We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection on 5th Avenue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peninsula New York
Ranked #52 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel delivers a great experience - like the other Peninsula hotels. Location on 5th a few blocks from Central Park is perfect for business trips and convenient if you are looking for a midtown/uptown New York experience. Staff is helpful and courteous, spa and fitness facilities are very good and located on 21st floor (unlike the cellar experience of some other luxury hotels). Rooftop terrace is hard to beat when the wheather is good. Go for an outward facing room, the rooms which face the inner courtyard can feel a bit dark and does not give you the city view you want when in New York. If travelling with your family, I would consider: the neighborhood is hectic and shopping mainly consists of high end brands (Prada, Chanel etc), although there is an Abercrombie & Fitch for the teenagers, perhaps a SoHo/West Village location will feel more family-friendly. Location is close to Central Park so breaks on the lawn are possible, watching the yellow cabs on 5th from your hotel room is great fun for most children. There are many tourists in the area, whereas for example the West Village can feel more "local". Room size is fairly generous and family friendly.

Room Tip: Outward facing rooms have great city views, wheras room facing inner courtyard are darker
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Per2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Per2100,

Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your recommendation of our property for both business and as a family-friendly hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back for any occasion and whenever your travels take you to New York.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

Pros:If your looking for a good spa in the city to go to this is the place
Bathrooms are nice
Bartender is awesome but drinks are $30 each
Cons: $106 for eggs and bacon
Vultures at every corner looking to pick pocket you
Room is glorified cell

Don't believe the hype . A pretentious hotel for Madoff like travelers who think they know class , like getting ripped and somehow think its normal for some thug who dines at Popeyes telling u prices on menu are fair.

Tip : stay downtown or buy a penthouse if your so rich

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JohnRoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear JohnRoc,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed our spa and welcomed our hotel's superior service but I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your other comments further so we can examine the issues you experienced. I invite you to contact me directly at jcrook@peninsula.com.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

A hotel in the fifth avenue in NYC is in the best place possible. With old time charm, and excellent service, this is a small hotel that cares for every detail.

Concierge service is perhaps the best in NYC, making arrangements for theater, restaurant reservations and car rentals.

Room Tip: room 2005 is a corner suite with views to the fifth avenue and a lot of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear R S,

Thank you for sharing the details of your visit to The Peninsula New York. We pride ourselves on our personalized and superior service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Continuing the caliber of Peninsula's worldwide, New York City's outpost is a bastion of civility and subtle elegance. Ideal Midtown/Fifth Avenue location, one of the best spas in Manhattan, rooftop pool serves a tranquil oasis in the heart of the bustling city. Da Ning bar provides idyllic al fresco setting, perfect for Happy Hour then turns into sexy lounge after dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 312-415-212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Elizabeth K,

Thank you for your elegant commentary and review of your visit to The Peninsula New York last October. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the NY Peninsula for a 4 night long weekend in January 2014. The first time to this property, I was not disappointed with the level of professionalism and hospitality that I am familiar with at other Peninsula properties in the Far East.
The accommodations were pleasant and comfortable with every imaginable upgrade. Cleanliness was impeccable with nary a thing out of place. I rather missed the interaction with the pages at the front entrance. I only saw two the entire visit and never at the front door. Their smiles and wonderful habit of remembering your name by the second day is part of the charm and uniqueness that defines the Peninsula.
The new main dining area Clement is a lovely spot with utmost in trendy decor. The menu however is thoroughly uninspired. Presuming the venue is named after Kwok King Man, CFO (aka Clement), you would think there would have been a higher level of culinary expression to celebrate this Peninsula icon. The other think I found a little surprising is the lack of hand made crafted cocktails, that is to say, the most elaborate cocktail that could be ordered with Bourbon was a Manhattan. The King Cole Bar across the street at the St. Regis was able to offer a slightly more current selection in the realm of hand crafted drinks. Judging by the clientele demographics upstairs in the rooftop bar Salon De Ning, a wider selection of slightly less traditional cocktails would be warmly received.
All in all a lovely stay. Any detractors, were far outweighed by the positives, so this hotel is staying on the re-visit list!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the inside courtyard to reduce street traffic noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Hookele92065,

Your detailed review of your recent stay at The Peninsula New York is very much appreciated. We strive to continue to provide the exceptional service guests have come to recognize and expect from The Peninsula Hotels brand and we hope to propel our new restaurant Clement as the top hotel restaurant in New York City.

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

There are some mythical hotels around the world, here is one of them... a must do!!!
Ideally located upon 5th and 55th, this magnificent place have been the perfect spot down town to celebrate a cosy 2014 new years eve.
Huge comfy bedding, smiling staff, and a lovely morning brunch....
What can I say, one of the best.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustJeff81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear JustJeff81,

Your review on TripAdvisor is indeed humbling. Firstly, thank you for staying with The Peninsula New York as we realize there are many hotels in New York to choose from. Most importantly, thank you for your flattering commentary. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the peninsula for 2weeks in January, junior suite for my family connected to deluxe room. It was such a perfect choice, very spacious room and bathrooms, excellent service from housekeeping, concierge services, room service and most attentive doorman!

The hotel is couple of blocks away from Central Park and on the 55th avenue street which gives you direct access to all major department stores and shops. You can also cross the block to 5th avenue and do more damage in shopping!

What I loved the most about this hotel is the quiet entrance, where you don't have to go thru lobby and seating areas when you go in and out of the hotel.

Absolutely recommend it for both business and holiday trips.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank HJ1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear HJ1974,

Thank you for providing your detailed review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying at our hotel for such a long time. We hope there will be another occasion for you to visit our esteemed property.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#55 of 471 in New York City
800 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#74 of 471 in New York City
1,527 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#27 of 471 in New York City
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#82 of 471 in New York City
233 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula New York

Address: 700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#38 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $614 - $1,354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula New York 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its world-renowned service and attention to detail, The Peninsula New York is the prestigious recipient of the Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Awards. This 1905 landmark building is ideally located in midtown, just steps from world-class shopping, museums and the magic of Broadway. Each of the 181 spacious guestrooms and 54 suites are designed for maximum comfort, with a good night's rest virtually guaranteed. The award-winning Peninsula Spa is a rooftop oasis providing an ideal retreat from the demands of the city and includes a glass-enclosed pool, wraparound outdoor sun terrace and cutting-edge fitness center with daily group fitness classes. The signature restaurant Clement and adjoining bar offer notable American fare, hand-crafted cocktails, extensive wine menu and seasonal events. The elegant Gotham Lounge is the perfect spot to rejuvenate over Afternoon Tea, while the rooftop bar and terrace, Salon de Ning, offers panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Peninsula New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula New York Hotel New York City
Peninsula New York City
New York City Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing