We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #40 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Friendly and Pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed for five nights and loved every min of it. Been to NYC a few times and will definitely be back a this great wee hotel. Service is first class, rooms are typical NYC small nut its only really somewhere to put you head. Highly recommended for staying in NYC as the location is fantastic! Just beside Central Station and not in the hussel and bussel of Times Square!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Clark K,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I am delighted that you and the rest of your party enjoyed staying at the hotel and found the team to be helpful and friendly. I know that the team at the hotel will be thrilled to learn of your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to one of the Fitzpatrick family hotels in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    310
    91
    30
    15
See reviews for
312
445
49
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Mary & I & Tony & Rosaleen Horan recently stayed in Fitzpatricks in Manhattan.
The hotel is centrally located & the staff are friendly & the food is excellent.

When they found out that we got engaged they gave us a complimentary bottle of the finest Champagne which was a lovely gesture.

The assistant general manager, Chris O sullivan was extremely helpfull & couldnt do enough for us to make our trip a memorable experience & if you are visiting NY we would highly recomend staying at Fitzpatricks.

Mary & John

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear John225,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I am delighted that you and the rest of your party enjoyed staying at the hotel and found the team to be helpful and friendly. I know that the team at the hotel will be thrilled to learn of your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to one of the Fitzpatrick family hotels in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Its seldom that a hotel makes a holiday but on this occasion the FitzPatrick certainly made our weekend visit to New York very special. From the time we arrived and met the assistant Manager, Chris, we were made to feel at home. When he heard that we had travelled from Ireland, and were there as part of a 50th birthday celebration, we were treated as VIP guests.
After a day on the town visiting sites etc, some recomended by Chris, we would retire to the bar with our friendly barman Dave, and the occasional visit from Chris, for a night of chat, banter and good craic. On our second night Chris escorted us to the bar where he made cocktails for us to enjoy'
A very special thanks to Chris, Dave and all the staff for a special weekend stay.
We would defenitely reccomend The FitzPatrick to anybody looking for a central, friendly and relaxing stay in New York

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coissiuire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Coissiuire,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the team to be excellent. I know that they will be thrilled to learn of your kind words.

Once again thank you for staying with us and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to one of the Fitzpatrick family hotels in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager / General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I spent four weeks at the Fitzpatrick Manhattan. It was a continuation of the four weeks I had spent at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central after Sandy. The welcome and hospitality I received from the Assistant General Manager and staff was outstanding. The suite was lovely and comfortable. I particularly enjoyed the dining room both for breakfast and dinner. If you like oatmeal, this is the best place in New York to experience Irish oatmeal.

It was a bittersweet goodbye as I returned to my home. I will always come back to the Fitzpatrick Manhattan to say hello anytime I am in Manhattan.

Lorraine E. Caggiano

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LORRAINE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Lorraine C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so. Indeed I can only imagine how distressing life must have been in the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy for you.

I am delighted that you found the hotel lovely and comfortable and I know the team will be thrilled to learn of your very kind comments.

We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip into Manhattan.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager / General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic hotel with an Irish charm! Well situated, clean hotel, staff were fantastic and the GM Chris was amazing! The rooms were very spacious for New York and the bathroom was awesome! Will be back. Have stayed in plenty of hotels in New York and this is the best! Go you wont be dissapointed!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tee1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Tee1404,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and I know that the team will be thrilled to learn of your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to one of the Fitzpatrick family hotels in the near future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed over xmas. It was ok. The staff are the best thing about it. Leo is a diamond.

However the deal breaker for me is to come back from holiday and find I spent over 100 dollars just for internet connection.

The price of the room should include internet, or else don't offer it. The hotel lobby was like a refugee camp at some times due to the number of people accessing the free wi fi, and due to the fact that the lobby is so cramped and small.

The bar area is as dead as a dodo. It would not kill them to lay on a bit of Irish music, at least one night per week, and the food was mediocre and expensive. Also tacky beyond belief is the offer to purchase a robe, or even a matteress similar to the one slept on! What is this The Price is Right?

I would not stay again because of the rip off internet. When you are spending over 4000 dollars for accomodation, it is insulting to then be charged for use of the internet.

But to end on a positive note, the staff are the nicest, most helpful people I have met in all my travels, the rooms are clean, and the location great.

By the way isn't it annoying to read of people getting upgrades unprompted when you pay for a suite and can't even get free internet?

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellshock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Ms Shellshock,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so. We at Fitzpatrick are delighted to recieve your feed back as it helps us grow and understand our customers needs.

In relation to WIFI most hotels in New York City do charge for this service. In Fitzpatrick's it is provided through a 3rd party and therefore as you will have noticed they charge the guest directly for the service. I can assure you that once the current contact comes up for renewal we will look at other alternatives.

The hotel bar is typically quiet over holiday periods as most of the hotel guests tend to want to see New York. I can assure you that i will look into the music option as kindly mentioned by yoou.

I was delighted to read that you found the staff helpful and friendly. On your next visit to New York please feel free to contact me directly and I can assure you I will take care of the reservation process for you personally. My email is scookman@fitzpatrickhotels.com

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager / General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I'll keep this short and to the point.Great hotel...non-trendy,reasonable rates and roomy one bedroom suites.Stayed one night for my sons birthday.It was a Sunday night so hotel as well as bar area were very laid back and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Robru,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the team to be excellent. I know that they will be thrilled to learn of your kind words.

Once again thank you for staying with us and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to one of the Fitzpatrick family hotels in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager / General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#72 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,492 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel

Property: Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Address: 687 Lexington Ave, between 56th & 57th Street, New York City, NY 10022-2662
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#44 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#58 Family Hotel in New York City
#131 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel offers comfortable, modern amenities and personalized service ideal for both leisure and business travelers alike. With 91 rooms and suites, our intimate size allows us to focus on your every need and provide you with a personal level of service that you would experience at the finest Irish country house hotels. This, coupled with our desirable location, makes the Fitzpatrick Manhattan the perfect place to stay in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel New York City
New York Fitzpatrick Hotel
Fitzpatrick New York
Fitzpatrick Manhattan New York City
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York
Fitzpatricks Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing