We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Is Their Speciality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #4 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Service Is Their Speciality”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel has two major things going for it. 1) location, right in the heart of Times Square and 2) Its staff who will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

To be clear, this is not a five star hotel in and of itself. it's older, but clean and well maintained. It was comfortable and we had absolutely no issues with our standard room. It is not the Ritz Carlton and it does not try to be.

If you want a clean, comfortable boutique hotel right in the heart of things with a staff that will do their best to make your stay comfortable, look no further.

We stayed the week after New Years in 2013 and we want to thank to hotel and its staff for a great stay. We'll see you next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKNY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,787
    672
    109
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,199
2,982
201
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (974)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harleysville PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful weekend stay at the Casablanca! The staff is so attentive and friendly. The hotel is soooo clean! Our room was comfortable and quiet! Yes, a quiet hotel right in the heart of Times Square! We will definitely stay here again and will recommend the Casablanca to friends!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifernRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is not your normal hotel, it's like staying with your favourite relative. Cosy, comfortable & so many extras included; breakfast, happy 3 hours(!) in the evening, beautiful linens and only 3 steps from Times Square. Truly deserves its #1 rating and we look forward to returning to this little oasis in NYC.

Room Tip: Had a junior suite, excellent size
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OzzieSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I cannot praise the service at the Casablanca highly enough. Seconds walk from Time Square yet a peacefull and tranquill haven. The breakfast and all day snacks plus the evening wine and nibbles make it excellent value for money too. Will make sure I recomend you to anyone travelling to NYC.

Room Tip: Great central base for exploring Manhattan on foot - extra savings on the subway by walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thommoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed for four nights in a mini suite. Our teenager stayed on the pullout couch and we had the very comfy king bed. i booked it because of the high marks from Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. The staff is great. They helped us book a tour and suggested some nearby restaurants. The location is very convenient. The cosy living room with complementary beverages and snacks is a very nice place to relax between sight seeing.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 6th floor. pretty quiet with the exception of the first night when there was c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. The location is right on Times Square but our room was surprisingly quiet and not affected by the bright lights or outside noise.
The staff are really friendly and give a personal welcome which you struggle to get at a large hotel chain.
The location enabled us to walk to the majority of sights that we wanted to see in New York.
We didn't make the most of the food and wine on offer as the sights and shopping took over our time but the odd occasion we did partake, the cheese and wine were really good quality.
Also the 24hour coffee, fruit and snacks available which were great, especially as the location meant you could nip in for a coffee in between shops.
All in all, a great place for a break in New York, would definitely recommend and hope to visit again sometime.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bazza0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

When I travel on business, I look for clean, quiet, well-run hotels that aren't the cookie-cutter chain or luxury hotels. The Casablanca was perfect. Staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and pretty (it is small by US standards, but not by NYC standards), the bed was firm and comfortable, free wi-fi was fast and reliable, and the complimentary continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese were a nice extra (The rooms for this are inviting, though I wish at least one of the two spaces didn't have a TV running. In summer they have a little internal courtyard which looks pleasant.) It is literally in the middle of the Times Square Area. This wasn't a plus for me, since I was in NY for business, but for visitors on vacation it's a great location for plays/musicals, as well as being right next to a subway station which can easily get you to all parts of Manhattan.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGDbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 467 in New York City
1,365 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,590 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#1 of 467 in New York City
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing