We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay, but not on par with other Thompson hotels”
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SIXTY LES
Ranked #158 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Decent stay, but not on par with other Thompson hotels”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed here for a three day stay in December. The hotel decent: clean, about the size you'd expect from a comparably priced hotel in NYC. However, many of the touches that make a decent stay a great stay were missing. The desk staff were professional, but certainly not friendly. On two occasions I asked for assistance (once to reactivate my room key, once for change) and both times felt like the staff were irritated by my request. A few missing amenities, such as a coffee maker or iron in the room, were also surprising. However, the concierge staff were fantastic and very helpful with restaurant reservations and reccos before my stay. The location is also fantastic. However, on my next trip I will be trying out a different boutique hotel in the area, as I feel no need or desire to return to this one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleyavd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    324
    127
    66
    37
See reviews for
176
404
102
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I absolutely loved staying at the Thompson LES! The rooms are clean and feel larger than most NYC hotel rooms because of the great windows/views. The bathroom is modern, spacious and clean - waterfall shower is awesome! The service/staff is kind and accommodating. The in-house restaurant, Blue Ribbon, has amazing sushi (try the oxtail fried rice). I extended my stay by a night because I didn't want to leave. I definitely recommend this hotel!

...AND the balcony on the corner king room that I stayed in wrapped around the building and gave me a direct view of both the Empire State Building and the Williamsburg Bridge - beautiful!

Room Tip: I enjoyed the rooms facing west (balcony is great).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMW1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Thompson LES was a fabulous experience and part of a wonderful trip to NY. Great views, very helpful staff, and they gave us an amazing room in the corner of the hotel with a beautiful view of midtown and the financial district. So many hotels in NY, but we keep coming back to this one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobyan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Solid choice, always have last minute bookings. Prices are also very reasonable.

Staff attentive and remember you.

Rooms spacious and comfortable. Not my favourite part of town but easy access to trendy restaurants and subway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We went to the Thompson LES for our 10th wedding anniversary. We were greeted warmly by the hotel staff and were unexpectedly upgraded to a beautiful suite. The room was super clean and quite romantic! We were surprised later by a bottle of champagne and an accompanying hand written card congratulating us on 10 years from the staff! They made our stay in NYC such a treat and we would highly recommend this spot to anyone visiting the city. It was convenient to all we hoped to do around town - easily accessible to the subway and plenty to do on foot around the area. It was such a treat!

Room Tip: We were overlooking Brooklyn, which was just fine by us, but I'm sure there are some great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jroseMontclair_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My wife and I try to visit NYC a couple of times a year. We had stayed in many different places over the years, with varying results-we stayed at Thompson LES shortly after it opened, and it was by far the best place we had ever stayed in. We now try to stay there each time we visit NYC, as the rooms, service, and Blue Ribbon sushi on the premises, makes it impossible to beat. An anecdote as to how great their service is- I managed to get a $185.00 ticket from a NJ trooper for not using my turn signal changing lanes on I-78 as we drove into town(we had our cruise set at the speed limit and out seat belts on-I guess he was trying to protect the cars flying around us!) My wife mentioned it to Miguel, who was working behind the desk who asked how our drive had been- he insisted on upgrading our room and gave us free drinks in the 7th floor bar that night! The point is the staff at Thompson LES not only asks you how you are doing and if there is anything they can do for you- they genuinely care and want to make your stay the best it can be.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJw1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I've stayed at both 60 Thompson and Thompson LES in the past year and on both occasions have found them excellent. The staff are utterly charming and accommodating, the rooms are the perfect size and extremely well appointed, and the beds are heaven. Restaurants in both venues are also exceptional. You get a lot of bang for your buck, and my only reservation would be the high charge for internet access, but I have a beef about this with all hotels - why oh why can it not be standard offering, or at least, a simple couple of dollars at best. Do not hesitate to try either of these out, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidcot73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#95 of 466 in New York City
604 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#87 of 466 in New York City
643 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#180 of 466 in New York City
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#186 of 466 in New York City
683 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#138 of 466 in New York City
941 reviews
Lower East Side
Orchard Street Hotel
Orchard Street Hotel
#322 of 466 in New York City
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Property: SIXTY LES
Address: 190 Allen St, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002-1418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
#58 Green Hotel in New York City
#121 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#125 Family Hotel in New York City
#160 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing