We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as good can get!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Berkshire Place
Ranked #102 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“As good as good can get!”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

High high end boutique hotel. Elegant in heart of City. Great value.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessPr0fessi0nal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thank you for your recommendation of The Omni Berkshire Place. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,257
    1,057
    291
    120
    59
See reviews for
1,146
1,206
140
686
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and yes, it was clean with a smart, efficient appearance, but there were some things that spoiled it, well for us anyway - mainly when we tried to eat or drink at this establishment. Room service (which was available) brought 2 chamomile teas to our room one evening, which we ordered, for which we were charged a staggering $22 - there was no appliance in the hotel room from which we could have made ourselves a cup of tea, needless to say, we didn't order room service again. Breakfast was not included in our hotel charge so every morning we headed over the road to Isadora's diner who, one must admit, did a reasonable breakfast at a reasonable price and they are open from very early. On our last day we decided to have breakfast in the hotel dining room. We knew we would have to pay but were astonished at the bill of over $100 - Isadora's diner could set us up for the day for just over $20. A few other points - the staff were helpful but not friendly - had smiling been trained out of them? except the doormen, who (maybe being out in the fresh air) were always pleasant, but then we did push a dollar in his hand every time he got us a cab. Our room was clean, but the bath plug did not work very well and emptying the bath water became a challenge, a small thing but irritating when one hopes to be away from such stresses on holiday. A daily rate for WiFi use in your room added even more to our bill (future guest please note: if you read the small print and join their loyalty scheme these charges can be avoided). This hotel does have a very good location but, overall, I would say that we were not comfortable in this 'comfortable' hotel and would not stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VFM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
We regret to read that your experience at our hotel did not live up to your expectations. One of the many reasons we read reviews is to assist us with pinpointing areas where we are in need of improvement and your constructive feedback will help us to do so. Please accept our apologies that your needs were not met during your time with us and we hope you will reconsider returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Very nice hotel, super clean, with friendly, helpful staff (all staff including the housekeepers, the front desk people, the bell men, the concierge and guest relations personel). Great location in a failry quiet street yet close to all the attractions and stores. It was our first time in NY celebrating new love and our birthdays. The hotel offered all that we requested including a higher floor, away from the elevator and I think we were upgraded to a premier room. They also celebrated with us by bringing us beautiful colorful balloons and a delicious red velvet cake. We felt very special and welcomed. We received attention as if we were the only ones in the hotel. Our three days stay seemed so short and ended very quickly. It was the best experience in NY and we are already talking about returning soon! We usually read reviews when planning a vacation so we hope this helps someone in picking a hotel in NY- a sincere review because we had a grand time at this hotel!!

Room Tip: Ask for your preference&the hotel may fulfill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandairene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Many thanks for your kinds words regarding The Omni Berkshire Place and our associates. We are elated that we could play a part in making your special weekend even more special. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

This is our second time staying at the Omni and I found it better than the last time and the last time was spectacular. The staff are very helpful and courteous, the hotel is chic and very upscale, the rooms were very modern and its location to Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Times Square was terrific. It was within walking distance also to some great restaurants and right across the street is a fabulous breakfast/lunch place that was very affordable. This is a great hotel with a great price! We definitely will be back.

Room Tip: Roomrates do come down a week or two before bking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linny53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We have just returned from a fabulous 6 night stay at the Omni Berkshire Place.

This trip was for a special birthday and we took our time in selecting our hotel and decided on the Omni Berkshire Place having had consistently exemplary service from other Omni Hotels in recent times.

We were not disappointed, and were greeted with a friendly and welcoming atmosphere from the moment that Barry checked us in on arrival until our departure.

Having previously joined the Omni Select Guest Programme (which is absolutely free and highly recommended) we were lucky enough to receive an upgrade on check-in to a specialty suite which in no small part was down to Evan Matzner the Loyalty Ambassador who had been in touch by email prior to our arrival.

The attention to detail by Evan was outstanding and made our stay extra special, our room was spotlessly clean, the staff throughout the hotel were courteous and welcoming and the hotel is in an excellent position to explore New York with easy access to the subway and it is only a very, very short walk to Fifth & Madison Avenues.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are considering a stay in New York where service, cleanliness and location are high on your list of priorities.

Room Tip: Join the Select Guest Programme for free wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alpinestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thank you for your loyalty to Omni Hotels and for choosing The Omni Berkshire Place to celebrate your special birthday. It will be our pleasure to pass along your compliments to Barry and Evan. We are fortunate to have them and appreciate the opportunity to recognize them for a job well done. We appreciate the time you took to write such a complimentary review and we hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Having stayed on previous trips in the Times Square area, this was a very pleasant improvement. The location was ideal for walking anywhere - right in the heart of the action but a quiet corner. We were in comfortable walking distance from the Met, Rockefeller, even walked home after a show on Broadway in no time at all.

The staff of the hotel were very good, without exception - helpful and friendly. Join the loyalty club (free) to get free wifi and even better, complimentary beverages each morning to your room. Proper coffee in the morning is a must.

Will definitely return to this hotel - great price for a well location, clean and well appointed hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDunphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
We are delighted that your first experience at the Omni Berkshire Place exceeded your expectations! Thank you for taking the time to share the details on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed the weeked of May 6th. Rooms were a good size, concierge very helpful. We checked in early but they were able to accommodate us without any problem. Just around the corner from Rockefeller Center - good location but quiet enough so you can get a good night's sleep. Windows were soundproof. Followed recommendation from other Trip Advisors to take advantage of Omni's Select Guest program and it was worth the trouble to sign up (2 free beverages per guest in the AM). Valet attendants were great - very helpful with directions. Parking was expensive, but that's New York. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
We are glad to hear that you would choose The Omni Berkshire Place for a future New York City getaway. Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#105 of 468 in New York City
1,780 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#82 of 468 in New York City
3,228 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 468 in New York City
4,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#94 of 468 in New York City
2,607 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Berkshire Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Berkshire Place

Property: Omni Berkshire Place
Address: 21 E 52nd St, at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022-5389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in New York City
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#67 Business Hotel in New York City
#83 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Berkshire Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience enviable luxury at the Omni Berkshire Place located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Stay just steps from some of New York City's most notable attractions including Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Central Park, Broadway Theatres, and Times Square. Modern Technology and fresh contemporary decor are brought together for accommodations that embrace the look and feel of an Upper East Side residence. Luxury guestrooms combined with the renowned service and amenities make the Omni Berkshire Place an ideal destination for both business or leisure travelers looking to experience the excitement of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelPower, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Berkshire Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Berkshire Place Hotel New York City
Omni Hotel Berkshire Place
Omni New York City
New York City Omni
Omni Berkshire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing