We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in the heart of NYC!”
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SIXTY LES
Ranked #157 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Beautiful hotel with great views of the city! look to the north and youll have an amazing view of the Empire State Building!! Look southwest and you'll be staring at The beautiful Freedom Tower. The staff was amazing and very accommodating! Upgrading our room to a spectacular Room with a balcony! Room size was really good for NYC we had plenty of room for our 2 adults and 1 child. I would stay here again in a New York minute!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeylikes79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

We’re so glad you were able to experience the view from our upper floors. It really is great, isn’t it?

We love receiving requests from guests, so if having a great view is something important to you, please let us know in advance so we can’t make it happen.

See you again soon!


All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
There are newer reviews for SIXTY LES
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Would highly recommend. The room was superb, very hip vibe. Maybe my favorite shower in a hotel ever. Bed was super comfortable, staff very courteous, and location perfect. Don't miss out on the pool!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter_ny_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Aren’t those rain showers great? Thank you very much for sharing.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel has many good things: all rooms are clean and modern (been to a few), the spa is good, you have a small swimming pool on the 3rd floor, and the stuff is friendly and helpful as it gets. The right word to describe the premises would be "COOL" – from the design to its guests to the rooms + once you leave the front door…. you get all the nice bars and restaurants.
Would stay there any time while visiting NY.

Room Tip: If you want silence, get the higher level rooms
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yoav H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you very much for the great review!

See you again soon!


All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Lower East Side, walking distance from SoHo. Metro on street corner. Everything for a great NY experience. Great service from concierge and front desk. Nice atmosphere, cool pool and bar.
Great views and some rooms with balcony. we had a balcony and had a great view on the east river and Empire State Building.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and pictures!

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel and were met with a young and attractive crowd in an area that is also filled with young and attractive restaurants. The hotel itself is an art piece and the individual rooms are more decked out in modern decor with floor to ceiling windows that give you a feel of the beautiful SoHo Skyline. The rooms aren't large, but what they lack in size they make up for in incredible design and decoration. I really enjoyed where I stayed. Overall this hotel is pretty amazing, and if you get the chance, you should try to book a room for a couple of nights. I only stayed for two, so I can't say anything for long stays, but the two nights I was here, I loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

We’re so glad to hear you had a wonderful time! Thank you very much for trying us out.

Please let us know when you’ll be returning, and we’ll set aside an extra special room for you.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed at the Thompson LES at the beginning of summer 2012. The hotel is way downtown which is alright I guess as the Lower East Side is pretty cool on weekends and evenings but if your business is uptown it's a bad idea. There is an italian place and a couple a delis right next to the hotel that are worth the try. When I got here my room wasnt ready even though I arrived long after check in time. The guy at the reception was a bit uptight. Not smiling at all and not very welcoming. The room was great and quite big, I was on the 3rd floor so didnt have a nice view but a small terrasse. The bed was comfortable and everything was mostly clean. Not much light coming in from outside. Room service was average.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fripouille715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Hi fripouille715!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. As it has been just about 12 months since you were last here, I strongly suggest you give us another try. I’m sure you will find that many things have changed and, as can been seen by many of the recent reviews on Trip Advisor, our current team is very passionate about creating wonderful, memorable experiences for all our guests.

With the our relaxing outdoor pool scene, Above Allen exclusive lounge, 24-hour fitness center and Blue Ribbon’s new Beer Garden outdoor terrace, we have plenty of options to keep many travelers entertained.

We do hope you’ll give us another try, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Although we passed a few hours the cancellation time of hotel reservation for the first day, they cancelled it easily. Even better, when we arrived the next day with our college graduate son, they upgraded our room to a fantastic suite. Very nice doormen and concierge and very good location in downtown. We were sorry that the pool was not open yet. We'll definitely go back to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grtsfrmistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Congratulations on the graduation! Our pool is now open for the season. Let us know when you’ll be returning, and we’ll try to get you another great upgrade!

See you soon


All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#82 of 468 in New York City
662 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#80 of 468 in New York City
663 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#152 of 468 in New York City
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#167 of 468 in New York City
696 reviews
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#176 of 468 in New York City
1,420 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#126 of 468 in New York City
3,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Address: 190 Allen St, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002-1418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Green Hotel in New York City
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
#120 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#123 Family Hotel in New York City
#158 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $285 - $663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing