We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Modern edge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SIXTY LES
Ranked #139 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Modern edge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I've been to Thompson LES several times between 2012-2013 and I've enjoyed my stay every single time. The hotel is gorgeous, the staff is super friendly & helpful and the location is ridiculous. I've been in rooms with and without the baloney and the views from their floor to ceiling windows are amazing. Make sure to ask for specials on the rooms when you check-in, it'll make your stay even more special.

Room Tip: Spend the little extra on the larger rooms/suite. It's worth the money when you're staying a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathiee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review and the helpful tip for travelers. Our rooms with balconies really are amazing, especially the King Suite Terrace.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    301
    119
    63
    34
See reviews for
159
383
98
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

From the moment the doorman helped wirh our luggage and the registration staff greeted us we felt comfortable. I'm not cool but the hotel is -- it definitely has that edgy fun decor. What usually goes with that is a cooler reception. Not true at the Thompson LES. Staff went out of their way to ask what I wanted and do whatever they could not just once but throughout our stay. The restaurant was very good and again the service warm and exceptional. Sushi by night and classic Americana for breakfast. The capuccina was fantastic and impressed my daughter, a former barista, so much it became her daily pleasure. Try the pancake too!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmtravelpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
What a wonderful review! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I spent a recent long weekend with a friend at the Thompson; our reason for choosing the hotel initially was based on location, as my friends brother lives 2 blocks from the hotel. I was so impressed with the amenities and service at the Thompson. The room was relatively spacious (for New York) and very modern, minimalist and yet at the same time lux. Service was great, the restaurants and shops in the immediate area were abundant ( including Katz's and Russ and Daughters) and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickyk k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
We’re so glad you enjoyed your experience!

With comfortably sized rooms, a full-service restaurant, lively lounge, in-room mini-bar, outdoor pool and bar (seasonal) and a 1,200 square-foot fitness and renewal center that offers massages, facials and body treatments, we hope that we have something for everyone to enhance their Thompson LES experience.

It’s also great to see that you were able to get out into the Lower East Side and enjoy this great neighborhood.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Thompson LES doesn't disappoint!
Located in Manhattan's Lower East Side(LES) - the Thompson LES is conveniently situated for the city traveller looking for a chic hotel in walking distance to hot spots of downtown NYC. Minutes from the Subway, and steps from amenities such as Starbucks and Whole Foods Market.
Thompson LES has a modest, modern curb appeal which opens up to a sleek contemporary interior which boasts sexy guest suites featuring walk-in showers with rain head showers and large balconies showcasing the NYC skyline.
Staff at the Thompson LES are professional, welcoming and more than happy to assist guests with directions, recommendations, and any personal requests that make your stay more enjoyable.
Having been familiar with the Thompson Hotel - the LES doesn't disappoint.
For your next trip to NYC, treat yourself to the Thompson LES!

(Toronto, Canada)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jutperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the great, detailed review! We’re so glad we were able to make your experience a memorable one.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The following is my ammended feedback to a third-party booking service (Hotel Tonight) with whom I had earlier in the week shared a 'sideways' experience at Thompson LES:

Original Message Hey - just want to give a quick shout out to Joe Kavanaugh, director of rooms at the Thompson LES (NYC) for going out of his way to 'make up' for an unfortunate stay a few nights back at an otherwise great property. In response, my wife and I were treated to a King Terrace upgrade last night offered by Joe at the HT Queen Standard advertised rate of $279. This was a serious upgrade from a gent that truly owed us nothing.I also would like to thank the good folks at HT for communicating my review to Joe - totally unexpected, but great to know how invested you are in the quality of your customers' experience.Thanks again to all.

Hopefully, this is taken as a positive review to those considering LES as a place to stay.

You will be taken care of.

T&S

Room Tip: You are choosing a great place in a vibrant, active and hip area so yes, the volume is up at times r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrowPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review and your kind words. I’m really glad we were able to show you a great time.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I've stayed at the LES twice and had a great experience both times. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. They are a bit dark but this seems to be the trend for hip hotels. I've never eaten at the restaurant but I'm sure it's good. The location is totally not touristy but still convenient . It's around the corner from a huge Whole Foods, Katz' Deli and of course, the LES. You can also walk to Soho or the East Village. Overall, I think you get good value for your money at the LES.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SF_BoHo_Wink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your loyalty.

It’s really great to see guests coming back again and again. Now that you’re a regular and know our hotel well, please reach out to me personally so that I may update your profile with any preferences you might have related to room location, room type and amenities. Anything that will help continue to make the Thompson LES feel like your home away from home.

We look forward to welcoming you back for the third time soon.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
englewood,nj usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

my husband and i were looking for an overnight getaway. we chose the THOMPSON LES, for its reviews and location. what a good decision. we had a wonderful time. the hotel is so sleek and sexy in design. everyone was polite and efficient. at night we dined in their sushi restaurant, and in the morning we walked toured the area and had brunch in a nearby cafe. we felt completely satisfied with this property, and our experience. we will do it again, soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui13_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for such a nice review.

We’re so glad that you chose to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you very back soon for another wonderful experience.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#100 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#105 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#130 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#128 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#59 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#94 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Property: SIXTY LES
Address: 190 Allen St, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002-1418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Green Hotel in New York City
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#127 Family Hotel in New York City
#162 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing