We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“As wonderful as I thought it would be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peninsula New York
Ranked #32 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
“As wonderful as I thought it would be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I think I am broken for any other hotel in NY. How do I go back to other hotels when I have enjoyed this one so much?! The service was outstanding, the room was lovely. There is nothing that I would say as bad about this hotel. I sure hope I am able to stay there again as this was such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Gina H.,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Peninsula New York, so much so that you consider us the only hotel to visit in New York. We are also particularly appreciative of the wonderful review and rating you have given us here on TripAdvisor.

We too hope you are able to visit us again to experience our luxury customer experience.

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    201
    64
    25
    14
See reviews for
199
345
57
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hammond, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was one of the worse experiences I had for a trip...
First of all the room was much smaller than depicted in the pictures online...Our bathtub drain would not work so we had to call for service to take a bath, waited a half an hour for someone to fix the tub...Only courteous staff was one older man at the door who always smiled and was courteous ...I had booked this hotel for use of the car for my MD appt's only to find out it was not available until after 10AM and my MD appt's were earlier in the day...Room was so small and the view was atrocious ...
See attached pictures ...Pool was nice but if you have kids wanting to splash around and have fun other people looked at you like you were annoying them as it is located by the spa so it is a very quiet atmosphere ...I left early as I was very dissatisfied with the room and the hotel still charged me for the night...

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Mylilbebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

We are sorry to read your review of your last stay in July. While it is a bit discouraging, feedback such as yours helps us to improve upon our service. I hope to discuss your visit in further detail and would be grateful if you would contact me directly at jcrook@peninsula.com.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Level Contributor
372 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I do not understand why it is ranked #87 in NYC. I personally think it is the best in NYC! I have stayed in numerous Peninsula hotels, Hong Kong, Beverly Hills, NYC, London, and found all to be excellent. The NYC location could not be better, right in the middle of 5th Avenue shopping, easy access to Broadway theaters, and wonderful choices for food and drinks.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking 5th Ave are great for "people watching" but not best for noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GSO-Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Michael M,

Thank you for your glowing review and endorsement of our hotel. We realize there are hundreds of hotels in the city to choose from and appreciate your naming The Peninsula the best hotel in New York City. Again, we thank you for your visit - it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Peninsula New York in the not so distant future.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

All the public areas have had lots of money, well spent on them, but our experience of the bedrooms, based on two rooms and consultation would reveal them to be poorly cleaned and maintained. Our bathroom was a disgrace, badly stained. Carpets in room were very old and dirty.
Other than that the hotel is well placed to explore New York on foot. Close to Empire State, Madison Square Gardens, Macy's, etc. the tour buses also depart from Penn Station (across the road).

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tkota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear tkota,

Your review of our room product on TripAdvisor is very much appreciated. We pride ourselves on the constant upkeep of our hotel and on occasion, our rooms undergo soft renovations. We trust you will have the opportunity to visit us again to experience this.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
165 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Good hotel in a splendid position, with rooms a little bit too small for the price you pay. Service is decent, but in NYC service is never great I am afraid. Very good breakfast and breakfast area, lobby too small

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faderosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Faderosa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we are sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay due to your preference of larger accommodations, we are delighted that you found our hotel to be in the most favorable location with excellent breakfast dining options in our Clement Restaurant. We hope this will encourage you to stay at The Peninsula New York again.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I went to New York to celebrate my birthday so decided to treat myself to a stay at the Peninsula. My room was amazing and the bathroom incredible. Also free wifi which seems to be a rarity and so important for foreign travelers. The staff were all very accommodating and I felt like a VIP. I did a free yoga class while I was there which was a great way to start the day and the pool is a great way to cool off after a long day walking in the city. You can help yourself to tea and coffee throughout the day plus bottled water. And the spa is top notch too with great service. The location cannot be beaten being a few blocks from Central Park and MOMA. I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to my next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BornToTravel2346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear BornToTravel2346,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to celebrate your special occasion at The Peninsula New York. We hope we left you with fond memories and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Rooms were nicely furnished, tubs were large. TV in bathroom. Historic church view was nice. Very close to great shopping. Wife said Spa was her favorite of all the ones we have visited anywhere. Staff was very accommodating to my wife's vegetarian diet. However, lobby has been known to be filled with music that does not match the elegant ambience. I didn't hover, so not exactly sure exactly where it was originating. However, it was very out of place. Then on a personal preference, it is too far from central park. I really like having coffee and a nice walk in the park in the morning hours. However, for shopping this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventure-Team_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Adventure-Team_6,

Thank you for reviewing your last visit to The Peninsula New York on TripAdvisor. The music that fills our lobby is ever changing to reflect the season. Undoubtedly it has changed since your last stay in November. We hope you have the opportunity to visit again soon to see the other wonderful changes of our hotel including our new restaurant Clement and the renovation of our Gotham Lounge.

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#20 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#18 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 934 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#62 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,282 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula New York

Property: The Peninsula New York
Address: 700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New York City
#27 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#38 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
#39 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula New York 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its world-renowned service and attention to detail, The Peninsula New York is the prestigious recipient of the Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Awards. This magnificently restored 23-story, 1905 landmark building is ideally located, just steps away from world-class shopping, museums and the magic of Broadway. ACCOMMODATION: Each of the 185 spacious guestrooms and 54 suites at The Peninsula New York meet The Peninsula Hotels standards for luxury, guest comfort and technology. Rooms are designed for maximum comfort, with a good night's rest virtually guaranteed. Each room exudes a sense of tranquility and modernity with crisp bed linens, luxurious goose down duvets, flat screen televisions, marble bathrooms with special mood lighting and signature Peninsula bathtub televisions. For the ultimate convenience, bedside electronic control panels regulate temperature, lighting and entertainment systems. WELLNESS: The Peninsula Spa is a rooftop oasis providing an ideal retreat from the demands of the city. Recently awarded the #1 Hotel Spa in the USA by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler, this sanctuary of seclusion and peace offers relaxing body treatments and sublime skin care in an environment of sheer aesthetic bliss. The Spa features a luxurious range of heat experiences including a steam room, sauna, ice fountain and "experience" shower, men's and women's private relaxation lounges and an Asian Tea Lounge. The Private Spa Suite is the ultimate personal spa experience for couples, friends or family wishing to retreat in total privacy. A glass-enclosed pool, wraparound outdoor sun terrace and cutting edge fitness center with daily group fitness classes completes the wellness experience. DINING: The Peninsula New York's dining venues combine the comfort of tradition with modern elegance for guests to experience sophisticated dining at any time of the day. The signature restaurant Clement presents an energetic approach to regionally-sourced cuisine for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The Bar at Clement offers thoughtful cocktails, wines by the glass and a light menu. After a day of exploring the vibrant heart of the city, the timeless Gotham Lounge is a welcome setting to rejuvenate over Afternoon Tea, or for an unforgettable end to a New York City day, toast from the spectacular rooftop bar and terrace, Salon de Ning, while gazing over panoramic views of the shimmering Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula New York Hotel New York City
Peninsula New York City
New York City Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing