We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for New York visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

5,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,733
    668
    108
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,179
2,948
200
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Loved the ambience of the hotel. I was on business and glad as it is not cheap...
Well trained staff rooms very clean, all you could want of a 5 star hotel..anything you wish for is there no problem recommending ..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We selected the Casablanca based on the high ranking and general positive feedback on-line. We couldn't have chosen better. This hotel is smack in the middle of Manhattan and close to many major attractions. The Hotel is not your typical chain of boring rooms and design, no, the Casablanca, is like a boutique hotel with charm character and exceptional staff. The rooms are well styled and very comfortable indeed. We had a KIng Superior and it was fabulous. Its not a high rise and nothing special about the views, but it's location and atmosphere are second to none in my opinion. The complimentary cheese and wine every night from 5pm to 8pm was typical of the extra features this hotel offered. Breakfast, buffet style was plentiful and set us up each day. The location was 15 mins form Central Park, Empire State Building etc, and on the doorstep of Grand Central Station and TImes Square, so couldn't have been better. I want to personally thank the staff at the Casablanca for being very tolerant of an "first-time" British tourist, they took all the time I needed to guide me around, make bookings for me and help me beat the queues etc. We had an exceptional time at the Casablanca, its spotlessly clean, well managed and a joy to stay at. You cant go wrong here.

Room Tip: No need to request a view room as they don't offer anything spectacular. Use the front desk team...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I wouldn't know where to start with saying how great this place is, but I'll give it a go.
Location: RIGHT on Times Square but at the same time, peaceful and tranquil. We loved the location, we were literally ten steps to the right from Times Square where New York comes alive. Theatres, restaurants, shops, bars and a supermarket (a Walgreens within a minute walk). But when we had enough, or needed ten minutes out, we could just nip back to the hotel for a coffee and pastry in Rick's and plan our next move. I think that is what really impressed us about The Casablanca; it was like having the amenities of home in a hotel, and they really made you feel like it was yours to use. Even after we had checked out, the staff told us to feel free to keep using everything as we weren't getting collected until after 4pm. In other hotels you would need to go back to your room, or buy a drink in the bar, but it's all there for you as part of your stay here.
Room: The room was really lovely, I would say smaller than we are used to when we stay in places like Orlando or European breaks, but this is New York slap bang in the centre. There was a queen bed (SO comfy and with a selection of pillows), a table with two chairs, a dresser and built in wardrobe, everything you could need; especially as there was a whole lounge to use downstairs. And as I said to my partner, no other city centre hotel I know of would save such a big area of their hotel to serve guests free refreshments 24/7, so who cares if the rooms are a bit cosy.
Staff: The staff were so lovely and helpful, you really would not be disappointed with the service you receive. You will be surprised at the list of things you just have to ask for if you need (special pillows, ear plugs, eye mask etc etc).
Food: The continental breakfast in Rick's is everything you could need and the staff are on hand to toast bread or bagels if you want during breakfast time, just give them a wee shout. If you want a special breakfast (I did on my birthday) Brooklyn's next door is the place, it's a bit pricy ($60 for the two of us) but a great experience. There is also a complimentary cheese and wine served in the hotel between 5 and 7 each day, we didn't make it as we were usually out and about, but we did nip in for a coffee when it was going on one evening and it looked great, a selection of wine, cheeses and biscuits. We ordered room service from Tony's one night as we were exhausted, the food was great and so reasonable compared to other restaurants in the area.
We loved it, we will be back for sure and I can see from our first trip why there are so many repeat visitors, I just can't imagine never going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perthite_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Very nice small hotel with a cosy atmosphere and a staff which is very helpfull and friendly. The hotel location is perfect and a good foundation for walking to almost everything on Manhattan.

We cannot recommend the Hop on and hop off bus services for anything else than a guided tour through Manhattan, where the guide quality btw. is varying a lot. As a transportation method it is simply not good enough, the timing of the busses are not correct, varies up to 1h. Tony's restaurant at the hotel is nice, a bit too busy, but there are a lot of other nice not-expensive restaurants close to the hotel, so we recommend not to visit Tony's more than once though it is convenient.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and weren't disappointed. The hotel location is perfect and situated close to the centre of Times Square. The staff were very friendly and arranged our excursions for us, the room was clean and modern and a welcome sight after a day doing the tourist stuff. When we return to New York with the children The Casablanca Hotel will be our first choice when booking.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cymruambeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Level Contributor
167 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Chose this hotel carefully and we're not disappointed. The hotel is small and in a fabulous location on 43rd a few steps from Times Square. Accommodation, amenities and staff were all superb. Staff were friendly, helpful and could not do enough to ensure we had a great stay. Breakfast was good, also 24/7 drinks and snacks in Rick's Cafe. The early evening cheese and wine reception was a bonus and great for a quick bite if heading out to a show. Would 100% recommend and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: As Times Square is in the heart of the city that never sleeps you could request a room towards the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank almyridafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
1,353 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
930 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelPower and getaroom.com so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing