We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like Sleeping in An Unfinished Basement”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SIXTY LES
Ranked #153 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago
1 review
“Like Sleeping in An Unfinished Basement”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

Boy, I love a cool hotel, hip as they come. Sadly the Thompson LES was less than a comfortable, friendly stay. The cold service were matched by the cold starkness of the rooms. I dunno, it was just trying too hard to be THAT SoHo hotel. It just got it wrong .. felt like the hotel was more about itself than its guests. Sorry, can't recommend.

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PamelaVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    316
    125
    64
    37
See reviews for
171
397
100
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

This is a classic example of a sexy hotel with sexy staff. If you want that, here you go. If you want customer service, look elsewhere.
We arrived at 2:15pm after traveling in Thailand for 2 months. We were exhausted. One person was behind the counter. I waited with my backpack on my back (no bellman offered to take my bag) as two other parties checked in. When I got to the counter, the woman working (cold as ice) told me that our room was not ready. I asked her when it would be ready and she snapped, "3pm, that is check in time, after all". We left our bags and went to the second floor restaurant for lunch. At 3pm, we came back down to check in and surprise, surprise, our room was still not ready.
We were not in our room until 3:45. We sat in the lobby for 45 minutes watching others check in. It was not a great way to start.

Picky things about the room:
-The toilet seat wouldn't stay up, it would close on my husband as he was peeing which is obviously a messy situation.
-Their bath towels are tiny, when I wrapped it around myself after the shower, my butt hung out. Only one bathrobe per room and no slippers.
-Our shower door was broken, wouldn't shut, the seal/hinge was off
-Housekeeping "tidies up" your personal belongings every day, to me this just feels like someone has rifled through my belongings, I just want the room cleaned
-Only sushi for food. I love sushi but my husband does not, so he had no options.
-They charge $10 a day for internet. I strongly disagree with higher end hotels charging for internet, it's not costing them more per user, so charging more after you've already paid a lot for your room is an insult. However, if I am going to pay, I expect the internet to be fast. Their internet is not, we could not stream any video and websites loaded slowly.
-Bedside lamps have no switch, you plug/unplug them, seemed strange.

One of the most annoying things is the elevator key card situation. We were constantly missing our floor and watching the same thing happen to other people because the card reader wouldn't work properly. We rode up with an employee once who said the same, that it was always difficult and even she couldn't get it to work.

Today, the icing on the dumb elevator cake happened to my husband when he got in from his lunch. All of the elevators were broken and he had to walk up the 6 flights of stairs to our room. Thank goodness we weren't on a higher floor.

Our TV froze on a channel and a volume setting. We had to unplug it to turn it off.

The craziest experience I had here was this afternoon, when I placed a room service order at 2:30pm. A woman answered the phone once I hit "restaurant" and took my room service order. She even answered a second time when I called back to ask for ice and said no problem. At 4pm, I called back to see where my order was, after all, the only thing they serve is sushi, how long can it take to send me some raw fish? The man I spoke to at 4pm said there were no open room service orders. I explained that I had given my order to a woman who answered at 2:30 and he said that there was no woman working. The order was completely lost. It was nuts. I called the manager, apologized and sent me my order for half off. The whole thing was just so odd. It felt like I was in the Twilight Zone.

We are happy to be leaving this hotel early. Odd issues and overall, a cold staff. Great neighborhood, acceptable room, but nothing special about this operation and no one seems to care how your stay is.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karynmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

I can't imagine a better place to stay! I've stayed in many NYC hotels and Thompson LES tops them all. First off, the LES is my fave area so it was a prime location to all my favorite spots. The metro stop is RIGHT there which is huge, a great corner bar (Bar Epstein) just a few steps away. The staff were incredible...so helpful, friendly, and somehow all good looking! I had the most amazing room with a view that would bring a tear to your eye. The room was comfortable, clean, and the design details were wonderful...from the lightbox headboard to the dark hardwood floors, the floor to ceiling windows and cement ceiling, I loved it all. If you like funky, modern architecture, artistic detailing, a stylish but comfortable feel and great location you can't beat this spot. AND it was one of the better priced hotels I found in the city! Thanks Thompson LES for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lalena24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

Stayed here with my mid-20s son and we both thought the hotel was clean, stylish and good attitude by the staff.
My son loved it because there's young folks here and in the neighborhood, tiny bars and great pizza nearby.
I loved it because I've been to NYC a few times already and now I like to spend time getting to know a neighborhood and the LowerEastSide has a lot of history and some charming restaurants.
Subway stop less than a block away.
We'd both go back in a minute.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgalcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

I ended up at Thompson LES at the last minute (we're talkin' midnight without a reservation). Not only was I greeted by an extremely friendly reception and door staff, but was checked in quickly and whisked away to a corner room on one of the top floors.

The lobby is small but well designed, and there is a definitely club-like vibe (hipsters outside chain smoking around the clock). I also believe there is a rooftop pool, but since I checked in so late I went straight to bed.

The room was small but perfectly outfitted with a nice size bathroom complete with a huge rain shower head, a nice desk area, an extremely comfortable bed with huge down pillows, and floor to ceiling glass with incredible views of the city. I had a very restful night's sleep (I believe being on a higher floor helped) and was thankful for such a great last-minute find.

The location is a wee bit out of the way for me, but the hotel is worth it, particularly if you can snag a great last-minute deal like I did.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wgsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

Nice, spacious rooms, very good location for downtown/LES exploration.
Got an extremely smelly smokingroom upon arrival, even though we had booked a non-smoking room. No chance for a new room same day, got moved eventually late next day - resulting in smelly clothes and bad sleep. Also negative; no free wifi, expensive inroom movies ($15), poor room-service selection.
Front desk very visually attractive (think Rihanna), but not able to give understandable advise or appreciate complaints. The hotel oversells it's coolness; it's basically just a good hotell at a very good location with somewhat cooler rooms than the ordinary chain hotell.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2010

Love the location in the LES, staff are great ,especially the door/bellman. Restaurant is good, service excellent and I have booked suites at this hotel twice at a very good rate - sign up for their email notifications. Can be a bit noisy as the room doors can slam very loudly, but that is a minor kvetch.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#87 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#184 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#116 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Property: SIXTY LES
Address: 190 Allen St, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002-1418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Green Hotel in New York City
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
#116 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#126 Family Hotel in New York City
#161 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing