We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year in New York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #4 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New year in New York”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We specifically chose this hotel for New Years Eve having read previous comments and were not disappointed. The whole evening was run very well by the staff and the view of the ball was more than I expected. The hotel is perfectly situated for Times Square and quite central for other attractions. All the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were of a good size and clean, my only complaint was there was no thermostat and it got rather hot in the evening. Rick's Cafe was cosy and relaxing, there was a continental breakfast every morning, a 24hr coffee machine and cheese and wine 5-8pm every evening.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandra12307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,785
    672
    109
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,199
2,980
201
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (974)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kurrajong Heights, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a double room. It was so nice to escape the cold and hustle and bustle of New York back into our room. It had all the comforts of home and it was just what we needed after spending a busy day sight seeing. The staff were excellent, the room was quite and comfortable and the location was perfect. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharmayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Casablanca hotel was great! We arrived early on our day of check in and the staff was very accommodating in storing our bags while we went out. They also welcomed us into the lounge for continental breakfast even though we hadn't checked in yet. Once we were checked in, everything was very nice. The room was nice and very clean. We reserved a cozy classic with full bed, but I think we ended up with a queen bed. The room was small as said in other reviews, but we expected this in New York and it was actually bigger than I imagined. All amenities provided in the room were nice, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary water, etc. The extras were nice too. The continental breakfast was nothing special, but what I would expect from a basic continental breakfast. Having coffee and tea available all day was nice, especially since we were there in January and it was cold. The wine and cheese reception in the evenings was also a nice touch. We were there for New Years and this is where the hotel really shined. The staff was all so friendly and helpful and really got into celebrating with the guests. The 5 course meal for New Years Eve and open bar was awesome. Everything was delicious. The entertainment was pretty good. And of course the champagne toast on the roof at midnight to watch the ball drop was the highlight! They also provided hats, and glow necklaces and 2014 glasses and noise makers and all that fun stuff to bring in the new year. They went above and beyond to make our New Years special and it was. I highly recommend this hotel for New Years Eve if you aren't the type that wants to stand in the crowd, but has always wanted to see the ball drop.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank posttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Perfect location, wonderful staff, and complimentary coffee, cappuccino, lattes, hot cocoa and snacks all day what more can you ask for. They also had wine and cheese every night news papers. They bring complimentary bottled waters in every day for you also.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kristen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

First time we have visited the big apple, and we couldn't have been in a better hotel. Perfectly situated, a stones throw from Times Square, and therefore all the major attractions. All staff at hotel professional, courteous and will do anything to help, this included the concierge running across two streets to get us a taxi. Fantastic and stylish hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

All the hotel employees were extremely friendly and courteous. The room was comfortably appointed. I liked the fact that the turn-down service also turned on the radio. The bathroom tile was very attractive, and I really like the overhead shower. I also thought that the 24-hour availability of coffee, snacks, etc. was a very attractive feature, especially because the snacks, etc. were not depleted by 11:00 when I returned from the theater/. Negatives: my room (and Rick's) were chilly. I realize it was unusually cold outside, but there was no thermostat in my room by which I could turn up the heat. Also, voices/television from other room(s) were very audible in my room.



  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Casablanca is a great little hotel a block from Times Square and convenient to the Theater District. It is located between two very good restaurants. The hotel was quiet, staff was friendly and the 2nd floor lounge was cozy and a great place for breakfast or just sitting and chatting by the fire. We had street side room so some noise from the street--can't believe all the sirens in NYC, but the hotel supplied a white noise machine free of charge and I slept like a baby. Definitely would stay at the Casablanca the next time I am in the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rita_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 467 in New York City
1,365 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
771 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing