We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay for a mother/daughter vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Berkshire Place
Ranked #101 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great stay for a mother/daughter vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Walking distance to many top areas that a 73 yo mother (and 33 yo daughter) would enjoy--Rockefeller, Barney's, the Plaza hotel, not to mention all of the other normal 5th Ave or Mad Ave shopping you could desire. Closest subway ~ 2 blocks away; fine for me but tough for 73 yo in heat wave conditions so we had to cab it to many areas in lieu of subway. Cleanliness superb! Bathroom spotless. Very comfortable beds. On the 4th floor & street noise did bother my mother some but, it's NYC! If we return, will likely ask for non-street facing room. Also a great simple little deli across the street for breakfast, lunch, or dinner at reasonable prices and with good selection (if you're trying to save money and not go out big for dinner every night or pay the hotel restaurant prices, this was very convenient). Also Duane Reed is right down the block so it's easy to pop in for any drugstore needs you may have (we opted to buy our water, snacks from there so as to avoid temptation from the room's mini-bar of snacks and drinks). Overall, great stay and we would return. Not in the hippest area of town but, for your family members who are a little more traditional, the Omni more than fits the bill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turnthepage_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,186
    1,027
    284
    118
    57
See reviews for
1,117
1,167
134
666
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I hadn't stayed here for over twenty years, the hotel appears to have been almost totally renovated. Our room was very spacious for a NYC hotel, furnishings were pleasantly contemporary, it was spotlessly clean, well maintained & appointed. All in all, it was an extremely comfortable room, down to the selection of pillows of various firmness. They had obviously put a lot of thought into the renovations, I just wish they had thought to put a dimmer on the bathroom light switch for night use. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Be sure to register on-line in the Omni program that might, perhaps depending on the room you book, give you access to various extra amenities including free wifi and breakfast beverages brought to your room. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwnw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed at the Omni Berkshire again as my teens and I accompanied my husband on business. The location of 52nd and Madison is convenient to theatre district, restaurants, the Park, museums, shopping. Friendly, accommodating and well-trained staff throughout. The basic rate rooms are not huge but pretty good size for NYC standards, clean, tasteful yet muted decor, comfortable beds and chairs. Did not try room service or the restaurant this trip. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klgmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hadn't stayed here in over twenty years. The hotel appears to have almost been totally renovated. The location is excellent, staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the room and bathroom were both contemporary and spotless, well appointed, well maintained and unusually spacious for New York City. They appear to have thought of almost everything during the renovation. I have only three small complaints. Firstly, the bathroom really needed a dimmer switch for when you needed to use the bathroom during the night. Secondly, I wasn't told that I needed to register on-line in some kind of Omni program to get the free morning beverage and other amenities I was apparently entitled to with my room, in fact I was unaware of the program or the extra amenities I was entitled to until I about an hour before I checked out whereas I should have been told about it at check in along with the password for the wifi. Lastly, the complimentary mouthwash in the bathroom was not replinished during our stay. Despite those things, and because I now know, I would happily stay there again and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank dwnw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel twice now and both times have been excellent experiences. Helpful pleasant staff, great location, clean, and comfortable. It is located in Midtown and is priced for that location, but you can't beat being a block and a half from Rockefeller Center, within walking distance of great shopping, Central Park, Grand Central, and a variety of restaurants. I will continue to come back whenever I am in NYC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel is located within walking distance of many sights and shopping areas. Staff is very accommodating. Great value for Manhattan. Rooms are all completely redone, very clean and pleasant. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We enjoyed our entire experience at the hotel. We have been guests many times. we will return because of the location, staff and cleanliness of the entire hotel. At our last two visits we have been upgraded to a suite and loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Verna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#79 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#72 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#108 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,135 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Berkshire Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Berkshire Place

Property: Omni Berkshire Place
Address: 21 E 52nd St, at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022-5389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in New York City
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#67 Business Hotel in New York City
#81 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Berkshire Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience enviable luxury at the Omni Berkshire Place located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Stay just steps from some of New York City's most notable attractions including Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Central Park, Broadway Theatres, and Times Square. Modern Technology and fresh contemporary decor are brought together for accommodations that embrace the look and feel of an Upper East Side residence. Luxury guestrooms combined with the renowned service and amenities make the Omni Berkshire Place an ideal destination for both business or leisure travelers looking to experience the excitement of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Berkshire Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Berkshire Place Hotel New York City
Omni Hotel Berkshire Place
Omni New York City
New York City Omni
Omni Berkshire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing