We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Softest Sheets!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Berkshire Place
Ranked #104 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Softest Sheets!!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Oh my goodness - they had the softest pillows, sheets and comforters ever!!! I wish I could have taken them home with me!!!!!!!! If I wasnt going backpacking soon I would have written down the exact name of the comforter and sheets and purchased them myself!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrbanHippieYogaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,286
    1,072
    299
    121
    59
See reviews for
1,170
1,223
144
689
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I recently stayed at the Omni Berkshire for one night with my husband. The room was a great value for the price. The room was very spacious for NYC hotel standards and had recently been renovated. The Omni select guest amenities (free wi-fi, free morning beverages delivered to room etc) were a great bonus. The location of the hotel was perfect for all the great luxury shopping nearby. Also, hotel is very close to the subway which was nice for heading downtown to the 9/11 museum. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank JulieN315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stay here for business infrequently as it can be expensive, but every time I stay here I'm glad I have. The staff couldn't be friendlier and the quality and comfort of the Berkshire is top notch. The rooms are clean, well appointed and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I like to stay at Omni hotels because it provides some notion of 'you know what you get' when it comes to upscale hotels. Unfortunately, my latest 3 day stay at the Omni in New York did not provide such sentiment. Front desk service staff was not friendly nor helpful. I had to check-out early and left two gift items and a message for a colleague with the front desk. He never got the message nor the merchandise - Unacceptable for a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Please accept our sincerest apologies that your stay did not reflect what you have come to expect from our hotel. We would like to research what may have happened and have sent you a private message to learn more. We truly hope to hear from you and would welcome another opportunity to gain your goodwill towards our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Omni has a great location off of 5th Avenue, walking distance to all the shops and there are now better restaurant choices. The Junior suites are really large and well appointed for NY standards. Make sure you join their loyalty program. You will receive some great perks such as bottled water, shoe shines and a complimentary morning beverage. Nice!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, close to the theatre district, Time Square and the subway is only around the corner. The staff were very nice on arrival, however we had booked a romantic escape, which included a romantic turndown service and complementary sparkling wine on arrival as well as $100 food and beverage credit. There was NO romantic turndown - and we only got the sparkling wine when I went down and asked where it was - and they didn't seem to know anything about the $100 F/B credit! Also, the Fireside bar states it opens until 1am, but we got back at 12.15pm and were refused access. So while it is in a great spot - I am not sure it is worth the money - as a Platinum GHA member I am very disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed here for one night with my gf. I have both positive and negative experience. Let me start off with the negative experience.

The night-shift front desk personnel was rude and did not want to be interrupted. I understand that he was training another personnel, but it is also his job to be helpful. It was like ~1am and water was draining extremely slow in the shower. Let me be clear that this problem should never happened at the first place. Anyway, I went to the front desk to report this problem. However, the front desk personnel did not want to be interrupted and simply told me to dial 0. This treatment was unacceptable, especially I was already at the front desk. I expect Omni's staffs to be more professional than telling guests to dial 0 for problems that should have never occurred at the first place. In frustration, I ended up going back to my room and dialed 0. The maintenance personnel came within 15 minutes. He fixed the slow shower drain problem by pulling out ridiculous amount of hair from the drain. This routine maintenance should have done periodically so that guests like me do not have to stay up to wait for problems to be fixed. This event made the stay quite a disappointing experience.

The rest of the stay was relatively good. Check-in and check-out were fast, and the staffs were friendly. The morning beverages was nice, but the staffs did forget the orange juices initially. The gym was good, but keep in mind that dumbbells only go up to 50lbs. Location is awesome. It is next to MoMA and only a short walk to Times Square.

Overall, I would say this hotel deserves a 5, but only after it does a better job on routine maintenance and keeping all of its staffs at certain professional level.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ming T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#103 of 466 in New York City
1,807 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#95 of 466 in New York City
2,655 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#81 of 466 in New York City
3,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#38 of 466 in New York City
2,699 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#102 of 466 in New York City
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Berkshire Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Berkshire Place

Property: Omni Berkshire Place
Address: 21 E 52nd St, at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022-5389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in New York City
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#67 Business Hotel in New York City
#86 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Berkshire Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience enviable luxury at the Omni Berkshire Place located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Stay just steps from some of New York City's most notable attractions including Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Central Park, Broadway Theatres, and Times Square. Modern Technology and fresh contemporary decor are brought together for accommodations that embrace the look and feel of an Upper East Side residence. Luxury guestrooms combined with the renowned service and amenities make the Omni Berkshire Place an ideal destination for both business or leisure travelers looking to experience the excitement of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni Berkshire Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Berkshire Place Hotel New York City
Omni Hotel Berkshire Place
Omni New York City
New York City Omni
Omni Berkshire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing