We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$173
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$166
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$343
$314
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$165
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$256
$219
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$184
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$309
$203
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,096)
Filter reviews
6,096 results
Traveler rating
5,215
701
112
42
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,215
701
112
42
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrick's cafewine and cheesetimes squarenew yorkmini suiteevery eveningcontinental breakfastbagelssmall hotelhard boiled eggslounge areaperfect locationwonderful hotelbig applethe theater districtstreet noisearound the corner
Filter
Updating list...
2,979 - 2,984 of 6,096 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great location, wonderful continental breakfast daily as well as afternoon wine and snacks. The rooms were small; our "quiet" room was also dark as it necessarily had to face the central air vent. The worst feature was the position of room air conditioner which was a window unit - the air blew right across one side of the bed and, if the door to the bathroom was open, the air was blocked totally; if the door was closed, it blew like stink across the bed. Since it was in the mid 90's and humid when we were there, the a/c had to be on, so it was not pleasant - and sitting in the 2 chairs was not helpful as the TV could not be viewed from them. Not surprisingly, three of the 4 of us left the Casablanca with colds! The hallways were incredibly hot, humid and stuffy as well with apparently no air conditioning.

Finally, we'd made our reservations (2 couples, 2 rooms) 3-4 months in advance and requested that we be on the same floor; we received a phone call from the hotel office several days ahead which confirmed our requested room style and that we were to be on the same floor as our friends. When we arrived for check-in, exhausted from a cross country flight, we were told that it was impossible to put us on the same floor and that the telephone caller had no business confirming such an arrangement. The desk was adamant and not terribly interesting in accommodating us. Yes, we each received a bottle of wine, but we already had a bad taste in our mouths by then. Not sure if I'd stay there again...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Hoonihoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnTaboadaNYC, General Manager at Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Hoonihoo,

Thank you for choosing the Casablanca. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. First and foremost, please accept our sincerest apologies for the discomfort you experienced with the settings for the window air-conditioning unit in your room. Your safety and comfort is of our utmost concern. As soon as we read your review I went to the room and tested the vent handle that allows you to redirect the air flow. We found that when we adjusted the vent handle to the left, it blew toward the wall and away from the bed, and if you turned the vent to the right it blew toward the bed. We would have welcomed the opportunity to help you set the controls to their most comfortable setting for you. It is our standard practice to inquire as to the comfort of every guest during their stay, specifically to prevent any uncomfortable situations like the one you described. We will be sure to refocus our attention on this as we continue to enhance training to achieve the highest standard in guest service. This is also an opportunity to mention to our fellow travel enthusiasts why it is so important to communicate any issues to your hotel staff at anytime during your stay. At our hotel, it is our goal for each and every traveler to have an enjoyable worry-free stay. Even if you are unsure of how we might address any problem, our countless years of experience leave us with many options to tackle any issue no matter how difficult they may be to achieve complete guest satisfaction. As a follow up to your review, we are also discussing the prospect of placing some form of signage on or near the air conditioning unit to better explain its settings and functions for each guest’s own comfort level and inviting guests to call us for assistance if needed.

Regarding the request to be located on the same floor, we do understand how important that request was for you and we would have liked nothing more than to honor your request. In fact we did block your rooms together, which is why when our guest service agent called a few days prior to your arrival to confirm and offer our services prior to your stay, in his desire to please you, he took the liberty of informing you that the rooms would be together even though this is contradictory to his training. The reason we always caution our staff not to guarantee requests prior to arrival, is specifically to avoid disappointing anyone when unforeseen circumstances limit our available options. In your case, a late switch of rooms to accommodate a maintenance issue the previous day prevented us from honoring your request, which upset us greatly; however, it was unavoidable as we had to provide a functioning room for an arriving guest. Regretfully, with only 45 rooms, and only 10 King bedded rooms, not to mention near full or full occupancy each night, we are faced with one of our greatest challenges as we strive to fulfill each and every specific room request.

I do apologize if you at any time felt that our inability to have your rooms closer to your friends was from either a lack of planning or any indifference on our part, I want to assure you, we take each request seriously. Please know that we are keenly aware that a trip to New York is something people dream of, plan for, and save for and we earnestly want to make our guests’ NYC travel experiences to exceed their expectations. If you enjoyed the clubroom concept and with our complimentary continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese, we would love the opportunity to welcome you to one of our sister hotels in the future where we would be glad to try to make things right for you. If I may ever be of service to you, please do not hesitate to contact me at John@CasablancaHotel.com or 212-869-1212.

Sincerely,

John Taboada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hotel is perfect
Location- Close to Times Square, but despite the noise and bustle of Times Square, hotel is surprisingly quiet.
Very friendly staff, they povide all informations.
They have a wine& cheese happy hour , from 5:00 to 8:00 p.m.Amazing: red, white and sparkling wine, 4 differents kinds of cheese,olive, salt pastries, etc.
Wine & cheese is served in seconf floor, a big elegant room, with many places to seat,nice decor .
Same area for delicious buffet-continental breakfast and same for all day fruits, assorted coffee and teas with pastries and biscuits.
It´s a option if you need to wait a flight after check-out.
Thet have special transportation to airport,a surprise, and same price than regular taxis..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FRANCISCO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Top quality service from every member of the staff, we felt most welcome and appreciated as guests at all times. Yes, the rooms are on the small side but very adequate and the bathroom and linens were good quality and spotless. We really appreciated the inclusion of breakfast, soft drinks and snacks throughout the day, plus a Manager's wine and cheese reception every night. An extra treat was the superb piano player on Friday night. As first timers in the city, we would highly recommend this hotel as the place to stay in New York.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brits at Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of our American touring holiday. It was the perfect hotel for us in so many ways. Firstly, it is just footsteps fromTimes square, so ideally located for walking to many of the major attractions. But, from the minute you step inside the doors a calm and peaceful atmosphere takes over.
Our room was quiet - just the occasional city sound filtered through and I would imagine this would be the same for all rooms overlooking the internal central well. Not so sure about rooms overlooking the front of the building. It wasn't a huge room but more than adequate for our needs and clean and nicely furnished. Bottled water is included - a nice touch we thought.

Breakfast is included and had plenty of choices to suit most tastes and it is served on the second floor in 'rick's cafe' which is a comfy relaxing lounge with, tv, computer/printer and even a pianist who plays during the evenings at weekends. Ricks cafe is open throughout the day for snacks and refreshments and cheese and wine in the evenings (all included). All very welcome for busy NYC tourists.
The staff are incredibly helpful and attentive - I can't emphasize this point enough as they are a total credit to the hotel and deserve lots of praise.
The majority of the guests were middle aged and up and I would imagine this is the hotel's core market. We saw some children during our stay but not many. There is no bar as such or other resort amenities so this may not suit everyone but it was perfect for us. Tony's restaurant right next door is great too!

Room Tip: Ask for an internal facing room if you are looking for somewhere quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed for a conference held at another hotel and chose the Casablanca since it was rated so highly by trip advisor. When the reservation was made, we got the last room available. When we walked into the room, it appeared very small(607) and had a particular smell which I finally identified as country ham!!! The hotel said they had no rooms available until the following night and we would have to totally pack and move to that room at check-out time. Quite bothersome and we would to have left the meeting which was several blocks away.
Just as a side note, the evening desk person, I guess portraying the typical New York personality was very dry and indifferent.
I guess in hidesight we should have stayed at the hotel hosting the conference but unfortunately was misled by the reviews for that hotel!!
I believe the reviews given depend a lot on where the travelers are coming from and what type of accomadations they are accustomed to.
3 stars is the best I can do on this on especially since "I" am accustomed to more spacious hotels-I felt like I was in Europe at a hostel
Sorry for all the other reviewers

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnTaboadaNYC, General Manager at Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear William B,

We were all saddened to hear of your experience with the odor in your room. As you stated correctly, the hotel was sold out and while there were no other options to give you on your first night the staff did work diligently and earnestly to accommodate you with several options the following morning, including a room move, which you declined due to your schedule; however, to be fair, moving rooms at the Casablanca does not require your presence. Guests are only required to pack their small items and if they have any valuables they should be secured in our safe at the front desk, we are then happy to complete the move ourselves once the new room becomes available. With regard to the odor you experienced, here in Times Square we are fortunate to be surrounded by many restaurants including one very popular Barbeque spot on our block. Fortunately, on most nights, their cooking does not affect us but on occasion, one or two of our back rooms can experience the aroma of a southern style BBQ. Already, I have taken your review to the restaurant in question and asked them to try and work with us to remedy the situation. Hopefully, we can persuade them to modify their exhaust system to prevent this from disturbing future guests. Our envious location in the heart of Times Square has many advantages, yet conversely there are also challenges in an exceptionally dense environment with so many other exciting attractions. Also, you mentioned your room was very small, you were actually in a Premium Room with two double beds, which at 275 square feet, happens to be the largest room we have outside of our Mini Suites. You are absolutely correct that one’s expectations are very much connected to where they are from and what they are used to. That is why we encourage everyone on TripAdvisor, before booking any hotel, to visit a hotel’s own website and pay particular attention to the room images and descriptions listed, as well as the style of the hotel. No matter how highly a hotel ranks, everyone’s tastes are different and the best hotel for some people may not necessarily be the best hotel for you and please keep in mind, room sizes in the center of major cities may differ from those in beautiful spacious places where space is less of a premium. We do have three sister hotels that are not in Times Square and two of them offer a multitude of suites for travelers like yourself who need more space. The Hotel Giraffe offers suites from 385 square feet to 435 square feet and the Hotel Elysee offers suites from 700 square feet to 950 square feet, which is larger than most apartments in New York City. You will find lots of photos here on TripAdvisor and all the details to make informed decisions on our website, plus you can use the TripAdvisor Special Offer code to get the best value on your room or suite, but if you or any of the TripAdvisor members reading this have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me personally at john@casablancahotel.com or 212-869-1212.

Sincerely,

John Taboada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews