We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cool hotel, perfectly situated for the foodie” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SIXTY LES
Ranked #139 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool hotel, perfectly situated for the foodie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

A very trendy, very "New York" style boutique hotel. Staff were polite if not overly chatty, however, the service was great. We had a late check out confirmed with no issues the day before we departed and a stray minibar charge removed from the bill with no questions asked. The room itself was small but very funky and functional. We'd also been given a high floor on request and the view of the Manhattan skyline was simply stunning. The best part of this hotel for us though was the amazing location in the Lower East Side. Although we roamed around Manhattan and even into Brooklyn to see sights and museums, nearly all of the places we wanted to eat and drink at were within walking distance of the hotel. It was our first trip to New York but we were very glad to have lucked out and not be staying in tourist-packed Midtown. The most number of metro stops we had to take was just two, and there is a station right across the road.

The only issues we really had were that housekeeping staff seemed to ignore the privacy sign we hung out each night, several times knocking on the door - if we'd been sleeping in this would definitely have woken us up. I was also not a fan of the shower, which was a combination rainfall shower with absolutely no water pressure, and a waist-height detachable shower head. It may have just been us or our room but we found it difficult to get the temperature right.

Overall a great hotel that I'd gladly return to and recommend to others. Next time I'd upgrade to a room with a bath, which would have come in handy after pounding the New York pavement each day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vath23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania G, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor – we are very fortunate to be located in such a vibrant neighborhood with an array of bars and restaurants all walking distance from Sixty LES. I am sorry to learn that you were inconvenienced by our Housekeeping staff and that you felt the water pressure from the shower was too low.
I sincerely appreciate your candid feedback and have shared your comments with our operational team. Please reach out to me directly, as I would be more than happy to assist with a reservation with a comfortable room that includes a deep soaking bathtub on your next stay.
Best regards
Tania Getzova /General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    301
    119
    63
    34
See reviews for
159
383
98
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we entered this hotel the staff made us feel so welcome. The reception girls were so helpful and friendly and we were so happy to get an upgrade. The concierge was very helpful with great recommendations for restaurants near by. Special mention to the bell boys who always welcomed us on our return and often even getting the lift for us. This hotel is very trendy with a great vibe going on at all times. Loved having a drink at the roof top bar with amazing views of the Empire State Building. Our room was spacious and very modern and clean. Lower East is definitely filled with character and so much to see and do from this location. Would definitely stay here again if we get the chance to come back to New York.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suefromballarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Director of Front Office at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Suefromballarat,

From the entire Team here at Sixty LES a very big thank you for your nice revue on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to read that you felt comfortable and also that you were able to enjoy our Roof Top Bar with its amazing view over the city. We are very fortunate to be in such a great location.

We are very much looking forward welcoming you back in the nearest future.
Sincerely
Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

I recently stayed here for my birthday and thought the hotel was quite trendy. It was a quick trip, as we only stayed one night. The location was perfect for our agenda and the views from our room balcony (on the twelfth floor) of freedom tower and the empire state building were fabulous. For visitors, that would be a huge plus if a view is what you're looking for. The room itself was very clean and generally quiet. The bed and pillows were SO comfortable, I love a firm mattress! The pillows were also fluffed for perfect neck support. The bathroom had a strange faucet on the sink that seemed to need an extra push to turn on, but otherwise had no issues. The overhead shower was also fabulous, I almost didn't want to get out. The staff were also professional and courteous, no issues checking in or out. I would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the NY area and looking to stay downtown in the LES/ Soho area.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and less noise from the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Director of Front Office at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Carol426,

Thank you so much for taking your time and writing such a great and detailed review about Sixty LES.

We are very happy to read that you had a great stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you are planning to come back.

Sincerely
Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just back after a week there: the pros:
- the location, if you like to be in a trendy place, with very good restaurants, cafes...close by, hard to find better. If you want to discover NY but more areas like SOHO, the East Side, Williamsburg...clearly stay in that hotel and/or in all case don t move north above the 14sth...
Other positive about the location, 2m from the subway which is not always the case in that part of NY!
- the room: modern, nice, convenient
- the staff: helpful, friendly....
- The cons: as far my experience..none ...I trust some guys who said it was awful due to the noise, if you want a quiet place, when you book just ask the staff for a room not close to the bar. It is just simple as that. You can blame them for something you don t ask. And if you have a room that is not close, be sure you won t be distrubed. I was there on Friday, on Saturday nights..It was very quite and we slept extremely well, give the quality of the bed too!!

Room Tip: In Manhatan rooms can be noisy : close to the big machine for air con, close to the street level, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thibault C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Director of Front Office at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear thibault C,

It is with great pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Sixty LES. Thank you very much for sharing your experience you had on Tripadvisor.

We would be very much looking forward welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Best regards
Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

so noisy at night, felt i was in a youth hostel, after complaining at 01.00 am, security said that it was written on the site that the lounge/club closes at 01.30 am. Well finally at 02.30 music went down and at 03.30 people started to come home and made a lot of noise while entering their rooms, never ever again I will be visiting this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nadine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Director of Front Office at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Nadine V,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent experience with us.

We are very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations as your experience is certainly not a typical one at Sixty LES. We do offer many great rooms that are not affected by the noise from Above Allen.

Next time your plans bring you to our area, please reach out to me directly at hengelmann@sixtyhotels.com, and I will personally ensure you have a wonderful experience.

Warmest regards
Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I rarely write reviews on hotels but I regularly stay at this hotel while in NYC (I currently reside in Miami) and felt it important to share my experience with this property. I have stayed here approx 20 nights over the past 60 days and must say that my time as a guest has been simply Wonderful. The staff and accomodations have been terrific from the bellman to the housekeepers to the senior management. I'm usually a difficult customer because I've travelled quite a bit, and I have been a bit spoiled...but this hotel has had the perfect level of privacy, luxury, and style. I enjoy the 24 hour sauna and Blue Ribbon food too. I also happen to love the location to all of Manhattan (especially downtown) and its proximity to great coffee at Konditori (downstairs) and across the street from the subway. This hotel Rocks!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania G, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
On behalf of the entire team at SIXTY LES Hotel, we thank you for sharing the details of your most recent visit to our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased you had such a comfortable stay during your extended visits. We are delighted that you were able to take advantage of the hotel amenities and also of the surrounding area.
We look forward to welcome you back as our guest in the nearest future!
Warm regards,
Tania Getzova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Really nice and cosy hotel. The room was really warm with cool modern decoration. Located in a great place just a few blocks from legendary Broadway and all major stores you still can have a great quite sleep. Stuff is really polite and free coffee to go to all clients in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Freedom Tower for a nice view to the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania G, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We are so grateful for your feedback, and we thank you for taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you had such an enjoyable stay at SIXTY LES and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Tania Getzova /General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#100 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#105 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#130 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#128 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#59 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#94 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Property: SIXTY LES
Address: 190 Allen St, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002-1418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Green Hotel in New York City
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#127 Family Hotel in New York City
#162 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing