We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in the middle of Chaos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Oasis in the middle of Chaos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Casablanca in late June 2013, we had 2 days there before taking a side trip to Boston by train, the hotel stored our suitcases while we were away so we could just take our hand luggage which was great. Upon our return we were greeted with a lovely 'welcome home'!! That sums up the incredible service of this hotel, it's a home away from home. Very personal and lovely service, the location is terrific for shows and Times Square! We had spent a couple of days with a tour group at the Mariott Marquis Times Square, although a short distance away from the Casablanca, this hotel is a world away, providing so may personal touches! The restaurant next door, Tony Di Napoli's, is outstanding. If you enjoy large, chaotic, impersonal hotels don't choose the Casablanca! Some of the rooms do suffer a bit from road noise, but the service more than makes up for this. We loved our stay at Casablanca! Julie and David - Australia

Room Tip: Try and get a room that doesn't face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,631
    651
    107
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,150
2,878
195
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (930)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We used The Casablanca for a 4-night stay in New York, and it made a great base for everything we wanted to do. Choose it if you like friendly surroundings, and don't mind rooms a little on the small side, but it doesn't suit those who like large impersonal hotels with loads of space and facilities. It is not 5-star, but good 4-star, and room-selection is probably key to your enjoyment.

The location could hardly be better, just off Times Square, and convenient for everything, including taxi drop-off and pick-up, though generally we found it easiest to make the short walk to the excellent-value subway system (just leave enough time when buying your first ticket, because when it's busy there are queues !)

Reception service is excellent, always well staffed, and always willing to help with whatever you need. The First Floor is essentially dedicated to the Lounge, where you can breakfast in the morning, snack all day, and enjoy complimentary wines in the early evening. You can't get a hot breakfast, but the continental offering is fine, and there are several restaurants just minutes from the hotel door if you need something more. The Lounge staff are friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere is relaxing; when you are tired from shopping or sightseeing, just pop back to the hotel, go upstairs, and within a couple of minutes you are relaxing.

Rooms are on the small side, so the 'cosy' rooms are just that, and the small double beds are indeed small. Fine for one, but tight for two. Preferably go for a larger double or a suite, though the suites seem to be booked-up well in advance by those in the know ! Bathrooms are also small, but they are clean and very adequate, and you are in the centre of New York !

I think that some of the rooms may be getting a bit tired, and the retro-fit air-conditioners in the windows don't fit too well, so maybe we can look forward to a make-over sometime soon ? That said, our large king bed was very comfortable, even if it did take up much of the room, and our small sitting and storage areas were adequate.

There is no bar, except in the adjoining Italian restaurant where, be warned, all portions are large enough for sharing !

So, if you want bags of space, all the bells and whistles, and total privacy, this is not the place. But if, like us, you enjoy a more personal service, and enjoy the slightly old-fashioned clubby atmosphere, which you can simply pop in and out of whilst 'doing your thing' in the City, this is most likely the hotel for you !

Room Tip: Choose large rooms or suites. Small rooms are small, and could be claustrophobic for some. As alw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our stay at the Casablanca hotel in May this year was superb. Despite some initial worries when booking the room with regards to not being guanteed to get a room with the specifications that we wanted, not only did we get our room, but the hotel could not do enough for us once we arrived. The staff were extremley helpful and attentive to our needs. As it was a honeymoon trip we were offered a lovely card and a fantastic bottle of wine too! The location of the hotel is perfect for Broadway shows and shopping trips to Macys... Not that you'd ever want to leave Rick's Bar... An experience to be repeated some day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaireadGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

our experience was absolutely wonderful.

it was pricier than we wanted to spend,

however the breakfast made it all worth it!!

the breakfast was more than excellent, so many choices!

We love this hotel. We grew up here and now live in NH. We spend a few weekends here (shopping, shows, restaurants) and we always stay here. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable. This is truly a boutique hotel in every way. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOM g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights only last week. My first review on this site, however I use it often so decided to join in :)

Booking process was nice and easy, online, done in 10 minutes. It was my wife's 30th, so I asked them for some help in preparing things on her day, ie flowers/cake/wine/chocs etc. The concierge there were great, in particular it was Johan who really helped me out here and at short notice too.

Location wise, could not be better, bang in the middle of times square. At night you could not hear all the hustle and bustle outside, but the in room A/C was noisy. We traveled right in the middle of a heatwave so it was on regardless lol.

The room was small, but big enough for a short stay. Had everything you needed - coffee maker/shower/bath/iron/ironing table/tv/dvd player/hair dryer etc etc. Food via the 2nd floor cafe and also at their restaurant next door, Tony's, was superb.

All in all, a great stay, great staff, hotel was excellent and we could not of wished for better with our experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waheed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The staff was pleasant and professional. It was a so nice to see their smiles every day, especially at the the morning breakfast and the evening wine receptions. The only reason that I would not rate "excellent" would be due to the noisy street clatter that made it hard to sleep.

Room Tip: If possible ... ask for a room in the back, instead of "street" side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Convenient location within walking distance of a lot of attractions and the subway. Staff very friendly and helpful. They even offered coffee and refreshments while they assisted us with luggage storage prior to check-in. This enabled us to sightsee upon arrival in NYC without the hassle of having our luggage with us until 15:00pm. Our room was clean and beautifully appointed. The bathroom was modern and the towels were clean and soft. Breakfast was lovely and complimentary refreshments were available throughout the day. Rooms had good soundproofing, especially considering the location. We had a great stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#9 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing