We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean & Crisp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SIXTY LES
Ranked #128 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean & Crisp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We were treated very well by staff, great location for us. Liked the "dimming" picture and the way it reflected off mirror. No ice machine on floor but promptly brought us ice when requested. It was quiet. Only complaint was construction put a damper on going to the on-site club gym. Couldn't get a couples massage either due to room constraints. Room service was good.

Room Tip: ask for some view of the les, we only saw condo construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    288
    118
    58
    34
See reviews for
152
375
97
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a junior suite, which was more than enough room. Cool decor, sleek decor, and hip staff. Used the gym in the morning and while a little small, it was well equpped and actually quite busy -- Sixty LES guests like to stay fit and look good!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shewski21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

we stayed mid june for 4 nights as ageing wannabe hipsters.
we'd booked a queen room which frankly was way smaller than those clever wide angle lenses professional web photographers use made it look on the site.
we moaned to a receptionist. the hotel was full on that first night but we were told we could upgrade to a king size for the thurs-sat nights for $30/night. fine, lets do that.
very helpful young lady dealt with two somewhat cranky brits, both tired and emotional after long flight, with great aplomb and style. she went beyond our expectations as when we moved to our new room 24 hours later, we found ourselves in a corner king with balcony on the twelfth floor with fantastic views of wtc to the south and uptown and empire state skyline to the north. awesome. bags had been moved so it was all seamless.
so thanks NIKKI (i think)..
take note hoteliers, all reception staff should be as good as this.
attitude of all staff was good especially the guys on the door.
its not a bad hotel this though it's charging uptown prices in a downtown location...though to balance that, the pool was nice to relax by before our flight home and nikki made sure we could have a shower in the spa before our flight at 10pm.
we go to nyc once a year and always stay somewhere different...that may change now.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djs890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I actually live in the neighborhood a few blocks away, so I can tell you that this hotel is very well positioned if you want to explore the East Village, Lower East Side, and also various trains are nearby for excursions beyond the region. It's also walking distance to SoHo etc and other things you may be looking for.

I have been using this hotel while having issues with my landlord and apartment. I initially picked this hotel because it had reasonable prices and last minute availability on a Saturday night, a rarity for Manhattan.

But when I needed a hotel room for the same reason I went right back. The service is great and the rooms are comfortable. Highly recommended.

..unless if you want total peace and quiet on the streets, at which point you should not be staying in this area of town anyway!

Room Tip: I found all of the rooms satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania G, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear John R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Our team strives to make SIXTY LES feel like a home away from home; we are happy to hear that you are comfortable returning to us when this is literally the case. We are very fortunate to be located in such a lively and authentic area of the city, and to have the generous support of locals like you!

Kind Regards,
Tania Getzova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had a great stay at Sixty Les: firstly I was assisted by Heidi through my booking for special requests. As I read some reviews saying that some people found the rooms noisy I was a bit worried - need not to be! Heidi made sure we got a lovely large, quiet room (LITERALLY NO NOISE AT ALL!) with good views and were well looked after ...

Sam at reception (check in) was more than helpful and I cannot fault any of the other staff - all very helpful and nice. The gentlemen at the door were wonderful - whether helping with the taxis or bookings or luggage.

We had the most enjoyable stay with some small touches like chocolates in our room each day and fully filled mini fridge were all brilliant.

The facilities were great (new/clean), the décor was very nice (in particular we liked the photo picture above the bed and the wooden floor, nice bathroom, shower etc) and the floor to ceiling windows.

Again, Heidi and the Team thanks for your great care you've taken of us and a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for nice quiet room if you care about street noise etc..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustineR78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Formerly the Thompson LES, the Sixty LES continued to provide great, personal service. I've been staying at this hotel for several years, and the quality of the hotel (staff turnover appears to be very low) brings me back consistently. With the subway across the road, you can in Midtown in 15-20 minutes. Meanwhile, you're in walking distance of SoHo, NoHo, TriBeCa and Chinatown/Little Italy. I never tire of exploring the Lower East Side!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania G, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Joshua F,

Thank you for sharing your SIXTY LES experience on TripAdvisor, and for your continued loyalty. We are delighted to read your recommendation of our property. Our entire team looks forward to welcoming you back again and again!

Warm Regards,
Tania Getzova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Great location, nice rooms and a reasonable size for NYC. Only let down by free wifi only available in the lobby and lounge. For USD 450/ night I think wifi in room could be included. Good cocktails too!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#80 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#111 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#116 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#135 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,232 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#95 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,985 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#79 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Property: SIXTY LES
Address: 190 Allen St, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002-1418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#127 Family Hotel in New York City
#162 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing