We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, Teeny Tiny Room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of W New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
W New York
Ranked #313 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good Location, Teeny Tiny Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

Flew into New York last Friday night on a mileage run, and picked the W New York because it was the closest Starwood property to a restaurant I was meeting a friend at the next morning for brunch. I'm typically a fan of W Hotels, having stayed at many of their properties throughout the United States. W Hotels trade on its hipster atmosphere, and modern designs. Even knowing that, I was still a bit surprised by the W New York.

After a $40 cab ride from LaGuardia, I walked into the lobby (at 10:30 p.m. on a Friday night), and was immediately pelted by the din of an endless sea of people. The lobby and lounge area, and the Whiskey Blue Bar, are apparently where lots and lots of New Yorkers hang out on a Friday night. It was really, really noisy and crowded. Coming off a long day of flying, it wasn't particularly relaxing. However, check-in was very efficient, and I was up at my room on the 14th floor within minutes.

The room surprised me as well. Despite being upgraded (as a Starwood elite), I still was shocked as to how small the room was. It seemed about half the size of a non-New York W Hotel room. The bathroom was no better. A pedestal sink was too oversized, and the toilet was sandwiched between the pedestal sink and the tub/shower. It was a bit uncomfortable. The bed was your typical W bed--very comfortable and soothing.

However, what made up for the hotel room was the W New York's location. (If you read my prior reviews, you'll see how important location is to me.) It's about 3 to 4 blocks easy walk to the Empire State Building, Grand Central Station and Park Avenue. A little bit farther to the UN. And, if you're cabbing it over to Hell's Kitchen (where I was meeting my friend), you pass through Times Square, Rockefeller Plaza and Radio City. Subway stop is a couple blocks away as well.

Would I stay at the W New York again? Perhaps, depending on where I needed to be in New York. It meets the typical W Hotel standards (service, room quality), but as other reviewers have stated, the rooms are shockingly small. Price-wise ($220/night), it was a little pricey, too. But, in the end, the hotel's location made up for that.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    1,284
    822
    451
    358
See reviews for
445
1,448
377
1,110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

I have been staying at this W hotel location for business and personal travel since 2003. The service is always very pleasant, some rooms are small, but the space is efficient and well laid out, and the recent remodel looks great. The doormen are the best- fast, professioinal and always super nice!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denastokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

Like others have noted the rooms are small but that's what we expected in NY. We had such amazing person assist us in our stay. The most impressionable employee was Lisa "Montana"! She was so friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. She went above and beyond the employee job description. She knew us by name and introduced us to other staff should we need assistance when she wasn't working. She made such an amazing impression that we have told all our friends we arrived home. Because of her insight we were able to maneuver throughout NY with ease and no intrepedation. We hopped on & off buses, subways and was able to see all the sights we wanted on our trip. I hope all can have the same experience we did during our stay! Thank you so much "Montana"!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holsteincows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

I had planned a night out with my sisters so we booked this hotel, asked for 3 beds..... I walked into the room and there was 2 twin size beds.. I haven't seen a twin size bed since room at my parents house when I was 10 years old. But as always the room was clean, neat and super cool. I called the front to ask them if they can help me with my dilemma. I told them there was 3 of us staying and there was not even room on the floor. He told me how this was a hotel that is usually meant for 2 guests, but thank goodness he was able to move me to a king bed room which was rather large with tons of floor space. Club downstairs looked super cool but we decided to go out elsewhere. Loved it here!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloSpaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, IL
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

Enjoyed my stay there, but for the money .. I'll look elsewhere next time. Room had no view and was cramped. But everything was clean and the ambiance was excellent. Great staff and lots of little touches. In all, glad I stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank af847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

This W was in the PERFECT location business-wise. It's in close proximity to Grand Central and there are plenty of restaurants in the restaurant. I'm staying here for a month and am definitley happy with my decision. Everyone talks about how the small the rooms are, but given my long-term stay, I was able to get a nice sized room that was very spacious.

I also have to say the service here was AMAZING!! Everyone was very polite and extremely helpful, form the front desk to the restaurant staff. One young lady, Yeshaira R., was the most pleasant person and extermely understanding.

Definitely a must visit! :-)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRWAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

Hi All,

I recently stayed at the W on Lexington, mainly for business... As a whole, the experience was fantastic! I was a bit hesitant after reading the reviews, but found a very clean, stylish, prefectly located hotel.
The staff were more than pleasent, always similing and willing to help, since i had a long stay i was bumped for a bigger room. The room was beautiful (although a bit dark), spacious, great design and style. Most comfortable bed i ever slept on. Really.
The restaurant in the lobby ("Blue... something...") has really good Pancakes.

I had a great time in the W, and will definetely reccomend it to friends!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArielandDanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#269 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,060 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#238 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#290 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,059 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,525 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Property: W New York
Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-7503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in New York City
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
#192 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York, the very first W Hotel globally, delivers high-tech hospitality in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. It is an urban retreat where your options are unlimited with Bliss Spa, Whiskey Blue and our Whatever/Whenever service culture. Our unique Extreme WOW outdoor terrace offers panoramic views of the New York City skyline. W new York has something for everyone. The eclectic collection of rooms and suites appeals to a diverse audience, while the versatile meeting spaces, studios and flexible public areas can adapt to any event or gathering our clients are creating. The newly renovated iconic Living Room is the perfect gathering place to begin your night out in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing