We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Berkshire Place
Ranked #95 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed for 4 days in march for a tourist trip.

Location
Right in the centre of manhattan - a couple of blocks from central park and the Rockefeller centre. This is the up market part of town right on fifth avenue by Cartier. Close to a couple of subway stations and the bus station. 15 minutes to Times Square. We caught a taxi from the airport for 55USD. We didnt eat at the hotel and tended to eat outside of this area but there is a great cheap diner on the next street called Burger Heaven - really good.

Rooms
Great size rooms for NYC - more like what you get else where in the US rather than small NYC hotel rooms! Large, comfortable and light once you work out how to open the blinds! Full size bathroom, good to relax in a hot bath after a days sight seeing! Join the omni club and get free wifi and a free morning drink delivered to the room. The rooms can be a bit noisy as the doors are slam fire doors so you hear everyone coming and going - soon got used to it. Windows also open which is great for fresh air freak!

Staff
We were contacted before we travelled by the loyalty club ambassador who answered our questions which was really appreciated. The conceirge even managed to find me a gluten free pizza restaurant!

Extras
We paid for late check out (50usd) and it was well worth it so we could maximise the day and get showered before the flight home.

Overall great location and excellent comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D&D_Holiday_feedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed having the Omni Berkshire Place as your home base as you explored New York City. Thank you for sharing all of your feedback on TripAdvisor and we hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,937 - 2,943 of 4,159 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is the third Omni that we have stayed at in different cities. Each Omni is unique and has its own distinct character. One thing that is common to all Omni's is there commitment to service.

We stayed there for one night in January. We got there early and they let us check in early. The room was perfect. I thought it was large for NYC standards. I noted on the reservation that it was my wife's birthday. We went out to see a show and when we came back later that night, there was a cake and card in our room.

As will all Omnis, please join their loyalty program. This gives you free wifi and other goodies.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bwco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

We are delighted that you found the same high caliber of service at the Omni Berkshire Hotel that you have experienced at other Omni Hotels. Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience on TripAdvisor and we look forward to having a future opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Omni Berkshire is in a great location, that is certain. I am a fan of Omni hotels but this was my first stay here. Upon arriving we were given keys to our room by a family member who checked us in earlier in the day. We went up to our room and it clearly hadn't been touched by housekeeping yet, bed not made, towels on the floor, etc. No biggie, we called the front desk, they came right up and gave us a key to another slightly larger room and apologized. This room was great, no problems. The staff was very accomodatiing, it was simply what you expect nothing great. At 3:30 in the morning our neighbors came home and we never really slept again. The walls are very thin. I didn't complain because they weren't really being loud they were talking in a normal tone only we could hear them too well. It is NYC, they could have flown in and been on a red eye or adjusting from a time zone change, who knows but they didn't do anything really wrong. It was the room that let us down and we spent much of the night tossing and turning. I really needed a coffee in the morning. No coffee in the room, to get two cups of coffee delivered to the room it would have cost $14 for coffee, $3.50 per person roomd delivery charge, 18% gratuity, and sales tax. That is right, $24.75 for two cups of coffee. Gimme a break, that kinda got me mad. I went to the lobby and did they have complimentary coffee? Nope, $3 a cup serve yourself. Sorry, not to be picky but certain things should just be free at a hotel like the Omni. A measly cup of coffee would have probably gotten them 4 stars instead of three out of me. Not sure if I would stay again, probably not.

A separate review here: We used a car service through the hotel with a man named Enrique. He is independent and the hotel hooked us up with him. 5 stars, great guy, very very friendly, got us all around the city. He was super. We were a party of 6, we would have needed two cabs all day to get us around and this eliminated that. Use him, you will be happy you did. Brand new Escalade ESV, front door drop off and pick up, he was ours all day from 11-5 and we paid $450 tip included. Not cheap, but two cabs from omni to 9/11 memorial, tenement museum, china town, little italy and battery park, then back to the omni wouldn't have been cheap either.

Room Tip: Unless you ask you will likley get a room facing an alley, ask for street view. We were on the 10th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

We are disappointed to read that your recent stay at our hotel started off on the wrong the foot with our error in assigning your room and then fell short of your overall expectations. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies and if you return to our hotel or any other Omni we would like to encourage you to sign up for our Select Guest Program. One of the many perks is having coffee or the beverage of your choice delivered to your room in the morning at no charge. We do appreciate your valuable comments and hope that we will have a future opportunity to provide you with a great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We went to NYC for a special birthday celebration and decided to stay at the Omni Berkshire because we've had great experiences at the Omni in Washington DC. Smart move on our part! It was lovely. The staff is super in every way, and the furnishings are a notch above other luxury hotels -- everything in perfect shape and sparkling clean. We went for a "premier" room, which gave us a little more room and a great view down Madison Ave. (We reserved the room through Hotwire.) The room was quite large, with a very comfy bed and particularly nice reading chair and ottoman. The select guest program is great -- all you have to do is sign up, and you get free wi-fi, the New York Times, and coffee or juice delivered to your room every morning at your choice of time. Our 8 year old was with us, and got a bag full of treats (mini-frisbee, map, etc.) and cookies at turn down the first night. A great hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

We are glad you recent stay at the Omni Berkshire Place lived up to the high bar set by the Omni Shoreham. Thank you for celebrating your birthday with us and for writing a review. We hope to welcome you back to another one of our properties soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Hotel staff were nice and helpful and the hotel is in a great central location - however after booking though Virgin (who have been amazing) I have now been charged 3 time by the hotel themselves over £2000 in charges that were not meant for me! I have to keep proving that i was not at the hotel and that they have proceed to charge my card without my authorisation. This has been time consuming and annoying and I just wish i had not used my card at the hotel at all.

Warning to be very careful here - i'm not sure if they are stupid or sneaky but i would never deal with them again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank holly_flanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the Omni for four nights over New Years Eve and had a lovely stay. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor we joined the select guest programme and enjoyed having our teas and coffees brought to us each morning, although found it slightly unusual that there was no tea and coffee making facilities in the room - aside from that we could not fault this hotel.

We booked via Trivago and got a great deal, far cheaper than advertised on the Omni website. We travelled with friends who called ahead to see if there was any chance of being upgraded, and to our surprise we were! Our room was huge and on the fifth floor with a massive bathroom, particularly by New York standards. The best thing about the hotel was the location - just a few minutes walk from all the tourist attractions, perfect for a short trip. The staff were also very friendly and helpful and it was handy to have a bar and restaurant when our dinner plans changed last minute.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louise_tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your New Year's Eve getaway to the Omni Berkshire Place. Select Guest Membership is a great way to add additional value to your stay and we are glad you enjoyed the benefits including and upgrade upon arrival. Thank you for sharing all of your comments on TripAdvisor and we hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Best central location in manhattan is one of my preferred hotels in the town when I come for business to NYC. Rooms are clean, newly decorated , well maintened and roomy. They have a very good select guest program that give you some important advantages like complimentary WiFi , upgrade , and some other goodies. One disadvantage is the price that is fluctuating like a boat in a stormy high seas for the same room depends on supply and demand in Manhattan. Other wise I like the hotel.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Ran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

We are delighted to read that the Omni Berkshire Place is your preferred Manhattan hotel. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#82 of 473 in New York City
3,747 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#115 of 473 in New York City
4,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#72 of 473 in New York City
6,766 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Berkshire Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Berkshire Place

Address: 21 E 52nd St, at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022-5389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
#79 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $193 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Berkshire Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience enviable luxury at the Omni Berkshire Place located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Stay just steps from some of New York City's most notable attractions including Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Central Park, Broadway Theatres, and Times Square. Modern Technology and fresh contemporary decor are brought together for accommodations that embrace the look and feel of an Upper East Side residence. Luxury guestrooms combined with the renowned service and amenities make the Omni Berkshire Place an ideal destination for both business or leisure travelers looking to experience the excitement of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Berkshire Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Berkshire Place Hotel New York City
Omni Hotel Berkshire Place
Omni New York City
New York City Omni
Omni Berkshire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing