We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip boutique hotel for excellent price”
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SIXTY LES
Ranked #160 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
NZ
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hip boutique hotel for excellent price”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This place is lovely, wayyyy too cool for me but cool enough not to make me feel bad about that. We did have to ask for toiletries to be replaced and the room has no kettle or other facilities, but there are 24/7 diners all around so this wasn't a problem. Would be great if the room itself had a mirror in it, but there were two in the bathroom. It was v good value for money in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldylocksNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    328
    129
    66
    38
See reviews for
180
407
102
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Totally cool in every way -- the room, the staff, the location. Speaking from years of experience, I think it's by far the best hotel in its class in New York City. Didn't do breakfast or the spa, but the sashimi and sushi are fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
“Best hotel in its class!” Thank you very much for the great compliment. We’re all very glad you had a great time, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Booked a great last minute instant deal from Priceline. We stayed on a Sunday and got a corner room on the 17th floor with amazing view. Very modern and chic decor. Front desk staff was sure friendly and helpful in guiding us to the nearest hot spots. Super close to Chinatown and great eateries of all types.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hhuynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

with two twenty something daughters in tow the thompson les was perfect== all their friends seemed to be just blocks from the hotel and brooklyn is right across the williamsburg bridge--also the thompson has a rarity in that part of town-- rooms with two double beds-- which was great for sisters ---rooms and service outstanding great staff and 81/2 looping in the elevator was a great touch....enjoy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Super trendy in great NYC neighborhood location. Can walk through many neighborhoods nearby including lower east side, soho, noho, nolita, little italy, and chinatown without feeling like you're caught in tourist traps everywhere. The hotel has a rooftop pool, rooftop bar, and beergarden. Fantastic amenities in the city in addition to a trendy atmosphere throughout. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westlean807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We picked the Thompson LES because we love the Lower East Side and wanted a well located base from which to walk around the neighbourhood; it's also been pretty hot, so we were after a hotel with a pool.

Service here was good; we were swiftly helped with a room change after finding our first room seeming a bit smokey (perhaps from being a bit too close to the pool area, or something wrong with the A/C). All our requests were dealt with really well; late check-out, cabs, etc. One disappointment was that we were mistakenly charged twice for our stay, but this was corrected courteously.

The room sizes are good for NYC; a little dark and moody (perhaps just from being on the East side of the building in the afternoon), but enough space to get a bit of work done during the day. Overall the rooms we saw were clean, well maintained, and everything seemed quite new. Noise from the neighbourhood was well sealed out.

The pool was a welcome relief from the heat, but ... it's got it's limitations; it's only waist deep, not for laps, will only get sun in the mornings, and was excessively crowded during our stay (a bit of a let down as we'd hoped to get more out of the pool).

Above Allen was excellent, and a good place to bring colleagues and friends for a drink with view across town. Glad we tried out the Thompson LES.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GilbertoAndJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Thompson LES. Its a really great hotel. The rooms are clean and modern, and well laid out. Its a really quiet hotel. The roof top bar is fantastic on a hot afternoon to have a drink and watch the sunset over the New York skyline. The gym was good and clean. Location wise its in a fantastic spot. Its across the road from a subway stop and easy to walk to great shopping, bars and restaurants.There is a fantastic 24 hr diner right next door (they do great breakfasts).We arrived in NY at Penn Station and just walked to a nearby subway (34th) and caught the F line subway straight to the Thompson LES (MTA 2nd Ave) with our suitcases. There was no problem with our early check in.The staff were fantastic at assisting us in booking dinner and providing us with advice on our future travel and logistics within the US. Its not the cheapest option but definitely great service and a real nice feel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desiree_OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#89 of 467 in New York City
638 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#80 of 467 in New York City
649 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#132 of 467 in New York City
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#167 of 467 in New York City
692 reviews
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#165 of 467 in New York City
1,404 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#123 of 467 in New York City
3,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Property: SIXTY LES
Address: 190 Allen St, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002-1418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Green Hotel in New York City
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
#121 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#124 Family Hotel in New York City
#159 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing