We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beautiful friendship continues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
new york city
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The beautiful friendship continues”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

On our return visit to this beautiful hotel we took a mini vacation with friends. We were once again greeted by your warm, gracious staff. This time we ordered your special package so in addition to cozy robes and slippers there were also rose petals, champagne and strawberries waiting for us in our cozy, well appointed room.
Even the snow showers could not dampen our spirits. As we were handed an umbrella to make our travels more comfortable we just knew that we were in a special place.There was no need to stop and order an espresso after the theatre since we knew Rick's Cafe was waiting for us at the hotel.Rick's is always open and serving complimentary delights. Knowing we could sit by the fireplace, linger over our coffee,and enjoy our conversation without the worry of getting a taxi back to our hotel made for a perfect evening's end.
A delicious breakfast buffet was served until 10:30 and for those of us who wanted to sleep in there was always danish and assorted coffees and teas. No time tables...no stress.
That evening we met at Rick's for a glass of wine and a few refreshments before dinner. Our stay at the Casablanca was all we wished it would be. Rick and Ilsa may always have Paris but thanks to the old world charm of the Casablanca we will always have a tranquil spot in this exciting city to call our own.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justformesiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,845
    677
    111
    40
    26
See reviews for
1,217
3,018
208
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (983)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florham Park, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

A pure delight. At the Casablanca you can tell details are important. From the nicely appointed and clean guest rooms to the consideration to provide guests with umbrellas to deal with inclement weather when going out for the evening, you can tell that the management cares about the details. This can also be seen in the relaxing and delightful, Ricks Cafe on the second floor. Here refreshments coffee, tea and cookies are available all day long and between 5:00 and 8:00 wine and cheese is provided accompanied by a soothing piano player. All complimentary including a very nice continental breakfast each morning. Add this, plus a very cordial staff to its convenient location to the Broadway theaters and you end up with a great hotel to stay in Manhattan. We will definitely come again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I don t know who gave this hotel #1?!And 4?stars!
I would give this hotel 2,5 stars.
There are so many much better hotels in NY,even for this kind of price.
First impression-room where u can freeze to death,at night I slept in 2 sweaters, second impression- bathroom was made for dwarfs or small children,terrible draft from broken window,climate control impaired.
The only advantage of this hotel was its location-Times square was round the corner.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Penelopa3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdeleGutman, VP Sales, Marketing and Revenue at Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Penelopa3000,

I am so sorry for the delay in response. We were testing out a new heating system, to better serve our guests in the most extreme weather conditions when it is clear that in a few rooms the heating system did not function as well as intended. We deeply apologize and we hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you. I had hoped to say that the test succeeded and we are replacing the unit in all the rooms, but in fact, we are still experimenting with other solutions to ensure we have the best system for our guests. Although this only was an issue on the most extremely cold days, and only in some rooms, please know that our owner, General Manager and entire crew are deeply committed to finding a solution and implementing it as soon as possible. In the meantime, our master carpenter has already gone from room to room working to find any possible draft leaks and design an custom made solution eliminate that issue.

While we cannot change the size of the rooms we do make every effort to describe them very well on our website. Some of the bathrooms are small while others are very generous in size. If anyone would like to experience our hotel but would like to ensure a large bath, please contact us directly when making a reservation and let us know your preference. We will work with you to select and reserve the type of room you want based on your preferences.

Penelopa3000, should you wish to give us another try, and we hope you do, please feel free to contact me personally, so that I can assure you of a room and an experience better suited to your tastes, whether it is here or at one of our sister hotels.

Respectfully,

Adele Gutman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

After a bustling day in NYC, this hotel offers a lovely, quiet place to regroup and refresh. Minutes from the theater district, easy walk to many of the NYC attractions you want to see. Rooms are clean and very comfortable. (Our only complaint upon arrival in January was the oppressive heat in the room, soon remedied by turning the radiator totally off & opening the bathroom window.) Rick's lounge on the second floor has refreshments all day long, a nice breakfast, and wine and cheese at 5 - great place to meet friends b/4 heading out for the evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have stayed all round the world and I can't yet get enough of this city. Had a delayed flight from home in Canada which meant we weren't able to use our first night. The hotel very kindly offered to refund us the cost to our card which was very kind.

Can't hear any noise from the street yet you are just a minutes walk from everything.

Will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Loved this hotel for many reasons, location, attentiveness of staff, amenities, ease of checking in and out. While it is only seconds away by foot from the heart of Times Square it was extremely
quiet. I lay in bed trying to hear outside noise such as a siren but heard none. The gathering area on the 2nd floor, Rick's Cafe was a pleasant place to enjoy breakfast, cocktails or a late nite snack all of which is included in the reasonable price for this Manhattan hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly in all areas such as making restaurant or shopping recommendations. While I generally prefer 5 star luxury, I was quite pleased with the character and charm of this boutique hotel in the center of all the NYC action.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank elz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here and really enjoyed it. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I was a bit worried that it would be really loud staying in the middle of Time Square, but I was amazed by how quiet it was! The location made it so easy to get around in New York, and as a single girl travelling alone I felt very safe walking around at night - Times Square is so busy and lit up, and because the hotel was right there I didn't have to use the subway late at night. It is also walking distance from Penn Station, so it was really easy and cheap to get to the airport (Newark).

The wine and cheese reception is a nice extra, as are the constantly available snacks. The rooms are well stocked with added extras too. I would recommend this place and stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,385 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 467 in New York City
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
774 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing