We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly and helpful staff, nice room, and percs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is our 3rd time at this hotel, and it never disappoints. The location is perfect - just 1/2 a block off Times Square, so you can walk to lots of attractions in that area. You can also walk to the subway - there are lots of lines to choose from at Times Square, so you can get to lots of places in the city easily from there. Also, cabs are easy to get, so the location really is tough to beat.

But the best part is the hotel itself. I really love the Moroccan/middle-eastern décor - it's really tastefully done and beautiful. The staff are welcoming and very helpful. The rooms are clean and fairly quiet, given that they are a stone's throw from lots of action. The second floor lounge area is wonderful! Two rooms, each with TVs, newspapers and other reading materials, comfortable seating and coffee tables. There seems to be food and/or refreshment there almost all day long. The breakfast is very generous for a continental breakfast - fresh fruit really was fresh! We stopped in for tea one afternoon, and a couple of times for the wine, cheese and fruit. It's a really nice atmosphere to hang out in, before you head out for your evening dinner or theatre. The helpful staff are constantly replenishing the buffet, so you never go without.

There's just nothing wrong about this place!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BGMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,508 - 2,514 of 5,865 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our stay at the Casablanca Hotel made out first trip to New York memorable for the right reasons. The staff were friendly and very helpful nothing was too much trouble. The added bonus of the all day tea/coffee was an excellent idea and welcome after a days sightseeing. The wine & cheese made for a pleasant pre-dinner drink. The hotel is ideally situated for Times Square and other attractions. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room on the 5th floor at the back of the hotel so noise was not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janyax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our 8th stay here. NOTHING not to like. As far as I know there is no pool or spa, but if they had one it would be excellent as well. The location just off Times Square makes the location ideal. Tony DiNapoli's is accessible by an interior doorway so you don't even have to go outside to get there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joevarcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A gem in the heart of Times Square. Our first stay (found through Tripadvisor) and it lived up to the reviews. Excellent staff provided a warm welcome from the moment we entered through the door. A small but spotless room on the 4th floor provided a quiet escape from the bustle of Times Square. Rick's Bar was a delightful place to rendezvous and during breakfast and the afternoon wine and cheese, the staff most attentive. Planning to stay again in the near future,

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Lives up to its reviews. Location is excellent right by Times Square, easy to get everywhere from here. Small and friendly and the staff are great would recommend to everyone going to NYC.
The tea & coffee are available all the time in the lounge and the breakfast is a good start to the day. Cheese and wine in the evening is great and what a lovely treat before an evening out. The rooms are cosy but well appointed and the bathrooms have everything you need for your trip. Excellent value for NYC

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TracyHek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at the Casablanca and, from the moment of arrival, until leaving we had a wonderful time. Our first night was in a lovely room, towards the back of the hotel, with very little natural light and so we asked to move. They were most accommodating and transferred our belongings whilst we were out during the day to a room at the front of the hotel which was great. The hotel offered complimentary breakfast each morning which was a great way to start the day and then from 5-8pm there was unlimited cheese and wine (and Prosecco!). My Amercian aunt, uncle and cousin visited from the Washington area (staying in a different hotel as the Casablanca was full) and the staff were happy for them to join us for the cheese and wine and also breakfast the next morning, for which they made NO charge! We also had tickets included in our room rate for Top of The Rock and they organised a time for us to go and even bought 3 extra tickets for my American relatives! Thank you Casablanca, you were great and when we visit New York next time we will stay with you guys again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but have less natural light. We changed to a room at the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Everyone loves the Casablanca-- here's why:

Location: 30 seconds walk to Times Square.
Staff: super friendly.
Quality: everything is well done.
Value: considering its location, it's a good deal.

For just about $300 (pre-paid rate) you get a small but nicely appointed room with a queen size bed and a new bath with good quality fixtures.

The hotel offers a complimentary Continental breakfast in the morning and complimentary wine and nibbles in the evening. Nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TCWilliamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 470 in New York City
1,439 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#5 of 470 in New York City
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $257 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing