We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$231
$205
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $271/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$237
$210
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$279
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$260
$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$308
$248
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$152
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$213
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$287
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,230)
Filter reviews
1,230 results
Traveler rating
825
253
99
32
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
825
253
99
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barsalon de ninggrand luxe roomfifth avenueoscar de la rentacentral parknew yorkfour seasonsindoor poolluxury hotelroom serviceseparate showerst regissuperior roomconcierge deskturn down servicean upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
895 - 900 of 1,230 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2009

This is my kind of hotel - lovely, old school opulent without being garish, renovated with quietly sexy rooms - a place for grown -ups, not club kids. I got a decent rate on jetsetter.com - otherwise the Peninsula is out of my price range. I have also stayed at the Peninsula Beverly Hills and I prefer the staff here in NYC - they are more polished and pleasant. While we were checking out I overheard a staff person at the front desk try to get a new chair for a guest because he had back problems. I live in the NYC area so I don't stay at city hotels that much (3 -6 times a year maybe) but this is my kind of place. Next time I'll try to get there earlier to head to the spa (I 've seen photos - looks spectacular) and do a yoga class (fitness classes are complimentary for guests).

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank denany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Spent a long weekend with my 5 year old son over Columbus Day. Stayed in a grand deluxe room which was spacious (did not get the Amex Platinum upgrade to jr exec suite as it wasn't available, which was a bit disappointing). Overall we found the room comfortable and quiet, but lacking in details. I had to call to get a child's robe (though they knew I was bringing him), room service completely messed up our dinner (I ordered a tomato basil pizza and we got some chicken disaster, for example). We chose to stay her because of the pool, and it was nice, although the first time we went up there were 2 lap swimmers and so not enough room for a little one to play - its pretty small. In hindsight I think the Mandarin would have been a better choice - also has a pool and I Think would be better for getting around to do the stuff with small kids (theater, cental park - parts of it- kind friendly restaurants, subway, etc). Our stay was fine but I probably wouldn't stay there again. And we LOVE the Peninsula in Chicago, but this isn't quite as polished.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawnk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Stayed for 5 nights in a deluxe room facing 5th/55th. Overall the room was very quiet, well appointed, good bed, amazing bathroom and comfortable space - if you are travelling alone. However, with 2 people in the room, it can become a little crowded as the room sizes are not that big. The bathroom is big - well appointed, but still lacking the small things - like bath salts. Most 5-star luxury chains provide this without request. Here, it is suggested that these products are available in the lobby shop!
While the room was very satisfactory, the hotel was not. Let's start with the lobby - there is none. Build on 2-4 levels (depending where you are), the main area is broken up into a small seating area just off the entrance steps, then more steps to the 555 restaurant (very average food from very unhelpful staff), or the other steps up to the lobby cafe (over-priced food with no view and average service), or to the front desk area with always no more than 2 staff behind the counter (lines build up quickly and the staff appear to be new and not very polished in relations or experience), and finally to the elevator/another small seating area. Overall, this odd layout makes it difficult if: (i) you are disabled in the slightest and find stairs difficult, (ii) to find a comfortable place to relax and enjoy the ambiance and feel of the hotel, and (iii) to truly appreciate the hotel's grandness (on the opposite side of the building [facing 54th] there is a private club with just about the best looking room, ornately designed and feel of luxuriousness).
The staff are almost there when compared to other luxury brands (such as the Mandarin Oriental or Four Seasons) - very inconsistent service, don't really know their guests (especially if you are there for several nights and leave and enter several times a day), and almost unfriendly attitudes. The best staff are the housekeeping who always greet guests in the hallways and always have a pleasant nature about themselves. The worse are the frontdoor staff - never greet guests (or appear to only greet certain types of guests) and never open doors (which I must say are rather heavy).
Finally the amenities - odd way to get up to the pool (maybe get staff to wait by the pool for guests to sign in and not make guests sign in one floor below?), poor pool service (generally the other Peninsula properties would have staff come with cool glasses of water and lay out towels for guests who swim), good gym but generally no staff in sight - have to hunt them down, and the spa is dead quiet with staff standing around waiting for other staff to 'serve' you.
Overall, this hotel (especially considering what their Hong Kong and Bangkok properties are like) lacks that unique luxury brand. What sets the Mandarin and Four Seasons from this property in NY is the poor guest service from staff. Of only the hotel would spend more time training and encouraging staff (perhaps with incentives?) to be more consistent and pleasant to guests, then maybe the hotel could live up to this well established name.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HuarenToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

A beautiful hotel with a great location. The rooms were spacious, beautifully decorated with one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. The bathroom was enormous and watching the TV mounted directly ahead of you in the wall was a particular treat.

Service was excellent, both for breakfast - which typically New York was vast to a Londoner's eyes- and in the rooftop bar which has amazing views of the city.

I really couldn't fault the hotel. It's not a cutting edge designer or boutique hotel - and doesn't try to be. This is a classy, quiet and elegant hotel which just works to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Hard to want more really.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

As with all Peninsula's Michael Kadoorie, the obsessive owner, has made this a first rate experience. I found it expensive, despite getting an excellent corporate rate, and the rooms rather small - akin to a london hotel really. I found the room a bit "fussy" also. Fantastic location and service as to be expected.

If your budget stretches, streets ahead of most similarly priced competitors.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jolly999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews