We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peninsula New York
Ranked #53 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Where shall I start? First of all as soon as I checked in I've found out I've got upgraded to a Junior Suite...I can't think of a better way to begin a short break in NYC! The room was spot on...beautiful bathroom, stunning bedroom and the views of the 5th avenue from all the windows were just impressive. The bed must have been the most comfortable I have been staying in a long time. I have stayed in other 5 star properties before and what makes The Peninsula stand out from the crowd is definitely the people who work there: I couldn't have felt more welcome! High rating hotels can be intimidating at times...well this place will make you feel like at home. Little tip: don't miss out the roof top bar! Only regret I have....not allowing myself enough time to try the indoor pool. Well...a good excuse to go back!

Room Tip: If you book a Junior Suite ask for one on a corner overlooking the 5th Avenue: stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel74_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Daniel74_28,

Thank you for your kind comments. Although you were unable to enjoy our indoor pool at the Peninsula Spa, I am delighted you took a moment to visit Salon de Ning rooftop bar and terrace for the sweeping views of Central Park and Fifth Avenue.
I sincerely hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 1,133 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

When you hear the word the Peninsula you think of elegance, asian hospitality, utmost attention to details and luxury. Not the case with the Peninsula in New York. It really feels like a step brother hotel - has the same name but different DNA. It is a nice hotel, staff is friendly, rooms are ok-nice but there are many hotels like that in New York with more than half time cheaper. The lobby keeps the old world run down luxury feel. Frontdesk area is a bit dark and is not very welcoming. The staff at frontdesk could be more welcoming. I arrived after 12 hours of flying and was not looking at my best and felt I was being profiled and questioned by a disinterested officer rather than by welcoming frontdesk staff. I was not asked for help with my luggage, neither I was offered to be accompanied to the elevator or to the room (as any well mannered 5 star luxury hotels would do). Rooms are small, appliances and furnitures in the room felt a bit outdated. Although bathroom is big and nice. In fact the bathroom was the nicest thing in the room and bigger than my living area. Above mentioned gets compensated by very nice gym/pool and relaxation area and the restaurant Clement. Excellent wine list, not overdone with dish choices, nice service and incredibly well food. But to use these facilities one does not have to stay in the hotel. Stayed once, probably will not stay again, unless prices come down more than half to make it worth staying. May be other Peninsulas can step in and raise the charm of this one by upgrading the hotel and services.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
4  Thank Gagik 'Chuck' G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Gagik 'Chuck' G,

Thank you for your review. While we are disappointed to read of your comparison of our hotel to our sister properties in Asia, we are still delighted that you found many aspects of our product and service to be superior.

Again, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The Peninsula New York is truly a five star property. Many five star hotels are not true five star hotels anymore, but this one is. It is very posh, but in an understated, tasteful way. The rooms are extremely comfortable. I received an upgrade and the staff could not have been more accommodating. They actually have enough staff to attend to guests upon arrival and the bellman was superb. They understand customer service and respond to requests immediately. The room service food was not as good as I would have liked - it was just okay - but there are plenty of options for dining in the area. This hotel is centrally located for Central Park, shopping on Fifth Avenue, and top restaurants. It reminds me of an elegant old British hotel that has been maintained very well and not lowered it standards. The beds are comfortable and there is absolutely nothing to say except that it is a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has a separate tub. The one I was upgraded to had a separate tub with a television p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vldavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear vldavis,

It is very nice to read that our staff went above and beyond for your stay. We are delighted these will prove to be lasting memories for you of The Peninsula New York.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Peninsula New York, one of the top luxury hotels of the city, practices what I may call bygone understated sophistication of the service-oriented golden age of grand hotels back in the earlier part of the last century.Staff greet you wherever you are, at breakfast they bring you newspaper and tries to meet your every need in seating, etc. All done in an unobtrusive way. The rooms are great, being "home like", and well-equipped with everything. I was wondering why there was no water kettle (there was a real coffee maker though but not the same), then they actually bring a tray with kettle and top quality tea bags. The location, 55 St on 5 Av cannot be better, as both Central Park and Times Square are a short walk away. The top floor spa and terrace offer excellent view of midtown Manhattan: a must seen. Breakfast is great, and the Chinese breakfast is among the best of hotel breakfasts, with lobster congee. If you look for a quiet stay of utmost comfort, there is no better choice in NYC.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 牧 黄
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear 牧 黄,

Your gracious review of your recent visit is most humbling and appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to tell us of the superior service you received here and of your dining experience at Clement Restaurant. No doubt you were familiar with the Peninsula name mainly from our flag ship property in Hong Kong.

We sincerely hope you have the opportunity to come to New York again and stay at The Peninsula once more.

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

You'd expect to hear good things about a top-notch, 5 star hotel but in my experience they don't always match expectations. The Peninsula does. It is old fashioned without being ostentatiously so, beautifully appointed with oak and marble. The service is superb from the bell-hops, to reception to room service. The beds are huge and super-comfortable.nthe bathroom is excellent. There is a large deep tub, with a TV at one end so you can have a good soak while watching Jeopardy (if you must!). The toiletries are by Oscar de la Renta and there were plenty of them. Nothing wrong with that at all but they were a little underwhelming to me. The location is fantastic - just a five minute walk down 5th Avenue to Rockefeller Plaza and Saks 5th Avenue. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seej304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Seej304,

Thank you for your thoughtful review and for providing such detail of your recent visit to The Peninsula New York. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our luxurious surroundings, our prestine location and most importantly, our helpful and courteous staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

I am a big fan of The Peninsula and I always try to stay there when I go to New York.

The rooms are comfortable and the bed is amazing. I usually don't sleep very well in hotel beds but the peninsula's is an exception.

The location is great, new Central Park. The gym and spa are excellent and they have a strong wifi signal throughout the hotel, which is great for both work and leisure.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Carolina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Cbd_1981,

Of the countless hotels to choose from in New York City, we are delighted to read that you have chosen The Peninsula New York as your favorite hotel.

Our hopes are to make your feel at home away from home and to exceed your expectations.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the Peninsula over Easter Weekend and had a wonderful time. The Peninsula staff are so welcoming, helpful and knowledgeable! My two daughters immediately became devoted fans of the Peninsula the moment we checked in when were presented with a cute stuffed bunny in honor of the Easter holiday. We registered for the Easter Egg decorating event which was so special for the kids. They decorated these impressive chocolate eggs under the supervision of a pastry chef, enjoyed a buffet and the magic show. It was a great way to celebrate the holiday, and the cost of the event was reasonable. The room was immaculate and had some very thoughtful touches (try the nightlight feature). The pool was amazing! Would love to spend another holiday weekend at the Peninsula.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Anne B.

Thank you for spending your holiday weekend here at The Peninsula New York. We are delighted to have exceeded your family's expectations and thank you for taking the opportunity to experience some of the wonderful Easter activities our hotel had to offer.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#49 of 470 in New York City
772 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#58 of 470 in New York City
1,501 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#125 of 470 in New York City
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#31 of 470 in New York City
434 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#27 of 470 in New York City
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula New York

Address: 700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#38 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
#39 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $612 - $1,597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula New York 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its world-renowned service and attention to detail, The Peninsula New York is the prestigious recipient of the Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Awards. This 1905 landmark building is ideally located in midtown, just steps from world-class shopping, museums and the magic of Broadway. Each of the 181 spacious guestrooms and 54 suites are designed for maximum comfort, with a good night's rest virtually guaranteed. The award-winning Peninsula Spa is a rooftop oasis providing an ideal retreat from the demands of the city and includes a glass-enclosed pool, wraparound outdoor sun terrace and cutting-edge fitness center with daily group fitness classes. The signature restaurant Clement and adjoining bar offer notable American fare, hand-crafted cocktails, extensive wine menu and seasonal events. The elegant Gotham Lounge is the perfect spot to rejuvenate over Afternoon Tea, while the rooftop bar and terrace, Salon de Ning, offers panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Peninsula New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula New York Hotel New York City
Peninsula New York City
New York City Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing