We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not so friendly. Friendship has to be mutual!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Palermo, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not so friendly. Friendship has to be mutual!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We lived there 6 nights the end of June 2012. As we were so understanding about "colonial" atmosphere:
we can't sleep with AC, while a very hot weather,'cause too old AC fan did a crazy noising sound.
we can't keep open the window 'cause strong cooking smell coming from outside.
As They were not so understanding when I smoked a cigarette on the room toilet, while I did it beside opened toilet window and keeping the door between toilet and room well closed.
They applied a 200usd fine on my room bill.
What made me more angry is they shot and shown me a photo of my toilet waste bin, where I left a empty pack of cigarettes, "to proof my guilty" and get the 200USD fine.
I felt my privacy so violated! What matter you what I place in my garbage?
In a friendly relationship just needed they called me to tell "please don't smoke", not arranging a "crime-scene" report with photo.

Then I've to say the hotel has a very good position in Times Square, the look of common spaces is nice, the staff is so kind and the service too. The breakfast and happy-hours buffet are a sweet surprise. These qualities make the hotel different than big hotels as Hilton or Sheraton or Westin, but if you are a smoker who needs a cigarette to go toilet (all the smokers know what I mean), beware of your waste bin!
Enrico

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enrico A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. At the Casablanca we try to be as flexible as possible with our guests so long as it does not interfere with the enjoyment of other guests. Please know, we would never, ever impose any rule simply to be difficult or unfriendly or punitive. We became a smoke free at the request of our guests who were unhappy with our smoking policies. We were happy to comply, as we agreed with the many complaints from our guests who grew tired of smelling smoke from an adjoining room or lingering in the fabrics and bedding of a room previously occupied by a smoker. The $200 fine which is posted in multiple places and reviewed with every guest upon check in, is nominal considering the expense of putting the room out of order for two days to shampoo the carpet, steam clean the furniture and aerate the room to keep our promise to the next guest to provide a smoke free room. This doesn’t come close to covering our costs but it at least it meets us somewhere in the middle. In the past, we took pictures as evidence of smoking. This was because the fee imposed was always disputed at check-out; however, because of your comment, I will now call each room personally to notify any future smoker of an impending fee. We certainly do not want to make anyone feel bad. Moving forward, we will do our best to be more sensitive and as understanding as possible when confronted with this situation again; however, we feel strongly that if anyone chooses to disregard this very important policy, we feel it fair and appropriate to impose our fee.
If anyone has any questions about or policy, please feel free to let me know at john@casablancahotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,620
    651
    107
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,149
2,870
195
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We recently stayed for 4 nights at the Casablanca Hotel and we would go as far as saying it is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff were so friendly and helpful from the time we arrived we were a bit early to check in but they told us to help ourselves to the refreshments until the room was ready, they knew the visit was partly for my parents Ruby wedding anniversary and they left a complimentary bottle of wine in the room, a nice touch. The room was on the 6th floor and was quiet with all the facilities you would want and a good size room, the turn down at night with new towels etc was also appreciated. The complimentary refreshements during the day were also appreciated when returning from a day out or evening at theatre. Location could not be better yards from times square yet well sound proofed and quiet. Would definitely recommend and would certainly like to come again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We are from the New York area and regularly stay in this small hotel when visiting NYC. Not only is extremely convenient for the theater district but has excellent access to many subway lines. The rooms are small but very clean and nicely appointed. Beds are comfortable. Besides who stays in their room when visiting NYC? The breakfast room and lounge is welcoming. The service in the hotel is perfect. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billyb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

The staff I spoke with were friendly, approachable and had a good knowledge of the city. The hotel room itself was tired and could do with updating. It was however cleaned to a high standard, the bed was very comfortable and I was able to get a good nights sleep. I would stay there again for these reasons.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed here for 5 nights at the end of June 2012. It's a lovely little hotel right next to Times Square. Very peaceful and relaxing considering how close it is to all the action. Our room was 511 and was tiny. However the size of the room was expected was mitigated by the relaxing lounge area on the 2nd floor where breakfast and evening nibbles are served. Nice little touch is the free coffee/tea available all day/night.
So all in all this is a brilliant little hotel in the middle of an amazing city.
We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDouglasClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

This place rates an easy 10 stars for service. We stayed 7 nights, and at no time did we feel anything but pampered and welcome. Though small, the rooms are beautifully decorated and appointed, the complimentary breakfasts are excellent, and the location can't be beat. One feature we enjoyed was the afternoon wine & cheese service, also complimentary, which really became very pleasant social sessions with hotel guests sharing tips on restaurants, shows, and whatnot with one another. We're looking forward to another trip to New York next spring, and there's no question in our minds where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobW39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is one hotel that i agree with all the reviews
great hotel great service and great perks included in the price of your room

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing