We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Rm, but Beautiful View of NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SIXTY LES
Ranked #153 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Small Rm, but Beautiful View of NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Hotel has a very modern, understated feel. The rooms continue with that vibe, although they are quite small. HOWEVER, the "smallness" melted away as I opened the curtains to reveal floor to ceiling glass walls on a corner room of the 17th floor (it is an 18 story building and one of the tallest in that area, so at that height views are unobstructed). The "smallness" turned into one of the coolest and grandest rooms I had ever slept in, simply because of the view. I slept with the curtains opened every night. I can't say enough about it. The bathroom was small, but nice - I loved the dark slate stone shower, as well as the shower head(s). The hotel is in a great location for restaurants with one or two blocks. There is a small, dare I say 'micro', crepery on the back side of the block, open super late and had a menu of something like 60+ crepes. Needless to say, many late night cravings satisfied there. There is even a Whole Foods about two (?) blocks away. I really loved this place, despite the small room. Normally the room size might put me off, but the view gave every bit back, and then some. Hope to go back.

Room Tip: Corner room, high as you can get
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tat3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    316
    125
    64
    37
See reviews for
171
397
100
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Myself and one of my best buddies have just come back from our stay at the thompson les !!
To say we had an amazing stay would be an under statement ,from the second we arrived at the hotel until the second we took a taxi back to the airport ,every member of staff made us feel so comfortable and welcome i cant even thank them enough.!
From the concierge to the bar staff by the pool to the cleaners and everyone else included the thomson les staff are an excellent example of a well oiled team !
They catered for every request and ask we had .
Even though we arrived on july 4th wkend and their were men and women queing out onto the street to get into the 4th july pool party ,the staff still got our cases right out of the cab and usherd us through the crowds and started to check us in.Within minutes we were in our room and looking out onto Manhatten from the balcony....
The hotel itself is set up perfectly with a very nice sushi restaurant,roof top pool and bar/club on the 7th floor ..we stayed on the 16th floor and had a beautiful view over the Lower east side of manhatten.
Our room itself was stunning and was always kept in tip top prestine condition....The bathroom was of a high standard also.
If there was anything we ever needed then it was only a phone call away....
Im really really hoping to return asap and show my g/f the thompson les as being a magazine journalist i know she would love to maybe do a write up on the thompson les and the truely amazing experience in which it is to stay there.
However this maybe a pipe dream as although luxurious and amazing it is to stay at the thompson I dont think il be able to afford to comeback anytime soon.
I can always dream i guess.
So to finish id like to give a very big personal thank you to all the staff at the thompson for making my stay one of the best ive ever had in any city in anywhere in the world.and fingers crossed il be coming back to say hello to you all again sometime soon XXXXXX :)

Room Tip: Have a room with a balcony to appreciate the view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Thomson LES hotel is a very nice and modern hotel which is in a good location of the city near chinatown and little italy.The rooms are a little expensive and the restaurant even more!If you eat every day 3 meals you will pay for the restaurant as much as for the room.There is an impressive black decoration all over the hotel (except from the restaurant).Be aware of the hard sofas (which seem very comfortable though) near the entrance of the restaurant.The staff is polite and helpful.Be aware of the parties which take place at the pool of the hotel almost every evening.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have better view and you don't hear so much the noise of the parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnysKopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I had such a wonderful stay at the Thompson LES. Beautiful rooms that manage to capture the excitement and electricity of the city whilst maintaining a deep calm and relaxing ambiance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I just stayed here for a week with my husband and daughter in a studio king suite. While the room would have been even lovelier without our 3rd party, having the sofa bed out all day still didn't make us feel cramped and the dividing silver curtain felt like it gave us privacy. The finishes and styling in the room was great, it gave us a really funky new York vibe.
Service throughout the hotel was always friendly and helpful, always someone onhand to ask whether you knew where you were going, needed a taxi, or offer restaurant advice. Breakfast was great too.
The only little downs for me were that the pool area was a little too 'sceney' to really go and swim in, above Allen needs better air conditioning to cater for those hot summer evenings - we wanted to settle in for an evening but it was so hot after 1 drink we left, and the lifts are crazy slow. Lucky none of those things are staff related though and as the value was really good, they wouldn't stop me from coming back and enjoying my stay, and New York, again. Well done!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were travelling as a family of 2 adults and 2 children and decided to check this hotel out on our last night before our track back to Australia. I have to admit it felt like we were in an episode of faulty towers!!!!! We had booked and prepaid for a non smoking king suite and upon check in were we were informed that there were no more non smoking non king suites left so we would need to have a smoking room (even though we had requested one), and if we wanted to have a non smoking room we would have to pay an extra $250 to upgrade to a suite!!!! So we asked to see the rooms to see if the upgrade would infact be worth it, but were informed neither room was ready anyway. From this moment everything started to unfold.... My daughter need to use the bathroom so we were directed upstairs to use the facilities while we were waiting, once we took the stairs unto the second floor we were told that there was a photo shoot being done and there was no way that we were aloud to use the restroom so we went back down stairs to be told that we could use the bathroom at the bar upstairs so we jumped in the lift only to find we couldn't go anywhere because we needed a card to get up the lift so back to reception my busting 5 year old daughter and I we went, so that we could get access to the lift. Once that debacle was over there was we sat in the lobby while housekeeping was called back and forth on there walkie talky only to find neither room was ready to inspect after a hefty wait! So after 45 minutes we were given vouchers to the bar upstairs to receive some beverages top compensate us for the wait, so up we went back upto the bar only to discover there were no staff to serve us drinks at the bar!!!!! We waited another 30 minutes up there with not one bar attendant in sight to order our drinks so the vouchers they gave us were not worth the paper they were written on!!! So I dragged the grumpy kids and husband back down to the lobby with our vouchers still in hand getting angrier and angrier by the minute and were once again compensated by being told that they will send milk and cookies up for the kids that night (which took forever to recieve when we did order them once again) as they kept talking back and forth on there little walkie talkies.....the rooms were still not ready! You have to understand this was our last night in NYC and we wanted to get out and about and explore LES not spend 2 hours in the hotel given broken promises waiting for a room to be ready. So I just told them look I don't care any more we will pay the $250 extra will you just hurry up and get the room ready! We were eventually taken upto our suite, which was amazing (and so it should be after the rediculous amount it ended up costing us!!!) I did feel sorry for the lovely girl at the front desk because nothing was going right for her and it wasn't her fault. It's just such a shame this hotel can't get it's act together because the hotel really is nice!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in June for 7 nights. We had booked for two adults and our two girls. They gave us a room with a king bed and a sofa bed which was hard and uncomfortable. After three nights they moved us to a room with two queen beds which was more comfortable and at no extra charge.
The pool was nice but do not expect to use it when you return from shopping or sightseeing in the afternoon - every day there was a pool party = no swimming attire, but looking down at the outdoor 3rd pool area it was obvoius that party guests were swimming!
The last night our neighbors had a very loud party with loud music, singing and general noise which went on for hours. The front desk took care of this quickly, but the general party noise continued and there I asked for a discount when checking out, which I got.
The location is great, lots of places nearby for shopping, dinner, breakfast and a musical evening.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annabibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#92 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#87 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#180 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Property: SIXTY LES
Address: 190 Allen St, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002-1418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Green Hotel in New York City
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
#116 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#126 Family Hotel in New York City
#161 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing