We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“big rooms , great location anodyne and tired ...........overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Ranked #95 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“big rooms , great location anodyne and tired ...........overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

rooms are great ..............large ............a real pleasure especially in new york
great bed , good linen ,nice amenities
the furnishings are tired............ quite a surprise from four seasons
television antiquated ............another unwelcome surprise
room service very mediocre and very expensive ............ staff are moribund, polite yet soulless
ate downstairs............it was like ronseal ........... they did what it said on the menu .......... nothing special except the price !

the hotel lacks soul ............it is very aloof , not snobby just everyone is so detached

the room and the size of the room are fabulous but shocked at the lack of investment

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffreymargolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsNewYork, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Wumbojumboworld,

I am sorry to hear about your lackluster experience during your stay. Your comments about our staff, pricing and the room product will be forwarded to senior management. We are happy to discuss with in greater detail via email if you would like.

Sincerely,
Tiffani Cailor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    208
    82
    41
    30
See reviews for
244
349
56
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were gifted a stay at the hotel (even though we live in NYC) which was very generous, but wish we'd saved the money for something else. Small rooms that aren't particularly nicely decorated, nominal views. The bathroom and closet was the best part of the room. We were left chocolates in our room as a gift (nice touch) but they weren't particularly good. Tiny spa, rooms are quiet, decent location but if you're going to spend over 1k a night for a room in NYC uptown think about the Mandarin Oriental.

Room Tip: try for a room with a view of the city or park, not of back of buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsNewYork, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Liz G,

Thank you for your constructive feedback about your stay with us. I will be sure to share your comments with our senior management. Would you like to speak to Sam Ioannidis, our hotel manager, about how we could have made your guest experience better?

Regards,
Tiffani Cailor, Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel was the epitome of luxury and impeccable service. My flight arrived in New York at 5am and I arrived at the hotel at 6am, only expecting to drop off my luggage. I had requested early check-in, but did not expect them to be able to check me into my room that early - but they did. I was let into my room at 6am. I was able to nap and shower and freshen up before a meeting at 11am. That detail alone made the experience completely worthwhile.

The room was very big, perfectly clean, and very luxurious. The location of the hotel is great, too. Just a short walk to Central Park.

I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erc421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsNewYork, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear erc421,

Wow! Thank you for your positive comments about our guest rooms and the service provided by our staff. It is always nice to hear such wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!!

Regards,
Tiffani Cailor, Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I've been in many FS hotels around the world and in most of them i had a great time. The rooms are big but the furniture is outdated and comparable to a 3 star hotel. Absolutely NOT WORTH THE MONEY SPENT. FS must renovate and beautify the depressing rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank stefano b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsNewYork, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear stefanob,

I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. We appreciate your review and will discuss your comments with our senior management. I am happy to set up a phone call with our hotel manager, Sam Ioannidis, to discuss in further detail. Would you like me to do that?

Regards,
Tiffani Cailor, Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there for six days very nice hotel I can't say more.
I wish it was near to the time square and other activities.
The central park view from the 44th floor is amazing.
Hotel room services and front disk are pro.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFirstLead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsNewYork, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear TheFirstLead,

Thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the service provided by our staff. We hope to welcome you back to New York City soon!

Regards,
Tiffani Cailor, Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moscow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great hotel. Fantastic location. Service was very helpful. Enjoyed the gym and spa. One of the best hotel that I stayed in NY. Stayed there just before the hurricane sandy. Best hotel with NY Palace that I stayed in NY.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garganoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsNewYork, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear garganoff,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about our service and accommodations! We appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Tiffani Cailor, Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parede, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Outstanding.
It is in difficult times that the best stand out.
Everyone at the Four Seasons NY did an excellent job to minimize the side effects of Sandy.
We were overwhelmed on their proactive planning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsNewYork, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Paulo G,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our staff during the storm! It was a rough time for everyone and we’re pleased to be able to help. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Tiffani Cailor, Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#20 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#62 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#32 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel New York

Property: Four Seasons Hotel New York
Address: 57 E 57th St, New York City, NY 10022-2081
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in New York City
#49 Business Hotel in New York City
#54 Family Hotel in New York City
#74 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#79 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel New York 5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star New York hotel living in this modern-deco landmark designed by famed architect IM Pei. Located on “Billionaire’s Row” at the city’s most prestigious address, between Park Avenue and Madison Avenue, you will be just steps from Central Park, world-class museums and theaters, and luxury shopping on 5th and Madison Avenue. Offering some of the largest guestrooms and suites in Manhattan, and some of the city’s most breathtaking views, a stay at the Four Seasons Hotel New York is gives you access to everything, including a quiet retreat when you need it. Infused with natural light, panoramic park and city views, your accommodation at the Four Seasons will provide you with serenity and luxury high above Manhattan’s exhilarating whirlwind. The newly transformed Four Seasons Hotel New York offers 368 ultra-spacious Manhattan luxury suites and hotel rooms, each a sanctuary with comforts more reminiscent of a private residence. All accommodations feature custom furnishings throughout; an inviting Infinity bed; full marble baths; and state-of-the-art technology. All guests enjoy complimentary access to our fitness center, twice daily, Housekeeping services with evening turn-down service, complimentary Wi-Fi, expedited Check-in & Checkout, courtesy of the Four Seasons App and Four Seasons Hotel New York Legendary Service . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter and Hotwire so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons New York City
New York City Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing