We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great location, lovely clean New York Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #61 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely clean New York Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for the easter long weekend. The hotel is in a great location 2 minutes from Bloomingdales and 5 mins from the top of 5th Avenue.

We arrived early afternoon after an early morning flight from the UK and as our room was not quite ready the assistant manager gave us some complimentary drinks vouchers to have in the bar/restaurant while he sorted our room allocation. We opted to get some food from the hotel restaurant for a late lunch while we waited - and unfortunately we waited for over 45 mins, whilst other tables came and went - we chased the waiter a couple of times and eventually were told that they had missed placing our order completely. This was very frustrating as our room had been ready for a while and our key dropped through to us. I have to say though that as soon as we told the management of our issue - they almost immediately upgraded us to a suite on the 15th floor, and organised for our food to be sent up to our room on the house with more complimentary drinks! So despite our initial disappointment - this was fantastic customer service, and the suite really made our holiday - lovely decor, great bathroom, huge bedroom with double aspect windows and a lounge and kitchenette! a fantastic retreat after days out walking around manhattan!

The staff at this hotel are all really friendly, and the rooms and public areas are nicely decorated and clean. Free wifi in the foyer was good too, enabling us to check in online for our flights home.

Only criticism of this hotel was obviously the food service in the restaurant, and also the quality of the food was not great - we had a margherita pizza and chicken enchiladas - quite simple dishes to make - but they were not very good. After our initial experience in the restaurant we chose to eat out for breakfast, lunch and dinner - of which there are millions of great places in manhattan.

All round though, a great base to enjoy manhattan with a homely friendly feel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveHolibags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear LoveHolibags,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I was delighted to read your comments and I know that the team will be thrilled to learn that you found them helpful. I would like to apologize for the mix up in your food order and that has been addressed internally. I have passed on yur comments to our chef so that we can improve those few items.

On behalf of the hotel thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to a FItzpatrick family hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    282
    80
    27
    15
See reviews for
261
374
44
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Excellent place made even better by the helpful staff. I stayed for business for the first time a few months back and was blown away by their level of service. I needed to impress some colleagues so I asked the bellman Peter for help with restaurants and tickets to a Knicks game. Not only did he go out of his way to get me incredible seats the game he also got me into Birdland jazz club on a night it was sold out! Cheers for that. I have been traveling on business for years and never gotten this kind of service or attention from people. The rooms are also very spacious with nice decor. Only downside is no free wi-fi which is a bit of a surprise considering most hotels offer that with the room rate these days. Also special thanks to Merima who works the front desk and Dave the bartender. When I return to New York I know where to stay now!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OReillyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear OReillyTravels,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I was delighted to read your very kind comments and I know that the team will be thrilled to learn of same. Thank you for mentioning some of the staff by name and I am delighted that you found everyone helpful.

On behalf of the hotel thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The staff at the Fitzpatrick are first class; they make the stay at the Fitzpatrick special. That made the stay worthwhile. However the rooms are disappointing. We initially had a small double at the back of the hotel, which was quiet and very small, but with a very weak shower and no bath. You almost had to run in it to get wet! Upon request, after a couple of nights, we were moved to a suite. Huge space with a lovely king sized bed, separate lounge and bathroom. However, it was on the fourth floor facing Lexington and it was incredibly noisy - as if we had left a window open, and we found it drafty on the bed nearest the window and quite cold. The lobby is tiny, as is the bar. There are no public areas to sit in. The Internet is very expensive at $14.95 a day ( go to Starbucks across the road). The location is great. Would I recommend it? I'm not sure. I have stayed at The Warwick, The Kitano and The Waldorf Astoria for similar cost and the Fitzpatrick can only stand against them because of the staff. It would have to be very competitive on price to return to again.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a suite and go high to avoid the noise on Lexington.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonWickedWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear LondonWickedWe,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I am delighted to read that you found are staff friendly and helpful and I know that they will be thrilled to learn same. I would like to extend my sincere apology that you found the room noisey and drafty and I will certainly have the windows in the room looked at and fixed.

On your next visit to New York please contact me directly scookman@fitzpatrickhotels.com and I will take care of the reservation arrangements for you personally.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and I hope that I will be able to welcome you to the hotel on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/ General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I don't often write reviews, but feel compelled to say how fantastic this hotel is. Great location, friendly staff, lovely rooms. We stayed here with our two children (9 & 7), and we were able to walk to 5th Ave, Central Park, the Met and the Empire State. The two concierges were great, good restaurant tips (the Italian round the corner was particularly good) and always happy to help, as were all the staff. It really made our trip special.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear SD S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I know that team will be thrilled to learn of your kind comments.

Thank you for deciding to stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to one of the Fitzpatrick family hotels in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, NY
Level Contributor
227 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

we live on Long Island so rarely do we stay in NYC, but we did this time for a romantic weekend.

The hotel is really cozy, it is not huge.

On check n they immediately upgraded us to a suite. The room was huge, and updated nicely. The bathroom, though not huge was clean and updated.

The restaurant/bar is a great place to dine and just people watch

Room Tip: rooms in the front have windows on Lexington Avenue, which can be busy. The back rooms have a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srcesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Srcesq,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and I know that the team will be thrilled to learn of your kind comments.

On behalf of the hotel thank you for deciding to stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights with family, what a great place to stay, starting with rooms , we had a suite which had one double and one pull out sofa for kids, both really comfortable , shower really strong with plenty of towels etc, the bar was super with really good friendly helpful staff , Dave was always witty and good with advice, food in bar and Resteraunt was top class and good value, don't miss breakfast it says its the best in Manhattan and I figure that's not far from the truth!
We had a problem with wheelchair and charger due to European voltage , the front of house staff (all of them) could not have done any more to help, they had their in house engineer check it immediately and when all avenues exhausted , sourced and arranged to have one delivered to hotel for us, simply excellent service, hotel is very suitable for wheelchair use by the way, the location is excellent really close to all main tourist areas and shopping , have stayed in New York a few times , this hotel is the first I can say that I have enjoyed returning to after a day of shopping or sightseeing and chill at the bar and enjoy a pint, don't miss the Guiness it's dare I say it better than home ! Can't wait to go back to New York , and when I do it's back to Fitzpatricks Manhattan Hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Colin B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the team to be friendly and helpful. I know that they will be thrilled to learn of your kind words.

On behalf of the hotel thank you for deciding to stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel is well run and is a credit all the team that run it. The rooms are big by NYC standards and the service is really good. All the staff are really friendly and John, Shane an team should be really proud of their reputation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larrytheloungelizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Larrythelounge lizard,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I know that the team will be thrilled to learn of your very kind comments.

On behalf of the hotel thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#88 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,846 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#75 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,386 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#9 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#74 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#49 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel

Property: Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Address: 687 Lexington Ave, between 56th & 57th Street, New York City, NY 10022-2662
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Family Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel offers comfortable, modern amenities and personalized service ideal for both leisure and business travelers alike. With 91 rooms and suites, our intimate size allows us to focus on your every need and provide you with a personal level of service that you would experience at the finest Irish country house hotels. This, coupled with our desirable location, makes the Fitzpatrick Manhattan the perfect place to stay in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel New York City
New York Fitzpatrick Hotel
Fitzpatrick New York
Fitzpatrick Manhattan New York City
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York
Fitzpatricks Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing