We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty awesome!”
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SIXTY LES
Ranked #154 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel and were met with a young and attractive crowd in an area that is also filled with young and attractive restaurants. The hotel itself is an art piece and the individual rooms are more decked out in modern decor with floor to ceiling windows that give you a feel of the beautiful SoHo Skyline. The rooms aren't large, but what they lack in size they make up for in incredible design and decoration. I really enjoyed where I stayed. Overall this hotel is pretty amazing, and if you get the chance, you should try to book a room for a couple of nights. I only stayed for two, so I can't say anything for long stays, but the two nights I was here, I loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

We’re so glad to hear you had a wonderful time! Thank you very much for trying us out.

Please let us know when you’ll be returning, and we’ll set aside an extra special room for you.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
There are newer reviews for SIXTY LES
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

640 - 646 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed at the Thompson LES at the beginning of summer 2012. The hotel is way downtown which is alright I guess as the Lower East Side is pretty cool on weekends and evenings but if your business is uptown it's a bad idea. There is an italian place and a couple a delis right next to the hotel that are worth the try. When I got here my room wasnt ready even though I arrived long after check in time. The guy at the reception was a bit uptight. Not smiling at all and not very welcoming. The room was great and quite big, I was on the 3rd floor so didnt have a nice view but a small terrasse. The bed was comfortable and everything was mostly clean. Not much light coming in from outside. Room service was average.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fripouille715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Hi fripouille715!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. As it has been just about 12 months since you were last here, I strongly suggest you give us another try. I’m sure you will find that many things have changed and, as can been seen by many of the recent reviews on Trip Advisor, our current team is very passionate about creating wonderful, memorable experiences for all our guests.

With the our relaxing outdoor pool scene, Above Allen exclusive lounge, 24-hour fitness center and Blue Ribbon’s new Beer Garden outdoor terrace, we have plenty of options to keep many travelers entertained.

We do hope you’ll give us another try, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Although we passed a few hours the cancellation time of hotel reservation for the first day, they cancelled it easily. Even better, when we arrived the next day with our college graduate son, they upgraded our room to a fantastic suite. Very nice doormen and concierge and very good location in downtown. We were sorry that the pool was not open yet. We'll definitely go back to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grtsfrmistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Congratulations on the graduation! Our pool is now open for the season. Let us know when you’ll be returning, and we’ll try to get you another great upgrade!

See you soon


All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We just came back from a quick weekend getaway to celebrate our wedding anniversary and stayed at the Thompson LES which was recommended by a friend who stayed there last year. Thompson LES is a modern boutique style hotel located in the lower east side close to tons of amenities and restaurants -- and very convenient for us.

We stayed in a Queen Superior room and it was cozy and very clean. The only thing I can suggest is that they have more outlets to plug in phone chargers etc. on the desk. We had to plug ours into an outlet close to the floor next to the front door but that was not a big deal.

We were also waiting for a package to be delivered for Saturday but it arrived after we had departed but thankfully, Matt at the Concierge sent me an email notifying me of this package so I made arrangements to have him ship it to another address for us.

Aside from this, we were greeted with courtesy by all staff everyday and was always offered assistance even when we didn't ask.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SugarMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Happy Anniversary! We’re glad we were able to make it a memorable one for you and we hope to see you again for the next one!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed a night at the Thompson hotel after my wedding in NYC. After the staff found out that we got married, we received a complimentary upgrade to a fantastic suite, with sweeping views of New York from the balcony.

The room was very well kept, had some lounge chairs on the amazing balcony and was very spacious. Free coffee, nice lounge area and a extremely comfortable bed ensured that we had a great night before embarking on our travels.

The service was flawless, as the check-in was quick and the check-out effortless. Great stay, fantastic location and I would definitely recommend anyone staying here. The only point of critique would be the bar at the hotel. We walked in on a Friday night for a drink after dinner, but it looked more like a drunken frat party than a classy hotel bar.

When we went back to our room we had a nice little hand written card and bottle of champagne from the GM waiting for, so we quickly forgot that little hick-up while sipping champagne on our private balcony!

Difference between a good stay and a fantastic stay is in the little things and they definitely have those right in this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teuntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

What a great review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We do love to make special occasions as memorable as possible, so please don’t hesitate to let us know if you are celebrating something special.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Really liked this hotel. Found a deal for a good-sized room and was very impressed with the room. Perhaps the biggest plus was the windows were solid that there was a full team of construction workers across the street with crains and other assorted loud equipment and I never heard a peep.

Bathroom and shower was great as were the bed.

The "F" train is right across the street so making it uptown is really easy. The only bad news is that cabs are scarce on Allen Street so you have to walk up to Houston if you want one in most cases, but that's it.

Really nice stay.

Room Tip: Look on deal sites. Get biggest room on your budget, trust me.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slinzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Our windows definitely do hold back a lot of the street/construction noise that is so common around the city. If a good night’s rest is what you’re seeking, we can certainly accommodate you. We also have some rooms located in the more “lively” areas of the hotel, so please be sure to let us know your preferences when make a reservation, and we’ll make it happen for you.

Excellent tip with cabs, too, but we can always help. Our Door Attendants are fairly skilled at getting cabs, so please don’t hesitate to ask them to help out anytime your in a rush for that morning meeting.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed three girls in two queen beds. Service excellent. Met us at the door; friendly; prompt. The room is slightly smaller but uses amazing use of space! PS. most hotel rooms are this size in NYC and smaller. They really thought of everything to maximize space, including all custom cabinetry that turns into bench seating etc. The smartest part about the room is the separated rain shower, from the closed in toilet area, and separated sink area.
This allows multiple people to get ready all at once.
Close walking distance to wonderful bakeries, restaurants, and nightlife. Also close to subway if needed (we walked in high heels easily a couple of blocks to restaurants).
Will return again.
(PS. If you're sharing a room with people you don't know very well, you may want to take note of the lack of a bathroom fan). Although its not really a huge deal, as the toilet is enclosed in a separated frosted glass room area.)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckwith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Sounds like you had a really great week with the girls!

Please let me know the next time you’re coming to the city for a girl’s week out, and I’ll try to make a suite happen for you.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#82 of 468 in New York City
668 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#79 of 468 in New York City
665 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#146 of 468 in New York City
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#189 of 468 in New York City
698 reviews
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#171 of 468 in New York City
1,421 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#125 of 468 in New York City
3,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Address: 190 Allen St, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002-1418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Green Hotel in New York City
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
#117 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#123 Family Hotel in New York City
#158 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $283 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing