We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Independence Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added SIXTY LES to your Saves list
SIXTY LES
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE
Ranked #115 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Independence Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Sixty LES last week and had an awesome time! The staff was very helpful providing information about the hotel and places to go in the area and made sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. We watched the fireworks from the 7th floor patio and had a great view....one of the best Fourth of July Celebrations in a long time! The room was very clean and we had a nice lounge area where we had another couple over to share some Champagne:-) The next day we relaxed by the pool and were blessed with a beautiful sunny day. I want to say thank you to the entire staff for taking such good care of us and providing a perfect getaway.

Room Tip: We had a Studio room which was plenty quiet when we went to sleep. There was some sun coming in aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VonStrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgetzova, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear VonStrada,

From everyone here at Sixty LES, we are delighted to read your glowing recommendation of our property. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are happy to learn that our staff was so helpful during your stay and that you were able to take full advantage of our prime location. We really look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Tania Getzova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    279
    113
    58
    34
See reviews for
145
368
97
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Global
Level Contributor
162 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Nice size room for NY city. Nice pool area. Good service and stylish public spaces. Crowd was mainly 20-30 somethings, didn't see many families. Hotel doesn't have parking, but there are some good facilities nearby. The breakfast and room service offerings were excellent.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGlobalFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania G, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Gobal Finn Global,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. It is great to read that you enjoyed our hotel amenities and outlets, we are so happy to have Blue Ribbon’s delicious menu, and we are very proud of our outdoor pool (a rarity for Manhattan hotels). In regards to the parking - we do offer valet parking to our guests at a garage nearby. Thank you again for your review and we do hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Tania Getzova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I thought service would've fell off because of the new Sixty brand..but to my Surprise, the service and rooms are even BETTER! Love how the employees are on a first name basis with you- first class service. Definitely will be coming back to see Raul and Christian!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania G, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Victor R,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Sixty LES and that our staff was attentive and accommodating during your visit. Your feedback gives us a wonderful chance to acknowledge our bell staff team members, as I know they will be delighted to hear your positive comments. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Tania Getzova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great location and friendly staff. The pool is a definite plus and is probably what made the weekend worthwhile, but I wouldn't stay here otherwise. Additional plus factors: Blue Ribbon Sushi and the beer garden.

I've experienced few hotels in NYC having lived there for a few years, but decided to spring for this place since I didn't have any July 4th beach plans and because of a great deal on Gilt.com. Without the discounted rates, I don't think this place would be worth the price tag. We stayed in a King suite; the bed was really comfortable and the shower was awesome too. Overall, the decor of the hotel is also nice, but the hallways were super dark. If a hotel with a pool is your only criteria, and you don't mind splurging - this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjk0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania G, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear mjk0228m,

Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor! We are glad you enjoyed the pool, Blue Ribbon Sushi, beer garden, and our comfortable bed and bathrooms. We'd love to hear more about what aspects of your stay, in addition to the hallways, can be addressed to help ensure you have a fabulous stay if you choose to return at a non-discounted rate. Hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Tania Getzova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

After an overnight flight we arrived to the hotel early morning. We asked to the semi friendly ladies of the front desk for early check in. The front desk team promised to give as a call on our mobiles once the room (which we asked to be quiet) would be ready. The call did never come… The room we got (even though upgraded from the originally booked category) was definitely not quiet but apparently the only one available in the entire hotel for check in at 1pm. Unfortunately the room was just above the hotel pool where right the day of our stay happened to take place a very busy private pool party with many guests and loud music! Also the rooftop bar was closed for a private event. So neither bar nor pool accessible for regular hotel guests. A midnight room party by a horde of 18+ people topped our SIXTY LES experience. Positive comments: doormen very friendly and welcoming, location, room size.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greece2011188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania G, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Greece2011188113,

On behalf of the entire team of Sixty LES we would like to thank you for completing your review on Tripadvisor and sincerely regret to learn of the challenges you experienced during your visit. While we strive to offer the finest in restaurants and lounge options to our guests, this should never sacrifice your ability to get a good night’s sleep and awake refreshed. We are sorry we were not able to address this during your stay, and we would welcome an opportunity to discuss the issues faced further – please feel free to reach out to me directly.
Kind Regards,
Tania Getzova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The big positive point is the swimming-pool, very appreciated in hot June!
The rooms and the hotel are really comfortable, and design. The location is nice in lower East side, but it is not as central as 5th avenue. However it s easy to take the subway or the taxi to get in the different places. I think this is the perfect place to stay at in Summer.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClemenceLyon_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I used to love this hotel, there it goes they lost a loyal customer! So overall I'm rating my last stay so poorly because of the pool staff. Of course it was a hot day in July and my boyfriend and I wanted to spend it by the pool. Everything was great until 3 pm. After 3 pm the sun deck does not get much sun besides this particular corner spot where I wanted to move since I was trying to get a tan. However Ashley (who works there and is responsible for making the pool beds) told me that a lady that just showed up requested that specific sunny bed. I told her that I am a guest of the hotel and have been waiting for people to leave so I can move to that bed. She didn't allow me. It turned out that person who took the bed is a friend of one of the managers at the hotel (I think so it was a blonde lady dressed all in black who obviously worked there)!!!! This person was not even staying at the hotel she just dropped by to say hi to her friend (the manager) and she took the best spot!!! Really???? Keep it up! With such hotel policy soon you will have NO paying guests at all and will only have friends coming to the hotel for FREE! Ashley tried to tell me that people were not allowed to reserve beds! Then how come this was reserved for someone else???? I was really disappointed. On top of that the service at the bar was horrible! The girl was rude and unattentive! She kept messing up my orders and guess what? In the end I was charged with 20% grat!!! And trust me I don't mind tipping but this was not a well deserved tip! Maybe that's why the service is so bad, the staff know they will get their tip so why bother to actually do a decent job. The previous day we had an excellent service at the pool bar and the grat was only 18%. Go figure! Maybe on Tuesday is 18% and Wednesday 20%? My boyfriend and I were planning to book a room for one more night but after the entire incident we just left and we are def not coming back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GiaAlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgetzova, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear GiaAlen,

We are saddened to hear that there was such a striking difference between the excellent service you received at the pool on Tuesday and the unprofessional service you received at the pool on Wednesday. We have spoken with the parties involved, in order to ensure future guests have an exceptional experience. While the occurrence was unfortunate, we do want to take the time to thank you for posting a review and letting us know.

Sincerely,
Tania Getzova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#53 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#113 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#110 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#140 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#91 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#176 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Property: SIXTY LES
Address: 190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
#89 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#127 Family Hotel in New York City
#162 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing