We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Berkshire Place
Ranked #93 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My stay at the Omni was a great experience. I was there the week before Christmas and the Hotel was beautifully decorated, the staff was friendly and helpful. We were very pleased with our stay and would stay again. The hotel and it's staff were outstanding.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,358 - 2,364 of 4,052 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

If you are in Manhattan for the sights, this is the place to be; within walking distance to most. Room was immaculate and spacious. The lighted closets were a bonus and well-positioned in front of the beds. Large bathroom with all amenities and soft towels. Omni hotels have excellent shampoo and conditioner too - made just for them. Previous reviews stating higher rooms evade noise are correct (but not all noise - you can't get away from sirens in NYC). The front door staff were amazingly courteous - their holiday greetings really made our day.
Our only complaint - and here again we side with other reviewers - Fireside needs to up their service skills. Bartender was just downright unhappy and his drinks were sub-par.
(He began making a drink, then stopped half-way, letting the ice melt in the alcohol while he waited 10 minutes for a server to retrieve a new bottle of juice!) Apps on the other hand were good.
In short: will happily return to this hotel, just won't patronize Fireside.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank LyloNStitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I spent Dec 20 – Dec 26 in NYC at the Omni Berkshire Place. This was my gift to her for her 50th birthday. She had always wanted to skate at the rink at Rockefeller Center at Christmas time and this seemed like the appropriate time to make that happen.

After literally months of researching hotels I chose the Omni Berkshire Place on E. 52nd street between Madison Ave and 5th Ave. I used TA, and also oyster.com in my hotel search. I highly recommend the oyster.com site. I chose the Omni because of its location, steps off of 5th Ave, but yet away from the hustle that would be Rockefeller Center and the Christmas tree and Times Square.

I have to say I was very happy with my hotel choice. Per above, the location was perfect for exploring and for proximity to RC and many other places we had in mind.

We arrived early from Detroit on the 20th at LaGuardia by 9:00 am and at our hotel by 10:00. When we arrived I was pleasantly surprised that our room was already available and check in was a breeze. I had booked through Travelocity and I received a receipt from the hotel that noted rooms were paid. I did have to remind them at the desk that we had booked a special package that included free breakfast. A quick check by the desk confirmed that.

The free breakfast was the hotel’s buffet, which would ordinarily cost $32 per person. It was a nice buffet selection with eggs, potatoes, pancakes, bacon, chicken sausage (which neither of us cared for) bagels, assorted breads and pastries, fruit, oatmeal cereal etc. If it wasn’t included in our package, however, I don’t think we would have spent the $64 each day for breakfast.

Our room was on the 9th floor. Not much of a view but we didn’t spend much time looking out the window.

As mentioned the room was available when we arrived at 10:00 am, which we were thankful for to allow us to get situated before getting out to see the sights. Our bags had been whisked from the cab to the bell stand when we arrived by a very efficient door staff. By the time we checked in and made it to our room the bellman was right behind us with our bags. He took the time to help us get situated, which I appreciated.

I believe this hotel had been renovated within the past few years and it looked like it. The public spaces were spotless and the rooms very well kept.

The deluxe room was fairly nice size for NYC, with a king bed and nice size bathroom. I travel quite a bit for business and pleasure and the bed was one of the most comfortable hotels beds I have slept in.

A safe that would accommodate your tablet or laptop is available. There is a stocked mini-bar and snack selection. The bellman took the time to explain that we could remove items from the mini-bar fridge and set them aside and place our own items inside without incurring any mini-bar charges. I liked that. We had great housekeeping service, nightly turndown and several times we had fresh towels twice a day.

We used room service for lunch one day and service was fast and the lunch was good.

Location was important to us and this hotel is really very well situated with just steps to 5th Ave on one side and Madison Ave on the other. It’s a short walk to Rockefeller Center and Radio City Music Hall and then another quick jaunt to Times Square. Conveniently there is a Duane Read store just a few steps outside the hotel door, so if you forget an item or need something including beer or wine they have it.

The staff for the most part was unfailingly friendly from front desk to housekeeping to the front door staff, all made us feel like we were important guests. The only exception seemed to be the bar staff and breakfast servers, who, while efficient, didn’t seem to exude quite the same friendliness…or maybe it was just something we missed. No matter, we enjoyed their prompt and professional service.

We did spend some time at the bar most every evening. Prices are what you would expect for NYC, though $9.00 for a bottled water seems a bit excessive. They offered a good pour for a glass of wine.

We had one glitch at checkout when the bill showed nightly charges for the room even though we had booked and paid in advance with Travelocity. A quick discussion with the front desk resolved the issue.

Overall I would highly recommend The Omni Berkshire Place for its location, nicely appointed, clean rooms and friendly, professional staff. I would not hesitate to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hotel was in the best location, near the famous Tree at Rockefeller Center, hotel lobby so lovely with beautiful tree and wreaths and then Santa the day we checked out, and he looked good. I would stay again if I ever could afford it again during the holidays

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Enjoyed our visit. Excellent location. Traveled with our 8 year old daughter and was able to walk to all attractions including Time Square, Statue of Liberty, and all 5th Ave shops which was 1/2 block away. Mary, the concierge, was very helpful with reservations and recommendations. Will certainly return

Room Tip: Higher floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbtegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Hotel was excellent. The room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was beautiful, the food and drinks in the lobby lounge and restaurant were great, the staff was very nice, and finally, it's location was perfect for both shopping and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night with our toddler. We wanted somewhere that was close to all of the Christmas decorations at Rockefellar Center. From the Bell Man to the front desk to the Door Man, everyone was very helpful and friendly. I had forgotten my toiletries at home and they brought me a tooth brush and tooth paste to use. The bathrooms were very nice and the room was clean and a decent size for NYC. Everything that we wanted to see was within walking distance. We did room service for dinner and it was very tasty, though overpriced as is most room service. I would recommend this hotel for families.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelinsnorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#77 of 470 in New York City
3,608 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#109 of 470 in New York City
4,478 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#100 of 470 in New York City
2,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Berkshire Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Berkshire Place

Address: 21 E 52nd St, at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022-5389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#67 Business Hotel in New York City
#77 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $203 - $878 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Berkshire Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience enviable luxury at the Omni Berkshire Place located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Stay just steps from some of New York City's most notable attractions including Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Central Park, Broadway Theatres, and Times Square. Modern Technology and fresh contemporary decor are brought together for accommodations that embrace the look and feel of an Upper East Side residence. Luxury guestrooms combined with the renowned service and amenities make the Omni Berkshire Place an ideal destination for both business or leisure travelers looking to experience the excitement of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Berkshire Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Berkshire Place Hotel New York City
Omni Hotel Berkshire Place
Omni New York City
New York City Omni
Omni Berkshire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing