We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enhanced the New York experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enhanced the New York experience”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The location of Casablanca Hotel was perfect. Close to Times Square - which was fun (for a few nights) but central and close to everywhere we wanted to go in New York. The hotel itself is very boutique, quite quirky but like staying in an old fashioned B & B. We hadn't realised that breakfast is free every morning, as are pre-dinner drinks and nibbles, but this made a big difference to value of the stay. On the downside, the room was quite small - but because the breakfast and drinks are served in 'the library' and there's so much else to do in NYC - we didn't spend much time there at all. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We loved the Casablanca and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one considering the proximity of Times Square. Casablanca staff do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,844
    677
    111
    40
    26
See reviews for
1,217
3,017
208
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (983)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel, bang in the middle of New York, is small yet in depth. The rooms are spacious and clean. Beautifully decorated and every necessity coveredStaff kindness ever and a 24/7 bar with a range of snacks. Free bottles of water everyday and a bottle of complimentary wine also! Just walk out the front door and you're in Times Square. A brilliantly popular restaurant is easily accessible from a door leading to it. The machines and air conditioning outside were a little noisy but it's simple enough to ignore. Excellent and greatly recommended!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from machines, A/C and cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I travel more than my fair share via business so on my own time I prefer to stay in boutigue properties for some separation. In a word, the Casablanca sets the 'gold' standard. Clean, quiet, attention to detail, and a professional staff, my wife and I would have hard time to find any detail to improve upon. Without any question, this will be our return hotel when we revisit NYC.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Art W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We did not know the hotel was just a few doors from Times Square, another bonus. The staff at the Casablanca are so friendly and helpful it made our journey to skyscraper city much easier. Anything you need, they had it. The breakfast and appetizers were excellent, the decor beautiful and the rooms very cozy! This is a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank going5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights at the end of our trip. We had booked an airport pickup from the hotel but unfortunately this got mixed up and the pickup never came.
Instead wer took a large taxi from the taxirankl whch could accomodate all 5 of us and luggage.
The hotel staff were really helpful,friendly and when checking in and gave us a $100 gift card for the italian restaurant Tony's as way of apology for the mixup.

The room we had was a family room, and our other family members had a standard room, they are all of a smaller size than some hotels but by any big city standards they were still fine.

The interior of the rooms are clean and well looked after and we recieved a complimentary bottle of red in our room on arrival. Our air con was a little noisy but worked fine all the same.

The wine and cheese reception every night is a good way to start the night before heading out around the city. The complimentary breakfast is good quality produce. As mentioned above,the italian Tonys has some great food with massive portions so beware having one dish for one person more like 1 for 3 people, however they will inform you of that.
They also have the Brooklyn diner next door which is also famous in NYC which serves amercian style breakfasts and food throughout the day, we went there once and this was also good.

The hotel staff will help with every need and even run out in the rain and whistle a taxi for ya, what can you say, great service, would definately recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nevetsno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

My sisters and I planned a special visit to New York to celebrate milestone birthdays. We went the second week of July. And I cannot say enough about the fantastic staff and the lovely accommodations at Casablanca Hotel. Thanks to Joseph, Houda and Robert and all the other cleaning and desk people. They were all so helpful and friendly. Whatever we needed they were quick to help in any way they could.

The room was lovely and clean with lots of amenities. The complimentary breakfast and wine and cheese in the afternoon was a lovely feature. The next time we visit NY we will definitely stay at this hotel again. Also should mention how quiet the room was I was very happily surprised.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Fantastic customer service at the Casablanca, and it is truly just a few short steps from the center of Times Square! The Casablanca has a lot to offer, and it exceeded our expectations! Hope we can visit again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaDawgMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,383 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 467 in New York City
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
774 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing