We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #4 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

After looking through reviews on Trip Advisor, we picked this hotel as it seemed the most popular. We were so glad we did. From the booking through to the checking out, the staff were very friendly and helpful, coming up with ideas for trips and restaurants and being very helpful in general. The hotel itself is a small, cosy little hideaway just off Times Square, the perfect location to explore New York. The room was very clean with every convenience except a city view but as we were out sightseeing most of the day, this was fine with us. On the second floor was Ricks Cafe, which was where you had breakfast. But at 5pm every evening we would meet there for a glass of wine and nibbles like cheese and biscuits, and crudities, a most enjoyable way to begin an evening out. Our only suggestion - more tables please! We loved New York, it was breath taking and we will certainly be going there again and each time we do, we will stay at Hotel Casablanca, try it yourselves!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flynn_joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdeleGutman, Vice President, Library Hotel Collection at Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear flynn_joe,

Thanks so much to you and all our TripAdvisor Fans for choosing the Casablanca and for sharing these reviews with the world. I can't tell you how much we appreciate it. We hear your request for new tables. We could not find a place to add a table so what we have done is replace all the chairs in Rick's Cafe and we got six more chairs than before. We have 4 extra chairs already out in the room, and we have another 2 top we will pull out in busy times. We did not want to make it any more crowded, but I think this will really help during those times when everyone seems to come to Rick's at the same moment.

Thank you once again, and we hope to see you back soon! - Adele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,785
    672
    109
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,199
2,980
201
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (974)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I recently stayed here with my boyfriend and although the hotel was nice, I didn't feel it was worthy of a number 1 ranking on trip advisor. There are many hotels in NYC that are better than this one.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank elissac75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdeleGutman, Vice President, Library Hotel Collection at Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear elissac75, THank you for your comments. I am glad you thought the hotel was nice. Regarding our ranking, being #1 on TripAdvisor doesn't mean a hotel is the fanciest or most luxurious hotel in the city. There are other travel guides better geared for that. TripAdvisor is more a rating of guest satisfaction which can apply to any style of hotel. We do not doubt that New York offers some of the most luxurious hotels in the world and we do not try to compare ourselves to them in that way. We are simply trying to be the best at what we are, a cozy and charming home away from home for travelers who want a little oasis of hospitality in Times Square. If you visit our website, and look at the many images and descriptions there, I think we have done a good job conveying the unpretentious and casual style of the hotel. Where we excel is in hospitality and in that regard, many of our guests would argue that we may indeed be the best in the city. Although you said the hotel was nice, you gave it 2 stars for poor. Since you did say the hotel was nice, was your score based more on your expectations than the service you received? We are always grateful for specific feedback which helps up refine and improve our service.
I would love to hear more about your experience and of course, we would relish the opportunity to welcome you back. If I may be of service or if there is anything you would like to elaborate on, please feel free to contact me at adele@booklhc.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Staff were so friendly throughout our 3 night stay. It is an absolutely charming hotel. Great location yet inside the hotel it is so tranquil. Rooms are adequately sized with all comforts . Breakfast and wine and cheese all included.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caz403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Had a wonderful three day stay in October. In addition to the attentive staff and excellent lounge facilities we were amazed at how quiet our room was considering its location in the heart of the busiest city in the world. Will return as soon as we can.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport Pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

From the moment we arrived until we left, the staff were attentive and friendly and truly made us feel special. The room was small (and I understand from the concierge, they all are) but nicely decorated and very clean - as was the whole hotel. The only true downside is that the rooms are cooled by window air conditioners - which cycle on and off , causing the room to go from too hot to too cool constantly. Location to Times Square couldn't be better and parking is right next door- with a special $25 per day rate for hotel guests. The continental breakfast was exceedingly nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdeleGutman, Vice President, Library Hotel Collection at Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear George C,

To you and all our kind guests who take the time to review us on TripAdvisor, thank you so much for sharing your experience with us online. We want you to know that we have just ordered and are currently testing some new window a/c units which we think may work more quietly and efficiently, and also offer heat as well, making it easier for our guests to control their own environment. We know that is particularly important in mid-season when we are swinging from warn to cool temperatures or vise versa. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you return soon! – Adele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is amazing. Staying here is like staying with friends - the staff are so friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the price includes Wi-fi; coffee and nibbles 24/7; wine and cheese each evening; and breakfast each morning. Walk out the front door and there's Times Square - one couldn't ask for a better location

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

First time staying in this part of NY and selected this place based on Tripadvisor comments + available amenities (free breakfast, free wifi, free passes to local gym).

Location could not be better for Times Square action - literally just around the corner from all of the lights and action.

Rooms were comfortable and quiet (we did not have street-facing rooms) with all of the amenities one would expect from a nice hotel. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Unlike other 4- or 5-star hotels, these folks have figured out that if you are paying a good price for a good room, you shouldn't be nickel and dimed for internet access - the free wifi at this location was most helpful for orienting ourselves to the area.

The continental breakfast in the second floor lounge is more than enough to fill one up prior to taking on the sights of Manhattan. There was a happy hour in the evening with wine, cheese, and cracker tasting. At other times, the lounge was stocked with warm coffee and biscuits, if one wanted to get a coffee fix without going out and hitting the Starbuck's on the corner.

We like to work out and stay fit when on the road - generally, some of the drawbacks of most hotels are the poor on-site fitness facilities for the health nut and the lack of access to nearby gyms. The folks at Casablanca Hotel (and their sister locations throughout the city) has made arrangements for guests to work out at any of the ubiquitous New York Sports Clubs. I know this is a review of the Casablanca Hotel, and not the gym facilities, but the gym facilities we were given access to were of such good caliber that they reinforced our overall impression about how good the Casablaca hotel is.

One note: be aware that check in doesn't occur until 3PM - we got in around noon and had to chill out in their upstairs lounge for a few hours while waiting for the room to get ready.

I would definitely recommend this location to anyone contemplating visiting Times Square, and will investigate their sister facilities next time I'm in New York and contemplating tourism in other areas.

Room Tip: Off street rooms were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jojufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 467 in New York City
1,365 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
771 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing