We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peninsula New York
Ranked #31 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles CA
Level Contributor
175 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 848 helpful votes
“great short stay”
Reviewed April 23, 2008

I spent 4 nights in NYC late last month, and my first night was spent here. The remaining nights were spent at the Four Seasons, reviewed separately.

I last stayed here about 20 years ago and remember the hotel being intimate and elegant. I recall my room being petite and dark, as was the bathroom, with an interior view. About 10 years ago , the hotel underwent a massive renovation with rooms reconfigured and a spa, pool and bar placed rooftop. The spa, pool and Pen Top Bar are again being renovated; this fact was made clear several times during the reservation process.

My short stay was a joy. The hotel is in a historic Beaux Arts building on 5th and 55th, across the street from the equally elegant, also Beaux Arts St. Regis hotel, where I have also stayed. The Four Seasons, by contrast, is modern and grand in design. The Pen's lobby seemed unchanged from my last visit. The reception area is still intimate, the service top-notch. I arrived quite early and a room was not immediately available, but I was contacted by cell by 11:30 am when my room was ready.
I requested and received a room facing 5th Ave. and thus had a lot of natural light. The room was either a Deluxe or Grand Luxe--not especially large but elegant and well-appointed furniture-wise and technologically. There was the signature Peninsula bedside phone console that controls all the lights, air temp, and everything else. I loved the outdoor temperature indicator by the door. The TV was plasma/flat with DVD player and also a gadget that accepts your digital camera memory card for viewing your photos on the big screen. Alas, I could not get this to work.

While the St. Regis has thier butlers, the Pen has its distinctly uniformed pages to meet your every need. While the spal and pool are closed, there is a makeshift fitness center (2 converted hotel rooms), and there is access to a nearby health club with pool, which I did not use.

The Pen has one restaurant and 2 lounges (plus the closed Pen Top), while the St. Regis has 2 restaurants (one with celebrity chef Alain Ducasse) and one lounge (King Cole Bar). Choosing between the Pen and St. Regis is a difficult choice with no clear front runner in my opinion.

I have visited/stayed at 3 other Peninsulas--Hong Kong, Beverly Hills and Chicago. All are elegant with exemplary service, with HK and Chicago being grand, and BH and NY much more intimate. I would not hesitate to stay here again, expecially once the roof-top facilities reopen.

  • Liked — location, service
  • Disliked — expensive
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pillowsofwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    223
    70
    27
    15
See reviews for
225
380
60
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

I took my daughter to New York for the first time over March Break and the Peninsula Hotel could not have been more perfect. We were greeted by highly professional and friendly staff at the front desk, the concierge (special thanks to Angela) treated us with great care and made the perfect recommendations to suit our needs (mom and 13 year old daughter), and the room was luxurious, comfortable, and wonderfully serviced including consistent delivery of the New York Times. I have been to NYC many times, and this was definitely the best experience I've had thanks to the staff at the Peninsula. What a difference exceptional service makes!

  • Liked — Wonderful staff
  • Disliked — I loved everything about it
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank clmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa Al
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2008

I stayed for two nights at this hotel and I think it ranks in my top five of all the hotels I have visited. The checkin was was great and I received a bottle of wine and a cheese tray shortly thereafter. The room and bathroom were both beautiful and spacious. I loved the control center by the bed for everything in the room. The staff were all very helpful and courteous. I was staying here for business but would love to return just for the pleasure of staying in this hotel....I think you have guessed by now I LOVED this place. The Gotham Bar was a fun spot for drinks with that old New York feeling. I look forward to my next visit !

  • Liked — Great room beautiful view of Fifth avenue
  • Disliked — Hard to regulate the heat
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CettieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

Just returned from a 3 night stay with my family at Peninsula New York. Very disappointing. The pool and spa are closed until October. We were not told at reservation. They could send you some blocks away to a generic health club. The lobby and the room were very un-spectacular. There was really nothing noteworthy about this hotel. The (extremely small) lobby bars were always full. Truly nothing special about the rooms or lobby. You walk in are faced with 3 stairways that don't really go anywhere. There were some problems too. The room (a deluxe king) was quite small and had poor ventilation. The room was hot (in January in NYC) with the AC on max and the window open. And finally, when I went put on a kids DVD for my 5 year old, there was XXX Porn in the player. Not really the kind of stuff 5 star, $800/night hotels should offer. There are many better choices within blocks of this hotel, especially considering the $$$.

  • Liked — the expectation of a grand ny hotel with an amazing roof top pool and spa
  • Disliked — There was no pool and the entrance/room was unimpressive
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hirollerwkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, sc
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

The Peninsula is a beautiful hotel in a great location. However, it feels just like a hotel. When we pay this much I expect to really feel special.

We had a 2 bedroom suite with a living room. We could not get the electronics to work in the living room. My husband is in the electronics industry and could not get it to work. It took someone about 45 minutes to come help us and he has problems as well. Once he got it working he recommeded that we not turn it off, but just turn down the volume when not using. However, housekeeping did and we had to go through the entire thing again the next day. This time my husband helped the staff member set the equipment up correctly so that it would work right! We should have received a discount on our stay!

The Spa is very nice, however it does not go above and beyond. It wasn't quite what you would expect for a Spa at the Peninsula. I thought my massage therapist was just average. My facial was above average. It seems that the spa/workout facility allows NYC residents to join and the staff treated them better and I felt like an intruder at their gym.

The Pen-Top bar is definitely a hot spot in NYC and is a stop for business people for happy hour. This was huge perk since we were traveling with another young couple for a fun getaway trip. It was fun to be able to go up and get a drink in such a happening setting. The host was wonderful and remembered us each time we went (every night!).

I found the rest of the staff below average for this type of hotel. My spa treatments were included on our package and were on the bill. Our breakfasts were included on our package and were on the bill. It took over a hour to try to fix the bill and I don't think it was ever correct. However, we were going to miss our flight if we didn't leave so I just gave up. I tried to review it once home, however could not figure out their coding, etc. I have never had this be a problem at this caliber of a hotel.

Another couple had problems on their bill as well when I was checking out. They seemed to have a lot of problems with their entire visit and were very unhappy.

We decided to stay at the Ritz Central Park on our next trip and was much more pleased.

  • Liked — Location and Pen-Top bar
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank charlestonpanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the Peninsula in New York. This was our second stay at the hotel, and ironically we were in the same room on the 9th floor. I guess this happened because they have a limited number of rooms with 2 beds and room for a roll-away.

My impressions.

The location is absolutely incredible if you want to be able to explore 5th Ave. without having to hike a half mile just to get there. Only the St. Regis across the street has a comparable location. It's also close enough to the theaters in Broadway to walk comfortably.

Rooms are quite large, are very quiet and have very nice bathrooms. Our room faced the church across 55th Street and unfortunately this was not a particularly memorable view. Not terrible, but not great. Service is excellent. There was some confusion over a special bed-making request - blankets instead of the duvet. It took them 3 nights to get it right, which was a little irritating.

We only ate breakfast at the Peninsula, but that was a highlight of each day. Sitting next to the window looking down on 5th Ave. is pretty memorable.

It is expensive - $950 per night for the room, and about $40 a person for breakfast! But what are you going to do? If I can afford it I would love to go back to this super hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank bretthodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2007

Let's start with the good:

Service was good. Staff was well professionally trained. Location was certainly the super plus. Decor was good, not awfully special. Complimentary bottle water provided in the room was great.

My biggest issue is:
They didn't have humidity control in their rooms. Both of us were having the itchiest skin throughout he night. It was too dry in there. And our sinuses were stuffed up, throats were itchy. Not good! We stayed in Four Season and Mandarin Oriental respectively at the same time in the past 2 years and never had the same problem! That alone made us not want to go back to this hotel ever again.

They had a few speakers in the room, but the music was very distorted while playing through the speakers. It was a shame because we did like their radio.

  • Liked — bottle water
  • Disliked — no humidity control in the room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ct79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#28 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#51 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula New York

Property: The Peninsula New York
Address: 700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New York City
#28 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#38 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
#39 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula New York 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its world-renowned service and attention to detail, The Peninsula New York is the prestigious recipient of the Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Awards. This magnificently restored 23-story, 1905 landmark building is ideally located, just steps away from world-class shopping, museums and the magic of Broadway. ACCOMMODATION: Each of the 185 spacious guestrooms and 54 suites at The Peninsula New York meet The Peninsula Hotels standards for luxury, guest comfort and technology. Rooms are designed for maximum comfort, with a good night's rest virtually guaranteed. Each room exudes a sense of tranquility and modernity with crisp bed linens, luxurious goose down duvets, flat screen televisions, marble bathrooms with special mood lighting and signature Peninsula bathtub televisions. For the ultimate convenience, bedside electronic control panels regulate temperature, lighting and entertainment systems. WELLNESS: The Peninsula Spa is a rooftop oasis providing an ideal retreat from the demands of the city. This sanctuary of seclusion and peace offers relaxing body treatments and sublime skin care in an environment of sheer aesthetic bliss. The Spa features a luxurious range of heat experiences including a steam room, sauna, ice fountain and "experience" shower, men's and women's private relaxation lounges and an Asian Tea Lounge. The Private Spa Suite is the ultimate personal spa experience for couples, friends or family wishing to retreat in total privacy. A glass-enclosed pool, wraparound outdoor sun terrace and cutting edge fitness center with daily group fitness classes completes the wellness experience. DINING: The Peninsula New York's dining venues combine the comfort of tradition with modern elegance for guests to experience sophisticated dining at any time of the day. The signature restaurant Clement presents an energetic approach to regionally-sourced cuisine for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The Bar at Clement offers thoughtful cocktails, wines by the glass and a light menu. After a day of exploring the vibrant heart of the city, the timeless Gotham Lounge is a welcome setting to rejuvenate over Afternoon Tea, or for an unforgettable end to a New York City day, toast from the spectacular rooftop bar and terrace, Salon de Ning, while gazing over panoramic views of the shimmering Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Peninsula New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula New York Hotel New York City
Peninsula New York City
New York City Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing