We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Feeling Important” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SIXTY LES
Ranked #126 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, Michigan
1 review
“Feeling Important”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

As a life-long New Yorker - until 2 years ago - I never really stayed in NYC hotels.
Ive been to plenty hotel bars, but never the rooms ;)

However, now that I moved out and come back for work - I finally get to see what I was missing.

The Thompson LES was all - class. Rooms weren't big - but they were sleek, modern and chic. I was definitely digging it.

Plus Blue Ribbon Sushi was in the building. Seriously.
They even honored the "buy-back" which blew my mind.

Now that I come back to NYC for work - there's no where else I'm going to stay. Love this hotel .

Room Tip: Allen Street facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianColasuonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. We’re all so glad that you enjoyed your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    287
    118
    58
    34
See reviews for
151
375
97
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Booked quickly for a spontaneous getaway and we had a great time. While the hotel was really cool with mod decor, even with kids, it was a good find! Chinatown, Little Italy and Soho walking distance. Cute little restaurants too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryhrava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.

The Lower East Side really is a great area of the city with upscale boutiques and trendy dining establishments along Clinton Street's restaurant row, and our hotel is right in the heart of it. Plus, with us being located directly across the street from the 2nd Avenue stop on the F line and along the M15 bus route, all of Manhattan is easily accessible for our guests.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed for a night in February with some friends for a concert. The front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. We reserved two rooms and they were able to put us on the same floor. One of the rooms was not ready when we arrived and to compensate they send up a bottle of champagne....such a nice gesture! The rooms were modern, clean and comfortable. We also had a very nice view of the city. Overall we had a wonderful stay and will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. Sounds like you really had a great time!

Our entire team here really strives to provide each guest with a flawless experience and when mistakes happen, we always work quickly to resolve them, and I’m glad to see that your issue was no exception.

See you again soon!

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I went to this Hotel with some friends for the weekend and had a great time.The front desk was very helpful and we got some great dining tips in the area from Joe who was also a great helping us navigate around the city. Everybody who worked there were very pleasant and friendly making it a very comfortable stay. When i return i will defiantly be staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinny d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We’re so glad to hear you had an amazing time!

See you again soon!

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Helpful and polite staff (bellboys, cleaning crew, concierge, front desk etc).
The room was pretty great. Well furnished, good size considering other hotels in New York. Great View. At first, when reading the other reviews at trip advisor I was worried regarding noises at night. I simply asked for a room for from the bar. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernandohamaoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

One of the benefits of experiencing the Thompson LES hotel is definitely the room size. With rooms starting at 325 sq. ft, and many at a generous 550 sq. ft., you will always have room to spread out and enjoy the time you spend inside your room, as well as outside in the city.

Requests are always welcome and encouraged. If there is something important to you, like being in a quiet area of the hotel, please do not hesitate to reach out to us in advance. The more we know about you, the more prepared we will be to exceed all your expectations.

See you again soon!

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed at the Thompson LES in February 2013 for 2 nights. On check-in, the front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. My room was gorgeous and very comfortable and quite large for the price by NYC standards. The staff was friendly throughout my stay. This is a great location in the LES. Only a few blocks from Starbucks, the Tenement Museum and Clinton Street Bakery. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Great review! Thank you very much for sharing.

In addition to the great sights you mentioned, we are also located right across the street from the 2nd Avenue Subway Station on the F line and along the M15 bus service line making access to anywhere in the city very easy.

See you again soon!

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Staff was very on point, helpful, and happy. Casual yet classy in a good way. Enjoyed every aspect of my stay there, and will definitely return to another Thompson property in the future. Check their facebook/social media channels for special perks & rates!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattForrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Excellent tip! We frequently post special offers to our Facebook and Twitter pages. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook, so you won’t miss out.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#76 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#116 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#110 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#138 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#93 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,982 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#78 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Property: SIXTY LES
Address: 190 Allen St, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002-1418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
#99 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#127 Family Hotel in New York City
#162 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing