We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Quiet Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Quiet Times Square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Based on where this is located, it is extremely quiet. It is one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed. Everything was pretty much done and handled perfectly. I feel like this is one of the hotels that actually knows what service is all about. I do not have a single thing to complain about because even though the continental buffet wasn't much, it was still an amazing experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PocketAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,620
    651
    107
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,149
2,870
195
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Wow this place was amazing, everything and more than we could expect, 6 nights from 26 August 2013 after arriving from Australia.

The service was the very best, the staff are amazing and all deserve a pay rise. Every single request was dealt with so pleasantly. These people are amazing.

Our room (310) was silent which was also amazing considering the proximity to Times Square, i guess its about 100 yards at the most.

The buffet breakfast was a great start to the day, the wine and cheese afternoons were always excellent.

But be warned its a boutique hotel and not a resort style accommodation. If you are looking for marble bathtubs and 50yard swimming pools this is not your place.

The Casablanca was a real highlight of our USA holiday and it will be the only place I stay when I visit New York again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skipper1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the Casablanca for five nights, we arrived around 9pm and were sent a bottle of wine as we had arrived too late for the wine and cheese session. We stayed in a petite room which was a good size and very quite. The friendleness and service of the staff was outstanding. We enjoyed the wine and cheese and the breakfast was a great start tot the day. We made use of the gym guest passes a number of times which was far better than any sub standard gyms which some hotels have. The located of the hotel was excellent just tucked off times square. We could not recommend the Casablanca more highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank killer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Believe the reviews, this hotel is excellent in every way. The staff are all really helpful, the lounge is comfortable and the breakfast, unlimited tea and coffee and wine and cheese every evening a real bonus. The rooms are not huge but are very well appointed ( even down to the Leonidas chocolate on the pillows each evening) and comfortable. You are right in the centre of Times Square and we had 2 rooms, one in the central, internal well which was very quiet. The other room, which was a bigger and brighter room overlooked the street and was noisy. It did not bother our sons who slept right through, but we had the room for one night and did find it noisy so we swapped. So do ask for a quiet room if it will bother you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frannie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was our second trip to New York City in the last seven years in which we stayed at Casablanca Hotel. We enjoyed our first experience so much we didn't even look elsewhere for our return trip. The front desk staff is knowledgeable, helpful, and professional. The hotel is extremely quiet for being located steps from Times Square. We especially love the continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese reception. It is a true delight staying at this quaint and charming hotel. I honestly can not think of one negative comment to make. We will definitely return and stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed for an extremely activity filled 3 nights. Staff were first class, Location is superb! The hotel facilities are very good. The rooms are slightly smaller than they appear in the photos BUT they are plenty big enough for a very pleasant stay. there is slight noise from outside even on a courtyard facing room but less than you would expect from the location...literally 100 Mtrs from Times square! I say there was noise but there was nothing you would not tune out within 5 mins just general murmur of a busy city. The staff and facilities were very good wine and cheese does not do it justice there is a mini buffet that is well tended by attentive but not intrusive staff. if you are dithering Don't just get it booked!

Room Tip: we saw two rooms both the same, the location is key! Staff match the reputation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

WOW - What a place to stay.
Where to begin - The staff are so welcoming and so helpful.
The rooms are nice, small but thats alll we wanted.
No noise what so ever from outside - which is great considering you are only steps from Time Square.
Free wine, cheese and nibbles in the evening is the best after all that walking around New York.
Location is the best, you can walk to most things.
This is the best place to stay and if we ever came back to NY we would stay here.
Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellotz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing