We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great NYC hotel by all accounts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Peninsula New York
Ranked #51 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights and this hotel in a grand suite. You get a warm welcome and the staff are all very polite and helpful. The rooms are tastefully appointed and are spacious and luxurious. It's 5th avenue position makes it in a very good location. There are lots of dining options and central park is just a few blocks away. The hotel is quiet for such a busy city. I would stay here again whenever I go to NYC.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Proadvisor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 1,153 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was a really disappointing experience. The location, Front desk and the room were wonderful - just what you expect from the Peninsula group. The bar area on 21 floor was horrible - we could not wait to leave. It is open to non hotel guests and clearly has a range of clients - from hotel guests to those who want to entertain ladies of the local knocking shop. The staff serving have the grace of a herd of rhinos - drinks banged down and spilt - not nice all. Breakfast was a disaster - they had a conference going on which mean that we could only be served in the Lobby - not the 3rd floor - the staff could not cope and we did not have a great experience. I will return to this hotel - real pity.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I decided to take our daughter to NYC for the weekend. She's only four but thought that she would have fun. We were completely unprepared for the outstanding attention to detail that we would be met with at the Peninsula. Aside from the hotel being gorgeous, and so finely appointed we were shocked as to how attentive to children they were. Throughout our stay we were constantly surprised by the little nice things that the staff did. From sticker books, to stuffed animals and even a scavenger hunt through out the hotel. They did that but never made it feel like you were at a Disney world resort. Absolute NYC class and sophistication all the way. The amenities were just lovely. Great gym, outstanding roof-top pool and the most lovely of bed linens. This hotel is not for the faint of heart cost-wise though. Be prepared to spend. But if you are you will most certainly be extremely happy just as we were!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Recently stayed for 2 nights at this wonderful hotel at 5th and 55th. The quiet opulence of the property enfolds the visitor in a serene embrace, marrying tasteful modernity with an overlay of tradition.

Rooms exude refined elegance. Spacious and equipped with all the modern amenities you'd expect in a hotel of this caliber. I loved the beside lighting controls which seem to be standard at Peninsula properties.

Location can't be beat, with designer boutiques (oh, and world class culture) that begin at the doorstep. Subway is a short 3 block walk (depending on the line, I suppose).

We were thrilled to have our room ready when we arrived at noon the day of our stay. It was spotlessly clean. I have to say that this hotel had the best bevy of housekeeping staff I have encountered on my travels. High accolades to them.

Concierge was very helpful giving me maps of the areas I wanted to visit along with detailed subway routes. They also had complementary stamps for postcards - nice touch!

It is an expensive property, to be sure. But I am a believer that you get what you pay for; and I don't mind paying for a property such as the Peninsula NY when they deliver on so many levels. Bravo!

Room Tip: We had a room with a view over 5th Avenue. Noise wasn't an issue, but we were on the 12th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ONskigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed at the Peninsula the last weekend in June and had an amazing time! Great hotel right on the corner of 5th ave. and 55th st./ hotel entrance is on 55th st. Stayed with my wife and daughter. Some of the things I enjoyed:

The Room - very quiet for being right in the city and good size bathroom with separate tub and shower and they don't charge extra for a roll away bed.

The Pool- Indoor pool over looking 5th Ave- Family Friendly- a little cold but you ask them to turn the heater up- they have a kids water aerobics class on Saturdays, but the instructor was sick so we missed it- my daughter was a little bummed about that.

The Location- One of the reasons I picked this Hotel-Great Location. Walked to The American Girl Doll store on 5th ave- just a few blocks. Short cab ride to Times Square To See Annie on Broadway. Close to Central Park.

The Staff- So Helpful and Friendly- They have a kids pack they give to children staying in the hotel that includes a hotel scavenger hunt. My daughter and I had a lot of fun with this because the staff went out of their way to help us with the clues and very excited to see us enjoying the hunt. When done, you turn in your answers to the Concierge and my daughter got 2 chocolate bars and a Peninsula Bear key chain as a prize- She loved it!

The Concierge really did a great job for us on the last day. We had checked out of the hotel and left our bags with the bellman to meet my sister and her family for dinner before our flight home but I was worried about getting back to the Hotel to get the bags and making it in time to the airport. The Concierge said he could have a car come and pick up our bags at the hotel and then get us at the restaurant so we could leave right after dinner. Yes this was an extra charge but well worth it. We ate Dinner without feeling rushed and made it to the airport with no problem.

I will go back to the Peninsula and would highly recommend it.
Thank you to all the staff for an Excellent stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ETA-planner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Won't go into to much detail but this hotel was fab!
Couldn't find a fault and hope to go back at some point.
Excellent and very helpful staff, great attention to detail throughout the hotel, excellent and well equip rooms, great food in the restaurant, only had a quick look round roof top bar as we were pushed for time, but was really funky and well worth a visit.
Great location, close to most main tourist sites within New York.
Didn't visit the spa or gym but I'd imagine the high standards could also be found there.
Take me back!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JP1141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Two stops here - one after a day's cycling round north Manhattan: had our aperitifs on the roof. We sat on the small balcony on the north side looking up Fifth Avenue towards the park, as it was shady. Great cocktail menu, ordered at bar but served at table. Second stop, the following evening five of us had "dinner" at the Salon de Ning, on the large open terrace facing down Manhattan. We had cocktails and then chose all the small plates on the menu and shared. The food was delicious and the wine, red and white and American by choice, was excellent. The service impeccable. On leaving discovered there was another large terrace looking towards Sixth Avenue, just as attractively set out. Highly recommend this for a first (warm and dry!) night in New York as not expensive and the views are staggering. No idea about the hotel itself, but it looked amazing - and expensive - but what a location for NYC.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Charlotte-Mhairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#66 of 471 in New York City
807 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#72 of 471 in New York City
1,529 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#28 of 471 in New York City
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#76 of 471 in New York City
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula New York

Address: 700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#38 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
#46 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $586 - $1,423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula New York 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its world-renowned service and attention to detail, The Peninsula New York is the prestigious recipient of the Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Awards. This 1905 landmark building is ideally located in midtown, just steps from world-class shopping, museums and the magic of Broadway. Each of the 181 spacious guestrooms and 54 suites are designed for maximum comfort, with a good night's rest virtually guaranteed. The award-winning Peninsula Spa is a rooftop oasis providing an ideal retreat from the demands of the city and includes a glass-enclosed pool, wraparound outdoor sun terrace and cutting-edge fitness center with daily group fitness classes. The signature restaurant Clement and adjoining bar offer notable American fare, hand-crafted cocktails, extensive wine menu and seasonal events. The elegant Gotham Lounge is the perfect spot to rejuvenate over Afternoon Tea, while the rooftop bar and terrace, Salon de Ning, offers panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Peninsula New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula New York Hotel New York City
Peninsula New York City
New York City Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing