We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Happy Surprise...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A Happy Surprise...”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We visited New York every year to 5 years and this hotel certainly was the best. Many pleasant surprises happened, all attendants received us with a smile, and even with our english not very convincing, they strove to understand us, rooms and bathrooms clean, warm, a nice breakfast, a happy hour with wine and cheese, fruit, crackers, coffee and tea 24 hours a day ... finally ... Thank you to all the Hotel Casablanca, and sure enough, we'll be back ..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diogo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,742
    669
    108
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,183
2,954
200
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marcellus, New York, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The Casablanca is a great hotel!! Walking distance to everything and the hotel is luxurious and spacious. We rented a mini suite and had planty of room for my family of 5. The staff is the nicest staff I have done business with and I travel on a regular basis. We are already talking of our next trip to The Casablanca and can not wait to extend our trip here next time. Highly recommend and suggest you stay here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and myself spent 7 days in New York back in July to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary. We had been planning the trip (both of our first times in New York) for quite some time and had booked many events (Mets game, Justin Timberlake/Jay-Z concert, Broadway, Shopping etc.). The city itself was phenomenal and we can't wait to get back. We stayed at the Casablanca Hotel right in the heart of Times Square and I really can't recommend it enough. I chose the hotel based on reviews from TripAdvisor and the price seemed reasonable for comparable locations in the heart of Manhattan. The staff were unfailingly cheerful and attentive, both in terms of making sure we were comfortable at all times (it was incredibly hot in the city, but we were comfortably cool in the hotel) enjoying our stay in the city and inquiring as to whether or not there was anything we needed. We enjoyed their breakfast every morning before we set out into the city, the daily spread was always wonderful (a great choice of cereals, granola, fruit, pastries, coffee, tea etc.) and our room was very comfortable and always clean. Being right in the heart of city didn't affect the noise in the hotel as we always found it quiet inside. The location is obviously perfect (right in the heart of Times Square), and we enjoyed being so close to a subway terminal as we found that that was our primary method of transportation around the city. The next time we go back, we will definitely be staying again at the Casablanca as it really is a first rate hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel was always very quiet, we enjoyed our regular (non-suite) room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamianK321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I could not find a single fault with this hotel. The rooms were spacious, well decorated and one of the most comfortable beds I have stayed in whilst on holiday. The staff (particularly the reception staff) were so friendly, helpful and obliging. I couldn't believe the value for money we received either. Each morning there is a free continental breakfast available and each evening the wine, cheese and selection of dips, snacks etc., was the nicest touch.

I was amazed by the close proximity of the hotel to Times Square and yet there was no sign of the hustle and bustle and noise in the hotel itself.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again - top class

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Trip Advisor reviewers got this one spot on. Smack in the middle of the Times Square mayhem but a peaceful, reserved haven of sanity. Superbly friendly staff all over the hotel: understated attitudes but all thoroughly professional. We were on a 5 night stay to visit our daughter who is working nearby for a couple of months and she was welcomed equally warmly by the staff. The lounge doubles as the breakfast area and the evening cheese and wine reception area. A fantastic idea if you are heading out to a show but don't want a full sit down meal in a restaurant. Complimentary coffee, tea & hot chocolate are available 24 hours, another smashing idea. Our room was very well appointed and the king sized bed was superbly comfortable. The Casablanca is a place we would highly recommend to anybody who enjoys a quiet stay amidst the bright lights of a bustling city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirangDang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I use trip advisor a fair bit and most of the time the reviews are spot on, however I have never felt the need to write one myself (lazy I guess). I have just stayed with my wife at the Casablanca hotel for 5 nights and have to add my review to the list for this hotel

1: before we went
I had a call at home from the hotel asking if we needed anything in the room, would we like a car to collect us from the airport or if there was anything they could do to make our stay more pleasant - this was a few days BEFORE we even flew out!! amazing..

2: the welcome
it was like coming home to family, everyone seemed so happy to see us and welcome us to the hotel. The atmosphere was one of comfortable familiarity even though we had never been there before

3: the room
lovely, the most comfortable bed I have found in a long time, it was clean and spotless just like the rest of the hotel and was a huge list of complimentary stuff to make it more comfy such as mattress toppers, white noise machine and many other things - you have to try the "ear pyjamas" (headband with speakers in them and an I-pod with relaxing music to help you sleep) my I-pod ran out of charge so the concierge asked me to leave it at the desk for charging. I found out later they did not have enough chargers so they went and bought one to do it - THAT is what you call service.

4: other stuff
there is complimentary tea/coffee etc and cakes, biscuits fruit along with a continental breakfast in 'ricks' café with the two restaurants next door also giving room service. The position of the hotel is perfect, right on times square and within walking distance of nearly everything you would need to go to or see

5: and finally
the doormen, the concierge (and conciergess) were perfect, always happy, always there to help and always knowing the answers to everything you ever ask of them

A perfect hotel for anyone to stay, a couple like my wife and myself or a family with kids

I cannot recommend this hotel enough, if I could it would get 10 stars!!!

Jeff and Kim Collins (UK)

Room Tip: as it fronts onto a major road I would say higher floors would be quieter, we were on the fifth floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JeffCollins2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pudsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The staff at the Casablanca are welcoming and friendly,nothing is too much trouble. the breakfast and evening nibbles and drinks were excellent. Asked for a rear room and were given a lovely room on the 5th floor which was extremely comfortable and quiet' If I return to new York I will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: rear hotels do not look out on to times square and are really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
1,357 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
935 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing