We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,245)
Filter reviews
1,245 results
Traveler rating
836
256
100
32
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
836
256
100
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barsalon de ninggrand luxe roomfifth avenuegotham baroscar de la rentacentral parknew yorkfour seasonsindoor poolluxury hotelroom serviceseparate showerst regissuperior roomconcierge deskturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
942 - 947 of 1,245 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2008

I took my daughter to New York for the first time over March Break and the Peninsula Hotel could not have been more perfect. We were greeted by highly professional and friendly staff at the front desk, the concierge (special thanks to Angela) treated us with great care and made the perfect recommendations to suit our needs (mom and 13 year old daughter), and the room was luxurious, comfortable, and wonderfully serviced including consistent delivery of the New York Times. I have been to NYC many times, and this was definitely the best experience I've had thanks to the staff at the Peninsula. What a difference exceptional service makes!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank clmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

I stayed for two nights at this hotel and I think it ranks in my top five of all the hotels I have visited. The checkin was was great and I received a bottle of wine and a cheese tray shortly thereafter. The room and bathroom were both beautiful and spacious. I loved the control center by the bed for everything in the room. The staff were all very helpful and courteous. I was staying here for business but would love to return just for the pleasure of staying in this hotel....I think you have guessed by now I LOVED this place. The Gotham Bar was a fun spot for drinks with that old New York feeling. I look forward to my next visit !

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CettieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2008

Just returned from a 3 night stay with my family at Peninsula New York. Very disappointing. The pool and spa are closed until October. We were not told at reservation. They could send you some blocks away to a generic health club. The lobby and the room were very un-spectacular. There was really nothing noteworthy about this hotel. The (extremely small) lobby bars were always full. Truly nothing special about the rooms or lobby. You walk in are faced with 3 stairways that don't really go anywhere. There were some problems too. The room (a deluxe king) was quite small and had poor ventilation. The room was hot (in January in NYC) with the AC on max and the window open. And finally, when I went put on a kids DVD for my 5 year old, there was XXX Porn in the player. Not really the kind of stuff 5 star, $800/night hotels should offer. There are many better choices within blocks of this hotel, especially considering the $$$.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hirollerwkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2008

The Peninsula is a beautiful hotel in a great location. However, it feels just like a hotel. When we pay this much I expect to really feel special.

We had a 2 bedroom suite with a living room. We could not get the electronics to work in the living room. My husband is in the electronics industry and could not get it to work. It took someone about 45 minutes to come help us and he has problems as well. Once he got it working he recommeded that we not turn it off, but just turn down the volume when not using. However, housekeeping did and we had to go through the entire thing again the next day. This time my husband helped the staff member set the equipment up correctly so that it would work right! We should have received a discount on our stay!

The Spa is very nice, however it does not go above and beyond. It wasn't quite what you would expect for a Spa at the Peninsula. I thought my massage therapist was just average. My facial was above average. It seems that the spa/workout facility allows NYC residents to join and the staff treated them better and I felt like an intruder at their gym.

The Pen-Top bar is definitely a hot spot in NYC and is a stop for business people for happy hour. This was huge perk since we were traveling with another young couple for a fun getaway trip. It was fun to be able to go up and get a drink in such a happening setting. The host was wonderful and remembered us each time we went (every night!).

I found the rest of the staff below average for this type of hotel. My spa treatments were included on our package and were on the bill. Our breakfasts were included on our package and were on the bill. It took over a hour to try to fix the bill and I don't think it was ever correct. However, we were going to miss our flight if we didn't leave so I just gave up. I tried to review it once home, however could not figure out their coding, etc. I have never had this be a problem at this caliber of a hotel.

Another couple had problems on their bill as well when I was checking out. They seemed to have a lot of problems with their entire visit and were very unhappy.

We decided to stay at the Ritz Central Park on our next trip and was much more pleased.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank charlestonpanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the Peninsula in New York. This was our second stay at the hotel, and ironically we were in the same room on the 9th floor. I guess this happened because they have a limited number of rooms with 2 beds and room for a roll-away.

My impressions.

The location is absolutely incredible if you want to be able to explore 5th Ave. without having to hike a half mile just to get there. Only the St. Regis across the street has a comparable location. It's also close enough to the theaters in Broadway to walk comfortably.

Rooms are quite large, are very quiet and have very nice bathrooms. Our room faced the church across 55th Street and unfortunately this was not a particularly memorable view. Not terrible, but not great. Service is excellent. There was some confusion over a special bed-making request - blankets instead of the duvet. It took them 3 nights to get it right, which was a little irritating.

We only ate breakfast at the Peninsula, but that was a highlight of each day. Sitting next to the window looking down on 5th Ave. is pretty memorable.

It is expensive - $950 per night for the room, and about $40 a person for breakfast! But what are you going to do? If I can afford it I would love to go back to this super hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank bretthodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews