We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Many Nice Touches But One Big Negative”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Berkshire Place
Ranked #95 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel has so much to offer-- so many nice touches. It is hard to believe, however, that a hotel holding a four-diamond AAA rating has such uncomfortable beds! I really wish I could call our stay at the Omni Berkshire Place perfect. However, spending two nights not sleeping well in a hard and bouncy bed is less than a perfect experience.

I was literally awakened each time my spouse turned over. The bed was the older type with springs that jiggle with one's every move. The mattress had a pillow top placed under the sheets, but that didn't make up for the lack of support. I have stayed in lower end hotels with much better beds.

So, the bed was a major negative, but there were so many positives. First, the rooms are large. We are a couple traveling with a young child and opted for the king bed with a rollaway, for which we paid extra. There was plenty of room for the rollaway, and we never felt crowded. The location is also excellent: It's just a block from 5th Avenue and close to many tourist sights. There's a subway station nearby and lots of inexpensive deli's and cafe's.

We also enjoyed little touches like free apples and free New York Times in the lobby, a welcome note from housekeeping and a welcome "gift" of cookies and chocolates. Our requests for extra pillows and linens were kindly granted. Our room was nice and clean. The service was great and the staff really friendly.

We got a nice rate on Hotwire, so we can't complain. However, Omni Management, I hope you are listening to this: I would not stay there again simply because the bed was so uncomfortable. It's time to "spring" for some new mattresses, if you'll pardon the pun!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alj1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

We appreciate your comments and regret that you were unable to get a good night's sleep while staying with us. We do take our guest feedback to heart and your comments help us to recognize where to focus our efforts when enhancing the hotel. If you do consider returning, we would be happy to work with you to provide anything additional that may make the beds more to your liking. Thank you for also taking the time to share your complimentary words about your experience. We hope for a future chance to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,953 - 2,959 of 4,159 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

Beautiful property. Fantastic and very helpful staff. As a Select Guest I was provided with a magnificent upgrade to a suite. The room was very well-appointed and decorated nicely. Very comfortable bed and bathroom. The rooms are spacious, very spacious. Full turndown services, every time I left and came back to my room it had been freshened up. Valet parked my, the Omni charged a very reasonable rate for midtown Manhattan. Excellent location to a wide variety of restaurants and 5th Avenue shopping. The bar/restaurant has good food choices and it is lively at night. A great place to stay for business.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

We are thrilled that you had another great Omni experience. Thank you for sharing all of your complimentary comments and we look forward to your next stay at an Omni Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great spot between Madison and 5th, 2 mins to Rock. Nice 10 min walk up to Central Park. Rooms nice, clean, good beds and bathrooms. Only complaint no coffee or tea making facilities in room. Staff all pleasant and friendly. Good deli directly opposite, just nip out for coffee and breakfast. Will return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bahrain_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in the summer for our 20 yr anniversary. The staff is amazing. The hotel is extremely clean and lovely. We were upgraded to a jr suite, had complimentary champagne and strawberries delivered to our room which was a pleasant surprise and definitely made our trip memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Omni Berkshire Place at Madison and 52nd is an ideal oasis for business or pleasure.
It is a short walk to Saks Fifith Avenue or to the three B's-Barney's, Bergdorf's or Bloomingdale's.
It is a breeze to check-in and even to get to your room, because there is a small lobby and two sets of elevators to your room- almost no waiting to get in or out of the hotel.
The Madison Avenue bus is two minutes away to take you up to 82nd street and the Metropolitan Museum or other museums on Museum row; you can walk to MOMA in about five minutes.
The concierge will book your theatre tickets or make a reservation at a nearby excellent reataurant. The rooms are sparkling, modern and comfortable and the amenities ( newspaper and coffee) delivered to your door every morning are delightful.( Join Omni Select Guest before you register and take advantage of this excellent program.) They will also have a limo take you to the airport at favorable rates.
I recommend this hotel unreservedly.Enjoy! Dr. KM Toronto

Room Tip: Join Omni Selct Guest in advance and this will help you get an upgrade. Speak to the front office ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmeloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great hotel. Good location and not to big. Staff was very pleasant and accomodating. Really like the extra perks you get when you are frequent guest; free clothes press, shoe shine and coffie delivered to your room each morning. I highly recommend them!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a marvelous visit! We were upgraded to a junior suite and treated royally! The room was fabulous, even though the view was lacking. We decided quiet trumped Madison Avenue. We too missed the coffee maker and called house keeping and one was delivered promptly. In addition, while we were at the opera (knocked opera at the Met off my bucket list!) they left a tray of chocolate dipped strawberries in our room. We are members of Select Guest and enjoyed the perks that go with that program.

Absolutely fabulous visit. I would love to return!

Room Tip: We requested and upper floor and off the main street for a quieter room. It worked out great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieMaySc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

We are delighted to read that you were well taken care of during your time at the Omni Berkshire Place. Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#82 of 473 in New York City
3,747 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#115 of 473 in New York City
4,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#72 of 473 in New York City
6,766 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Berkshire Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Berkshire Place

Address: 21 E 52nd St, at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022-5389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
#79 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $193 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Berkshire Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience enviable luxury at the Omni Berkshire Place located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Stay just steps from some of New York City's most notable attractions including Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Central Park, Broadway Theatres, and Times Square. Modern Technology and fresh contemporary decor are brought together for accommodations that embrace the look and feel of an Upper East Side residence. Luxury guestrooms combined with the renowned service and amenities make the Omni Berkshire Place an ideal destination for both business or leisure travelers looking to experience the excitement of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Berkshire Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Berkshire Place Hotel New York City
Omni Hotel Berkshire Place
Omni New York City
New York City Omni
Omni Berkshire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing