put up with.

If I am fortunate to come back to New York City, I will not even consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaz_2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

This hotel is excellent ! This was our second stay in two years and we were concerned that things at this hotel would not seem as good the second time round, but they were. The friendliness and yet professionalism of all the staff is amazing, especially Samuel who always seemed to be on duty and helping guests for the whole of our 9 night stay. The attention to detail can't be faulted and if you want a comfortable and quiet refuge that is in a perfect location just off Times Square, (which is ideal for subway links if you want to explore further and within easy walking distance of all the Midtown sights if you are in NYC for a quick stay). You will love his hotel and NYC and will want to come back again and again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenmonkey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

From the interior to the staff (every single one of them) to the cleanliness of the rooms, I found Casablanca to be a delight. The atmosphere is cosy, the rooms gorgeous and the reception staff were so helpful to us, providing us with city maps and detailing where we needed to go. A few weeks later we returned to NYC and stayed in the Tudor at the United Nations - which was more expensive and nowhere near as good as far as the staff were concerned. Wonderful hotel, would recommend to anyone. Also, literally 30 seconds from Times Square. Perfect.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReaThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Together with my wife and our 2 youngest sons of 21 we stayed nearly a week in this hotel which is a few steps away from Times Square. You would expect a lot of noise but our rooms were silent and o so nice (and large for NY standards). The staff is more than friendly and helpful and the whole place feels like you are staying with friends in the centre of town. The hotel is small (some 30 rooms) and that gives it an extra dimension. Breakfast is super (and included) and then there is a lounge with drinks and snacks throughout the day. I have been staying at so many different hotels in all parts of the world, but I would always go back to the Casablanca which is a true star close to everything.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AloysiusTrequanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
1,357 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
935 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing