We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Love this hotel !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Ranked #3 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Love this hotel !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Whenever I bring family or friends to New York for their first time, this is where we stay. This hotel is simply fabulous and located right in Times Square. From the hospitality to the freebies, this hotel is perfect. The rooms are immaculate with comfort and style. The staff is wonderful, everyone very knowledgeable of the area. The free breakfast, bottled water, and wi-fi make the stay so much more enjoyable.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MinervaNichole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,175
    612
    93
    39
    25
See reviews for
1,018
2,606
172
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (825)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Staff made us feel very welcome. Cheese and wine was a lovely way to start the evening. The continental breakfast was substantial and had a very good selection which really set us up for the day. If you want a more substantial breakfast for a change, try Good Enough to Eat on the west side of Central Park.

Stepping out of mayhem that is Time Square in to the lobby was like turning the volume off. We have rarely had such a good sleep in a hotel, although we were towards the back of the hotel. We went to four shows and were always five minutes walk away from the theatre. TKTS same day discount tickets is literally round the corner (https://www.tdf.org/nyc/7/TKTS-ticket-booths). We were queuing at 9.30am for the 11.00am opening and were at the front of the queue (you can take it in turns to queue and go back to the hotel in between) - got 50% discount on tickets for the Kinky Boots matinee on Sunday. Had we realised it was so easy we might have used it more. Also great location for shopping.

If leaving the hotel in rush hour, consider booking a private hire. Staff at the hotel are great at getting a yellow taxi, but took more than 10 minutes to flag down during rush hour.

Room Tip: We had a room towards the back of the hotel - couldn't believe it was so quiet so close to Time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19steve68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The location of Casablanca Hotel was perfect. Close to Times Square - which was fun (for a few nights) but central and close to everywhere we wanted to go in New York. The hotel itself is very boutique, quite quirky but like staying in an old fashioned B & B. We hadn't realised that breakfast is free every morning, as are pre-dinner drinks and nibbles, but this made a big difference to value of the stay. On the downside, the room was quite small - but because the breakfast and drinks are served in 'the library' and there's so much else to do in NYC - we didn't spend much time there at all. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We loved the Casablanca and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one considering the proximity of Times Square. Casablanca staff do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel, bang in the middle of New York, is small yet in depth. The rooms are spacious and clean. Beautifully decorated and every necessity coveredStaff kindness ever and a 24/7 bar with a range of snacks. Free bottles of water everyday and a bottle of complimentary wine also! Just walk out the front door and you're in Times Square. A brilliantly popular restaurant is easily accessible from a door leading to it. The machines and air conditioning outside were a little noisy but it's simple enough to ignore. Excellent and greatly recommended!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from machines, A/C and cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I travel more than my fair share via business so on my own time I prefer to stay in boutigue properties for some separation. In a word, the Casablanca sets the 'gold' standard. Clean, quiet, attention to detail, and a professional staff, my wife and I would have hard time to find any detail to improve upon. Without any question, this will be our return hotel when we revisit NYC.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Art W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
225 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We did not know the hotel was just a few doors from Times Square, another bonus. The staff at the Casablanca are so friendly and helpful it made our journey to skyscraper city much easier. Anything you need, they had it. The breakfast and appetizers were excellent, the decor beautiful and the rooms very cozy! This is a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank going5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights at the end of our trip. We had booked an airport pickup from the hotel but unfortunately this got mixed up and the pickup never came.
Instead wer took a large taxi from the taxirankl whch could accomodate all 5 of us and luggage.
The hotel staff were really helpful,friendly and when checking in and gave us a $100 gift card for the italian restaurant Tony's as way of apology for the mixup.

The room we had was a family room, and our other family members had a standard room, they are all of a smaller size than some hotels but by any big city standards they were still fine.

The interior of the rooms are clean and well looked after and we recieved a complimentary bottle of red in our room on arrival. Our air con was a little noisy but worked fine all the same.

The wine and cheese reception every night is a good way to start the night before heading out around the city. The complimentary breakfast is good quality produce. As mentioned above,the italian Tonys has some great food with massive portions so beware having one dish for one person more like 1 for 3 people, however they will inform you of that.
They also have the Brooklyn diner next door which is also famous in NYC which serves amercian style breakfasts and food throughout the day, we went there once and this was also good.

The hotel staff will help with every need and even run out in the rain and whistle a taxi for ya, what can you say, great service, would definately recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nevetsno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#4 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,131 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,079 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#25 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Property: Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Casablanca Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing