We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel. Here are some do's & don'ts.”
Review of W New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W New York
Ranked #317 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
suffield, ct
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good Hotel. Here are some do's & don'ts.”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We received took a room upgrade from the Cozy Room to the Beautiful Room upon
checking in. When we entered our Beautiful Room room my wife said, "Yikes. How
much smaller can the Cozy Room possibly be?". Our room measured 11 X 14 feet,
not counting the narrow hall and teeny bathroom. We chuckled at how the TV was
bolted to a stainless steel pole, an achievement in conserving space. It
reminded us of a stripper pole. But who needs a big room anyway? The bed was
soft and the room was warm. The walk from Grand Central was safe and took under
10 minutes. The front desk, concierge and doormen were upbeat and polite.
The staff told us where to get a little ham and eggs in the morning. The Hotel restaurant was pricey, offering red wine from $12 to $18 by the glass. A beer was $9. Their chicken dish was recommended by the waiter and for $27 it was OK. The service was great. Try dining outside of the hotel. The concierge will provide you with a list of good choices. When you have a chance, walk a block to 570 Lexington Ave and see the former headquarters of RCA, an Art
Deco triumph built in 1931....and take a moment to step into the lobby. It is
worth it. Our bed had a naked lady headboard which was more artistic than
naughty but imagine our surprise when we flicked the wall switch and the naked
lady lit up. Crazy cra cra. There was a lot of construction going on in the hotel lobby during our stay. Painting and patching may continue until April, 2014. Our 2 night weekend stay was very good because the hotel could not have been in a better location. It is is in a clean and safe neighborhood. 30 Rock and St. Patrick’s are 3 blocks away. Central Park South is 7 blocks away. Times Square is 5 short and 4 long blocks away. 5th Avenue is 5 minutes on foot. Just fantastic for getting around mid-town. Be sure to try the New York Luncheonette round the corner on 50th for breakfast. Happy traveling.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athomeatfenway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. I’m happy to see that you enjoyed your W experience, and my apologies for any disappointment in the size and décor of your guestroom. Please do not hesitate to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan a return trip. Thank you again, and we can’t wait to welcome you back! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,263
    1,351
    881
    478
    376
See reviews for
475
1,531
396
1,187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2014

W Hotel chain prizes itself on design and exclusivity and the moment you walk in, you immediately recognize that in their lobby and guest rooms. But, the rooms are extremely crammed for the amount the hotel charges. A standard room is 180 sq. ft. which leaves a very modest work area if you are a business traveler. I, however, got an upgrade to a top floor suit in my 2nd week of stay (thanks to my SPG platinum membership).
One high point of my experience was the staff which is extremely cordial and patient. I, for instance, had a problem with my international credit card. The staff tried its best and checked all alternatives. But, sadly in the end, when nothing worked I had to withdraw from an ATM and pay for my stay.
The hotel is mainly suited for the business traveler working out of one of the companies in and around Park Avenue and if you want to stay Midtown at the same time want to avoid the peak crowds of Times Square.

Room Tip: Look for larger rooms because standard rooms are extremely tiny. If budget permits, corner suits on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiranjoyChowdhuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your W experience, and our signature WOW service. I have already shared your kind words with the rest of my team, and do not hesitate to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan to return. Again, thank you for your feedback, and we cannot wait to welcome you back! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millington, nj
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

While really not the best hotel it was very reasonably priced for NYC. Rooms are very small and bathrooms are tiny. Mattresses are uncomfortable...really could feel the springs. Going through rennovations the lobby is small but very nice.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phylis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for any discomfort experienced with our W bed. I will certainly share this feedback with our Style team, and please feel free to reach out to me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan to return. Thank you again, and I hope we can welcome you back soon. – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Spent 5 days there. Very well located, room has all the necessary amenities, staff oscillates, some quite friendly and some have a "I don't care" sort of attitude, but what really bothered me was the price of in room dining (very expensive) and the very noise AC system! that lacked maintenance. But overall, it is a good place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Farabreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your post. Please accept my sincere apologies for the noise level in your guestroom and the unfriendly attitude that was encountered. I can assure you that this is not typical of W, and I have already shared your message with the rest of my management team. Do not hesitate to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com if you decide to join us again. Thank you, and we hope to see you soon. – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

What a fantastic hotel! and in an ideal spot to investigate New York. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and will hopefully visit again very soon.

The hotel was within easy reach of Lexington Avenue subway station but easilt walkable to Fifth Avenue, Bloomingdales, Time Square and Central Park.

The food was fantastic and the hotel housed the Whiskey Blue bar.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunlover2322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
What a pleasure to read you review! I am happy you enjoyed your W experience, and were able to take advantage of Whiskey Blue and our restaurant, Heartbeat. I will be sure to share your gracious feedback with the entire W team as a reminder of what we do best. Do not hesitate to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan to return. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back soon! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I booked a room at the W New York for one night just for fun! Sonia (I believe that was her name) at the front desk was SO NICE to let us check-in early and on top of that gave us a comp upgrade because it was my friend's birthday. We received a lovely gift from the concierge team, a bottle of champagne and cheesecake, for the birthday celebration! Patrick from the concierge team was the BEST! He gave us a great recommendation for sushi in the neighborhood and was really fun and helpful. I had such a lovely experience. The hotel itself is a little dated BUT still very well maintained and in a really great area of Manhattan, for those visiting from out of town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinaramireznyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
What a pleasure to read your review! I am happy you enjoyed your W experience especially for such a special occasion. I have already shared your comments with Patrick and the rest of my team as a reminder of what we do best. Do not hesitate to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan to return. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back! - Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Let's hope trip advisor post my review this time.....

I couldn't fault the W Hotel until I returned back in the UK and reviewed my credit card statement to find a £300 charge. I was dumbfounded at first as I had no charges on my room when I checked out. When I phoned up the hotel I asked Crystal [Manger] to explain why the hotel have charged my account. She stated we charged your account for someone else's booking [which was made 2 days after I had checked out] because the card the hotel took off that person had expired. Then she went on to say we would not refund you Mr. Venniri until we had charged the correct person for the booking. To say I was outraged at this point would be an understatement. I phoned back a few hours later to speak to a member of staff in the accounts department. I explained the predicament I was in and both Jose & Tom appreciated the fact that the hotel had made an error and offered me a full refund!

Even though the matter was resolved in the end, I recieved no apology from the hotel for making this fundamental error.

My advice would be when you check-in to a hotel make sure the hotel take your credit card details as I believe you have a certain level of protection and the bank have to satisfy certain obligations when someone disputes a charge on their credit card [I am sure someone knows more on the banks duties/level of protection regarding credit card disputes so please speak to your bank to gain a further understanding on this]. In addition make sure you request a receipt when you check out which clearly identifies what charges [if any] are going to processed against your credit or debit card!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilloV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the billing error that was made. I can assure you that this is not typical of our hotel, and that we take the safety and security of our guests seriously. Please e-mail me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com and I will gladly look further into these issues and rectify your concerns immediately. Again, thank you for your feedback, and I hope to hear from you soon. – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#265 of 467 in New York City
4,244 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#233 of 467 in New York City
1,154 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#275 of 467 in New York City
3,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#217 of 467 in New York City
3,365 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#137 of 467 in New York City
1,485 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#96 of 467 in New York City
2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Property: W New York
Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-7503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in New York City
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#198 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York, the very first W Hotel globally, delivers high-tech hospitality in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. It is an urban retreat where your options are unlimited with Bliss Spa, Whiskey Blue and our Whatever/Whenever service culture. Our unique Extreme WOW outdoor terrace offers panoramic views of the New York City skyline. W new York has something for everyone. The eclectic collection of rooms and suites appeals to a diverse audience, while the versatile meeting spaces, studios and flexible public areas can adapt to any event or gathering our clients are creating. The newly renovated iconic Living Room is the perfect gathering place to begin your night out in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing