We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Casablanca Hotel Times Square” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Ranked #3 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Prospect, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Casablanca Hotel Times Square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our fourth stay at the Casablanca. Each year it is better than the previous. The staff is very accomodating and friendly. John the General Manager went above and beyond to make this a great stay for us. Highly recommend the Casablanca.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kentucky1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,362
    630
    100
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,062
2,729
186
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you absolutely must stay in Times Square this is a nice boutique hotel in the area. The small size of the hotel and the friendliness of most of the staff will certainly help slow the pace down. I'm giving the Casablanca three stars because there are stand-out four and five star hotels out there (St. Regis Aspen and the Lowry by Rocco Forte in Manchester) and I feel like those grades should be reserved for those extraordinary hotels. The hotel was a little aged and banged up. I had a view of a brick wall. The room was very clean and they have what's rumored to be a great breakfast (I missed it but I did sit down and enjoy a cup of coffee while I was there). All in all a good place to stay in Times Square.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I took my two teenage daughters for 4 nights. Location was perfect for seeing shows and walking to great shopping and sites. Rooms were nicely appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was a great addition that we took advantage of each day. They had a nice selection of pastries, breads, oatmeal, fruit, hard boiled eggs, juices, teas, coffees, lattes,etc.. Drinks and snacks such as cookies and fruit were available all day and there was an evening cocktail time that was very nice. The staff was extremely polite and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet as it did not face the street. There was no view, but we didn't care as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Recently I traveled to New York to see some Broadway shows, and I wanted to stay in a hotel where I would feel safe. From the moment I arrived to the moment that I left, I was treated with the utmost courtesy by everyone from the doorman, who helped me with my bag, to the people at the reception desk. My room was quiet and immaculate, and the bed and pillows were heavenly. Breakfast was included, and so was a wine-fruit-cheese reception every evening from 5 p.m. to 8 p.m. All of the shows that I saw were within a ten-minute walk from the hotel, which is located right in the middle of Times Square. I'll stay at the Casablanca Hotel the next time I'm in New York.

Room Tip: I chose the least expensive room type, and I was very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TaleofTwoCities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Do you want to stay near Times Square but still silent, this is where you should stay. We're talking about five to ten seconds from the entrance door to Times. Stayed here in may last year. The rooms are not very big, but clean and nice. Great breakfast is served each morning and from five o'clock in the evening the hotel offer free wine and cheese platter (happy hour). The staff are around 24 hours in order to service and they are more than helpful when you have questions. They recommend everything from restaurant visits to how and where to take the subway (no questions are stupid enough for them) with a smile.
Would certainly recommend this hotel and when I go back, this place will be my first choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KattiMalmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for four nights this February on a discounted package.
I was impressed
Chilled Prosecco and Godiva chocolate dipped strawberries in room on arrival
The buffet breakfast is great with lots of choice including fresh fruit, pastries and boiled eggs. If you prefer cooked and lots of it go to a diner there is a good one right next door to the hotel.
Free all day tea coffee and choice of pastries in breakfast room (Ricks Café). Just help yourself
Free cheese and wine Ricks Café every evening between 5pm and 8pm. Wine choice Red, white and Prosecco. Good choice of cheeses crackers etc and again fresh fruit. Buffet style; go back as much as you want.
This hotel is in an excellent location a few steps from Times Square and within walking distance of most landmarks. Two restaurants next door (you can order in room service from Tony’s)
The staff are polite and helpful without being obsequious. Minor room issue on first night and after complaining to reception we were moved to a different room immediately, No problem.

Fly in the ointment
The standard room is small even by European standards and the bed is not a double but what we Brits would call a ¾ bed however we fitted and it was very comfortable. If you are a couple who a bit on the cuddly side my advice would be to upgrade to a bigger room.

All in all a cosy warm hearted boutique hotel. Décor a little cheesy so if you want chic stay somewhere else.
We loved it and for what we paid it was great value and would definitely stay here on our next visit to New York

Room Tip: If you like quiet ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHIVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have stayed here on business trips to NY several times and will keep coming back. I have stayed at many of the top rated hotels in NY - but none match up to the welcoming atmosphere that the Casablanca offers. It is indeed a relaxing oasis in the heart of bustling Times Square. This past visit I treated myself to a Deluxe room - which is more spacious. But all the rooms have been comfortable. As a single woman traveler, I especially appreciate the support of the staff in making dining recommendations and flagging down taxis during rush hour.

Room Tip: I would opt for the Deluxe size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kokamoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Hotel Giraffe
#4 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,261 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#6 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,700 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,280 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#14 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#2 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Property: Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Casablanca Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing