We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“I would stay here again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

I must say this one of the best hotels I have stayed in and only the second I would go back too. I won't dwell on all the finer points as these have been said before. It is an excellent hotel if you are staying more than one night ask for a room at the back, the front rooms are very noisy at the front. Hotel staff were excellent all of them could not do enough for us very rare in this day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cahersiveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,629
    651
    107
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,149
2,877
195
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (930)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

This is a real gem - we have stayed in several places in NYC but The Casablanca is the best ever - faultless!! From location, to the welcome, comfort of the rooms, breakfast, wine & cheese evenings, everything was absolutely excellent. A real home-from-home!! We will be back!! We can also recommend Tony's next door - real authentic Italian family cuisine!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianandhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. We spent 2 nights at this hotel and found it to be deserving of its number 1 trip advisor rating. The staff are friendly and approachable and the service was exceptional. The room was clean & modern, with it having the best bathroom out of all the hotels we stayed at during our 4 week trip through the US. The amenities on offer are definitely a cut above the rest. I will certainly be staying here again on my next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 783benc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

My stay at Casablanca was nothing short of AMAZING!
I came solo from Australia, and felt very comfortable at the Casablanca Hotel, and the close proximity to Times Square!
Everyone...and I mean everyone at Casablanca made my trip a dream......the room was clean, modern and quiet.
Hats off to the lovely staff on the second floor, breakfast and wine and cheese......special mention to the absolutely lovely lady having a baby shorty......you were an absolute delight, I wish you the best xxx
NO WONDER YOU GUYS ARE NUMBER ONE..............YOU DESERVE TO BE!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: south side are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindylooWestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

We spent one night at this small boutique hotel, which is every bit as nice as all have said in their reviews. The hotel's decor is unpretentious,clean and cheerful.
Yes, rooms may seem a bit small, but realistically, they are not all that small compared to the rooms at brand name chain hotels at four or even five star category. Yes, they do not have a restaurant, however there are hundreds in walking distance. The hotel has a friendly but subdued,quiet welcoming lounge. Included in your tariff is a good breakfast served in that lounge; and whats more, there is early evening wine ,snacks, tea, and biscuits that can be a pre dinner treat.
Staff is exceptionally pleasant. (this is a chance occurrence in Gotham city) All else is as it should be.
There is no doubt in my mind, that my next stay in New York will be at this hotel.

Room Tip: For quiet, choose a room facing the narrow courtyard. Do not expect any views. All one needs is a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laymya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnTaboadaNYC, General Manager at Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Laymya,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to NYC. I appreciate all of your kind words on the hotel accommodations and the staff. We only hire the kindest people who are delighted to treat our guests like their most cherished family. They will be thrilled to know they made you feel at home and we all look forward to seeing you back soon.

Since you only stayed one night, you seem to have missed one terrific amenity of the hotel. I do want to take a moment to point out that we do have a wonderful restaurant in the hotel called Tony's Di Napoli! It is located one floor below our clubroom, Rick's Café which you mentioned and it takes up most of the ground floor of the building. Tony's gets great reviews on TripAdvisor so please be sure to check it out. You can enter from the side door in our lobby or order through room service. You can sign the bill to your room account right from the table as well. Tony's is open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner and is even open on Thanksgiving and Christmas as well as New Years Eve when all the hotel guests enjoy a spectacular party including a 5 course meal at Tony's.

Laymya, We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Casablanca. If I may ever be of service, please feel free to contact me directly at 212 869 1212 or by return email at John@CasablancaHotel.com.

Sincerely,

John Taboada
General Manager
Casablanca Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

First, the location. This is the closest you can get to the center of Times Square. The main billboards can be seen from the hotel entrance and a one minute walk has you directly under them. Most of the Broadway musicals are very near, there is a variety of famous restaurants nearby, and this area is the main start point for bus tours of New York. Central Park is about 15-20 minutes walk away. Just walking around the locale is a great sightseeing experience.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are not very large, but are well laid out and clean. As a small hotel, there are no restaurants or bars in the hotel, but Tony's restaurant is next door (there is a door through to the bar), and the Brooklyn Diner is the other side of the hotel. We didn't eat at Tony's (portions rather large for just two people), but did eat at the Diner which was good (separately reviewed). Food from both of these can be ordered on room service.

There is a lounge/cafe area on the second floor, which provides a range of continental breakfast foods in the morning, coffee and biscuits/cakes during the day, and cheese and wine in the early evening - all for free. At first sight the hotel may look a little expensive for its size, but given these amenities, not to mention the location, we thought the hotel was excellent value for money.

One small point, given that several views of the interior show the (very nice) staircase, we wondered whether there would be a lift. In case anyone else is wondering, there is a lift.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P22S22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Superb hotel primely positioned near Times Square. On arrival, I paid the balance of my bill using a pre-loaded credit card. Fransisco at the check in desk had explained that there would be be a $50 per day incidentals charge that would be returned if no additional charges occurred. I hadn't listened properly and made the payment with my pre-loaded card. I then realised that I would have $350 less to spend while in New York and would only get the money back onto the card when I had returned to England (what a blunder). Francisco and his Manager went out of their way to expedite the return of the sum of money to my card. Which duly happened within 2 days. Each time we left or returned to the hotel the staff were extremely pleasant and courteous and were always willing to help with directions or any other advice. There is a large choice for the inclusive breakfast including many cereals, eggs, pastries and fruit as well as juice. Tea, coffee and chilled water are available throughout the day. Cheese and wine are offered in the evening all at no extra cost. The rooms are left spotless by the staff who even return to the room in the evening when you have gone out and re-tidy the bed and leave fresh towels (that's twice a day) I very much doubt you would get this kind of service at any other hotel. The free WiFi is first class with no hiccups. The whole experience was superb, very friendly and attentive staff, my wife and I bought a large cheese cake from Juniors to share with the staff as a way of saying thank you for the fantastic service for which they were very grateful. I would very highly recommend this hotel, you will not find a better experience.Davidp@ohamackay.com.au
Thank you to all at Casablanca.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing