We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Dorm Room Was Nicer”
Review of W New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W New York
Ranked #319 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This place is not "hip" or "cool" by any stretch of the imagination like some W Hotels are. Possibly the worst Starwood property I've ever stayed at next to the Charlotte Sheraton.

1. Door man watched us struggle to get our luggage in.
2. LOUD construction in the lobby.
3. THE ROOM WAS TINY. TINY. As in my closet is bigger than this room tiny. There was literally ONE FOOT of space between the end of the bed and the wall.
4. Doll-sized 12 watt blow dryer.
5. There is no sign for the fitness center when you get off the elevator. The housekeeping staff spends much of their time directing people to this oddly-placed area of the building.
6. The first day I got to the fitness center there were people "trapped" inside because there is no sign that tells you how to get out using this weird red button. Also, nobody could hear them pounding and shouting because its way on the other side of the building.
7. The fitness center was fine, but by no means "State of the Art" as the hotel claims in its literature. Some Life Fitness cardio equipment and some Precor that has definitely seen its better days.
8. Difficult to get a cab in front of the hotel. Much better to use Uber.
9. Never again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HomeGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I cannot being to describe how disappointed I was to read your review. My sincere apologies for the poor experience. For future reference, W does offer a variety of room types and sizes and also higher wattage hair dryers upon requests, and I sincerely regret that you were not informed of this. I have already shared your comments with my management team, and please do not hesitate to write me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com if you find yourself returning to NYC. Thank you again, and I hope we can welcome you back. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,413)
There are newer reviews for W New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,634 - 1,640 of 4,413 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

Dear Ms. MacDiarmid,

 

Recently, I was on vacation with my girlfriend Julie to celebrate her birthday in Manhattan. After, spending a wonderful sunday  night at the W Hotel located on Lexington Avenue, we decided we wanted to stay another night (her birthday night); however, room rates naturally increased due to the fact it was monday.


I wanted to express my gratitude to three members of this Lexington Avenue W Hotel in Manhattan - Teddy, Erin, and Nils who all helped to maintain an affordable rate so that I could celebrate the actual night of my girlfriend's birthday at a price we could afford.


We both absolutely love your hotel, and I plan to use your W Hotel in both New York and Montreal on future trips

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rb7009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your post, and for choosing W New York to celebrate such a special occasion. I am happy you enjoyed your experience, and I have already shared your wonderful comments with Teddy, Erin, Nils, and the rest of the W team. Do not hesitate to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan to return. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

NYC has many hotels, don't waste your time or money here. Scuff marks on all pieces of furniture, filthy rug and the bathroom - good lord - hairs everywhere and most disgustingly, smears of some dried unknown substance on the walls near the toilet. I arrived too late to have the energy to change rooms. Had I come earlier, I would have changed hotels entirely. This hotel has had so many terrible reviews and a long long time to correct these problems. And yet, just ugh. I am glad I only had to stay a few hours and then had the pleasure of checking out.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the cleanliness and condition of your guestroom. I can assure you that this is not typical of our hotel, and I know that both my team has been in contact with you since, and we have addressed your concerns appropriately. Again, thank you for your feedback, and I hope we can welcome you back. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is rather expensive, however the rooms are super small. Only my carry-on bag was able to fit the room, no other space was left there. The view from the room was on the parking lot and the neighbor windows, which is kinda normal for NY, however, comparing to super small room was not nice. At the time of departure they started the reconstruction of the reception are-lots of dust and noise and didn't give any discounts for the non-comfortable state. And that is in the New Year's Day, when the prices are twice more then average hotel. In addition, when booking, the SOMEHOW charged my card twice. It took me about 4 days of negotiations to get my money back. Superbad impression of W brand.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinaida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the billing error made and the inconvenience it had caused. For future reference—W does offer a variety of room types and sizes to cater to the needs of all of our guests, and I sincerely regret if you were not informed of this. Please do not hesitate to reach me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com if you decide to return. Thank you again, and I hope we can welcome you back to enjoy our newly renovated Living Room. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We recently stayed at this W while my husband was traveling for work. The location is fantastic. You can easily walk to iconic NYC locations like Central Park, Radio City Music Hall, Broadway, and Rockefeller Center. We also found plenty of great restaurants within a 1 to 2 block radius.

The hotel itself is very modern and chic. The staff was all very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are pretty small (which is to be expected in Manhattan). When we checked in, we asked about a bigger room. We upgraded to a king-size bed and slightly bigger room for an extra $30/night. Because we were traveling with our young daughter, it was totally worth the added cost to us. Another thing I like about the W: They give out Bliss products. If you don't know, Bliss is a spa in NYC that makes great body lotions, soaps, etc. The Bliss Spa is connected to this hotel location.

Room Tip: Ask about the availability and cost of upgrading to a bigger room. Depending on your situation, you...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

What a pleasure to read your review! It’s always wonderful to see when our guests enjoy our convenient location and Bliss WC amenities. I will certainly share your kind words with the rest of my team, and please contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan to return. Again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you soon! – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

There is always something to be said about a hotel under construction. Obviously they have to do it at some point but during construction wouldn't you want to make things as good as possible?

We had stayed here's year previous and were greeted with champagne, a free room upgrade and nice service. This time: no champagne, no upgrade (we're told we could pay..) and the place was under construction.

Our room was suitable but it has the feeling of a lousy space with sharp looking things draped over it to cover up its aging appearance.

The staff did attempt to make our stay better after a slight miscommunication which was appreciated.

It's a good central location but in a market as competitive as New York I have to stand by the notion that there are better out there for the buck.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilbert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your post. Please accept my sincere apologies for the temporary inconvenience caused by our Living Room renovation. I will certainly share this with the rest of my management team, and please feel free to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan to return. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to enjoy our newly renovated Living Room! – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We utilized 30 hotel rooms and several meeting rooms recently at this hotel for a conference. The staff was excellent to work with and very flexible in making the most of our time there. Rooms are modern and clean, and small, but it's the middle of NYC, can't expect much more.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your feedback! I am thrilled that you and your colleagues enjoyed your W experience, and I hope we can welcome you back for future meetings. I have already shared your message with the rest of my team as a great reminder of what we do best. Please do not hesitate to e-mail me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan to return. Again, thank you for your gracious words, and we look forward to seeing you soon. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#270 of 468 in New York City
4,279 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#239 of 468 in New York City
1,171 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#275 of 468 in New York City
3,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W New York - Union Square
#151 of 468 in New York City
1,496 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#220 of 468 in New York City
3,421 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#98 of 468 in New York City
2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-7503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in New York City
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#199 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $197 - $644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York, the very first W Hotel globally, delivers high-tech hospitality in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. It is an urban retreat where your options are unlimited with Bliss Spa, Whiskey Blue and our Whatever/Whenever service culture. Our unique Extreme WOW outdoor terrace offers panoramic views of the New York City skyline. W new York has something for everyone. The eclectic collection of rooms and suites appeals to a diverse audience, while the versatile meeting spaces, studios and flexible public areas can adapt to any event or gathering our clients are creating. The newly renovated iconic Living Room is the perfect gathering place to begin your night out in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing