We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel just off Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #4 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fab hotel just off Times Square”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed with my 18 year old daughter for her first visit to New York. I had stayed here before and knew we would feel safe and comfortable. The situation of the hotel couldn't be better, and even though it is literally less than a minute from Times Square, it is a peaceful haven inside. Rooms are not big, but are well equipped, and the ceiling fan kept our room cool. A big bonus is Rick's Cafe, providing good breakfasts, wine and cheese in the evenings and hot drinks, pastries, biscuits and fruit available all day. Staff are always friendly and helpful, and it is a small enough hotel to feel personal. I thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Beds in a 'Cosy Classic' are, as the hotel warns you, smaller than a normal double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SueJ1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,787
    672
    109
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,199
2,982
201
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (974)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were extremely impressed by the service. The front desk attendant did a great job helping us orient ourselves to NYC, since it was our first time there. He even remembered our names when we returned to the lobby at different times. The room was clean and tidy- perfect for what we needed. The location was great, since it was a short walk from Times Square and to many other attractions and restaurants. We took the hotel car back to the airport, which was very convenient and did not cost much more than a taxi. You will be well taken care of if you chose Casablanca Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the Casablanca, a wonderful hotel in a perfect location only a few steps away from Times Square. We were last in NYC in 1999 and thanks to the staff and amenities at the Casablanca we thoroughly enjoyed our return trip. Rooms are a little on the small side but adequate and if you take a room at the front you may have disturbed sleep as the building work in Times Square is carried out in the early hours. The Wine and Cheese Reception each evening from 5 pm should not be missed......

Room Tip: If you want some sleep I suggest you avoid a room at the front as there is building work in Time Squ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAB632013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

From the moment we walked in we were greeted with such a welcome and even threw in a bottle of wine for our anniversary. Every single employee at the Casablanca was a pleasure to deal with, nothing was too much trouble and they were just so friendly. We were in room 401 and although the hotel is literally around the corner from Times Square, you wouldnt know it, was sooo quiet. The cheese and wine every afternoon was a bonus after a long day out and about. The breakfast was also great to kick off the day. Cannot compliment this hotel enough, we booked based on all the tripadvisor reviews and everything was as per other reviews, there is no suprise why they are ranked so high. Location was central to everything and it was just a cosy place to stay. Tony's next door was AMAZING, loved it and went there twice...highly recommend that also.

Room Tip: Room 401 was great for us, didnt hear any street noise - the only noise is the AC which could be a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Casablanca is a top quality hotel and represents excellent value for money. Awesome location - literally 10 metres to the centre of Times Square. Very friendly staff. Lots of inclusions - breakfast daily, wine & cheese daily, 24 hour lounge with snacks, tea, coffee refreshments, free wifi & internet access. It was such a great experience to stay at The Casablanca, we will definitely stay here again and will be recommending all my friends and family stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnnnno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Casablanca had it all... great location, amazing staff, clean and comfortable room, wonderful breakfast, and a great wine and cheese reception in the evenings. I was in NYC for business so not a lot of free time, but the location (43rd Street right off Times Square) made it possible to see a lot of midtown on a short schedule. The staff was friendly and accommodating, even going so far as to keep a cheesecake in their fridge for me until I departed. The room was large (huge bathroom) and very clean. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scrpbkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our third time staying at Casablanca, we enjoy the club feel, welcoming staff, and Ricks Cafe.

This time we had a suite, booked a long time ahead. For 2 adults and 2 teenagers it is the perfect solution. We had the 2 double beds and the girls shared the sofa. All extremely comfortable with quality linens. We worked out a routine for the shared bathroom so perfect. We actually spent little time in the rooms apart from sleeping.

This is where Ricks Cafe comes in, great space at any time with refreshments on tap. We love the breakfast and the girls enjoyed the freshly made porridge. The staff here are so friendly and we loved the new look black dresses for the evening cheese and wine. Friday evening there was a pianist who added to the lively atmosphere. Just a great space to take some time after sightseeing.

Our only negative was the old fashioned air conditioning, very noisy! This is in the process of being replaced so should not be an issue soon. We were just unlucky to be there in the heat wave.

This hotel has a large following , most guests we chatted with had been before, so book early if you want to experience true New York hospitality.

Room Tip: Suites are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrissie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 467 in New York City
1,365 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,590 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#1 of 467 in New York City
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing