We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Birthday surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #57 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Birthday surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just spent 10 days here.We cannot praise the staff enough,very friendly nothing to much trouble.Have stayed in NY before and will say this hotel is the best we have ever been in.One of the best things we also found was how quiet it was at night time,had the greatest nights sleep ever.Would recommend the Fitzpatrick to anyone.

Room Tip: Our room 405 didnt have a view but was very quiet which more than made up for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2MrpostmanElliott6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear 2MrpostmanElliott6,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Fitzpatrick Manhattan and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the staff friendly. I know that the team will be thrilled to learn of your kind comments.

On behalf of the hotel thank you for deciding to stay at Fitzpatrick Manhattan and I look forward to welcoming you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    281
    80
    26
    15
See reviews for
258
372
44
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

great hotel, nice staff. cannot fault it at all. stayed there before. rooms are big for new york, great service.
not much else to say about it. location is ok, close to 5th avenue and central park. can be noisy at times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Takoka72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Takoka 72,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Fitzpatrick Manhattan and that you found the service excellent.

On behalf of the hotel thank you for deciding to stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to one of the Fitzpatrick family hotels in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have only just returned from our visit from the Big Apple, This visit was a treat for my husbands 50th Birthday. On arrival in the room a bottle of sparkling wine in an ice bucket was waiting for us. The staff cannot be more friendly and helpful, we broke the stay in New York with a trip to the Niagara falls. We left our main cases at the Fitzpatrick, then returned to the hotel for the last couple of days. Everyone in the hotel is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Everything you would ideally need from a hotel in a place like New York, because of the amount of places and types of travel needed to get around this big city. They all knew your name and treated you like a much valued and welcome guest, I felt like we were leaving friends when we left to go home. will defiantly be back to stay. Claire and Christopher Sharp

Room Tip: Both our two rooms were great no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Sharp,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

It was a pleasure to read your wonderful comments about the team at the hotel and I am thrilled that you found each of them friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. I know that they will be thrilled to learn of your very kind comments.

On behalf of the hotel thank you for deciding to stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was the first time I and my husband had visited New York and it was not without a little trepidation on my part, however, the whole experience was amazing. The Fitzpatrick isn't far from Central Park and is well placed for accessing all the other sights. It is a smaller hotel than many that are available and has a very personal feel. The staff were all, without exception, professional and caring. We had asked for a room on a lower level and that is what we got. It was of a perfectly adequate size with a 5ft bed, a separate bathroom with a large shower and a walk in wardrobe containing iron and ironing board, safe etc. It was very clean and I suppose the only criticism might be is that there wasn't a view, but that was our choice. The food was excellent and although we did go out for breakfast a couple of times - once to Grand Central Station - I far preferred the quality of food in the hotel. Dinner was also good so we ate in a couple of times. We were well guided by staff when looking for things to do and on the final day our cases were safely stored until we were ready to leave. If we return to New York I honestly don't think we will even consider anywhere else to stay.

Room Tip: If you want a view you need to ask for it. Our room on the 1st floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy22008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Daisy 22008,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I am delighted that you found the Fitzpatrick Manhattan location suitable to Central Park and the other sites that you visited. The ethos of the hotel is based on delivering exceptional customer care and thank you for your very kind comments in regards to this. I know that the team will be thrilled to learn of your positive comments.

On behalf of the hotel thank you for deciding to stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to one of the Fitzpatrick family hotels in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I will admit this upfront--- this is a biased review. I am rating this hotel 100% based on customer service. I wish i could give them 6 stars!

We used this hotel for all the guests at our wedding. We had over 50 people stay there and we could not have been more impressed with the way the hotel handled our reservations and went out of their way to make all of our guests happy.

The chef, bar tenders, group reservation... we loved them all!

We got group rates quoted for 15 different hotels and this one gave us the best rates by far! While other matched their normal rates, the Fitzpatrick undercut their normal rates for us by a LOT!

(The other hotel we had a group rate was, was the Palace hotel. What a mess! I would NOT recommend choosing that!)

If you are looking for good rates for a group event and amazing service, the Fitzpatrick is a fabulous option! Not luxurious but we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blossom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Blossom B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Fitzpatrick Manhattan and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I was delighted to read that your wedding guests enjoyed the hotel and I can assure you that the team will be thrilled to learn of your kind comments.

It was our pleasure to look after your very important wedding guests and on behalf of Fitzpatrick's thank you for choosing us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I found this hotel on hotels.com and checked the Tripadvisor page and found good reviews. i had a need for an economical but comfortable hotel for 24 hours in NYC. This fit the bill very well. Easy to miss, especially with lots of water and sewer work going on out front, this little hotel is very cozy and nice. The room and bath were well outfitted and clean. The front desk staff was most welcoming and accommodative. Breakfast in the restaurant was pleasant. Prices were very reasonable and I would definitely consider this hotel for a return visit. Great location, too!

Room Tip: 603 was quiet. No view but nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halfmooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Halfmooner,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and I know that the team will be thrilled to learn of your kind comments.

On behalf of the hotel I would like to thank you for deciding to stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to one of our hotels in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Having just spent 4 nights in this hotel, we could not recommend it highly enough. All the staff were very helpful and were more than willing to give any assistance they could. We were upgraded to a two room suite which was very comfortable, spacious and spotless. The hotel's location makes it ideal for shopping and sightseeeing. We look forward to our next trip!
Regards
Geoffrey & Jennifer

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoffrey897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Geoffrey897,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the hotel and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and I know that the team will be thrilled to learn of your kind comments.

On behalf of the hotel I would like to thank Jennifer and yourself for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to one of the Fitzpatrick family hotels in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#91 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,843 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#76 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,381 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#70 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#10 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,382 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#49 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel

Property: Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Address: 687 Lexington Ave, between 56th & 57th Street, New York City, NY 10022-2662
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#46 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Family Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel offers comfortable, modern amenities and personalized service ideal for both leisure and business travelers alike. With 91 rooms and suites, our intimate size allows us to focus on your every need and provide you with a personal level of service that you would experience at the finest Irish country house hotels. This, coupled with our desirable location, makes the Fitzpatrick Manhattan the perfect place to stay in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel New York City
New York Fitzpatrick Hotel
Fitzpatrick New York
Fitzpatrick Manhattan New York City
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York
Fitzpatricks Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing