We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“pay attention to the extras” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SIXTY LES
Ranked #150 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“pay attention to the extras”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The location is absolutely great: the subway is across the street, taxis are easily grabbed. It is located in a trendy area that it is full of cafe, little restaurants and clubs.
Rooms have a good size. The breakfast is outrageously expensive like all the food at the "Ribbon", which is the restaurant of the hotel. For example, you will pay $ 6 for each little slice of sashimi (meaning $ 60 for 10 pieces of fish. The Internet connection is $ 15 a day, which is a robbery.
The service is very good.

Room Tip: Do not book rooms on the entrance side: they are very noisy, because the hotel is built right over a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda_bp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    307
    122
    64
    34
See reviews for
163
388
99
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here on October 25th for a business trip (was not paying out of my pocket) and was staying on the 9th floor. Came bak to the room at 11:30pm to a blaring nightclub under my room and a stain on the sheets. Needless to say I will book elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Merecarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

It is true that we have a lively bar located inside the hotel, and I’m very sorry that you were disturbed. We do offer many wonderful rooms that are away from the bar noise. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to us in advance to request a room in a quiet area, as we will be happy to accommodate anyone.

Regarding the stain on your sheet - no excuses. This certainly should have been caught by our laundry company or when the bed was being made. I assure you that this is not a typical occurrence for our guests and you can rest assured knowing that we make all the beds with fresh clean sheets for all our guests.

We do hope that you'll give us another try so that you may enjoy a true Thompson hotel's experience.

All the best,

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Thompson LES is fantastic property. Rooms nicely appointed and Miguel at front desk went above and beyond to help (in lieu of a business center which would be my only suggestion).

Close to everything, coffee shops, boutiques - so many good restaurants to count within a block or so - Rayuela really good, and Cata AMAZING.

Forego the mess that is the Meatpacking district, LES is much more fun and filling in with some really unique properties.

We went to waterfront and took a run around the point to the west side.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnsnsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have been staying in this hotel for the last few years and have never been disappointed. It´s the perfect location in the Lower East Side next to the F-Train. Friendly and professional staff. The rooms are stylish and have a nice view from the higher levels. The ideal place to relax after an action day in the city. We love this place. Can´t wait to be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

at this trendy hotel in the East village good luck if you want to download from the internet. They don't allow it. Their Internet service wont even let you on the iTunes Store in case you want to buy music their broadband width can't handle it.
The elevators take for ever to come and God help you is they are having a party on the 2nd floor, they shut off one of the elevators for the paying guests.
To cap this stay i had a pair of Diesel Jeans stolen and manager gave me the usual "you must have not packed them"
I'd never stay there again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Hmmm. Used to be very chic, but losing out on a few maintenance issues. Feels cold in terms of design, and in terms of draughtiness. Staff are not super-friendly. My jacket I put in for dry-cleaning was ruined, and there was not effort to resolve the problem- emails went unanswered. I wouldn't stay here again simply because the Rivington is nearby and has more guest-friendly benefits. The James in Soho is a lot more welcoming, friendly, warm and luxurious than this hotel and is in a similar price range.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights for our first trip to NYC and I would definitely stay here again. the location is good if you don't mind walking (about 40 mins to time square or 10 minute taxi ride) but its a nice walk through the city.
The hotel room was really nice, it had floor to ceiling windows and you can see the financial district and the empire state building.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomsquires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#83 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#101 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#152 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#153 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#68 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#106 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Property: SIXTY LES
Address: 190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002-1418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Green Hotel in New York City
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
#115 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#127 Family Hotel in New York City
#162 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing