We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service but Tiny Rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of W New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
W New York
Ranked #313 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Yonkers, NY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great service but Tiny Rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed one night in a Fantastic Suite because my husband's company was hosting an event in the hotel. I saw that the basic rooms are 150 sq' so wanted more space; suite was only 450 with low ceilings - OK but still very small with view of parking lot lifts and it only had a double bed, which is the first double I've ever seen in a suite. Mattress could've been better. Keep in mind that this is midtown Manhattan (most expensive real estate in the country) so most hotels in midtown have small rooms. The bliss products were great. Hotel staff was excellent and very helpful; since spa was booked they arranged a great in room massage. Also enjoyed Whiskey Blue for small bites and drinks. I think this hotel is probably a better choice for business than leisure given location, but again, since its midtown, it's walkable to a lot of attractions.

Room Tip: For a decent view, you'd need a room higher than the 7th floor where is where mine was - it look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsherdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. My apologies for any disappointment in the size of your guestroom, and I am thrilled that you enjoyed our WOW service, Bliss amenities, and Whiskey Blue lounge. I have already shared your message with the rest of my team, and do not hesitate to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan to return. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back soon! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,179
    1,283
    821
    451
    358
See reviews for
445
1,446
376
1,110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had to attend an event at the Waldorf Astoria. Upon searching for a hotel for the weekend we found the "W" which is across the street from the rear entrance to the Waldorf. Our room was perfect and the location was wonderful. Next time in NY I'll be happy to stay at the "W". The room was of decent size too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyhound14Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
What a pleasure to read your review! We are happy you enjoyed our convenient location and W style of your guestroom. I can assure you that your kinds words will be shared with the rest of the W team. Please feel free to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan a return back, as we’d love to welcome you back! Thank you again for your great feedback. – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainside, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the W Hotel on Lexington Ave for our anniversary. When I booked the room I mentioned this and forgot all about it. Management surprised us with sending up a bottle of champagne and a bowl of strawberries!!
The room was clean, roomy for NY and it had great Bliss products in the bathroom!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your post. It’s always great to see when my team WOWs our guests, especially for such a momentous occasion. Your gracious comments will be shared with the entire team as a reminder of what we do best! Please write me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan to return. Thank you again, and we can’t wait to welcome you back! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I really benefited from the concierge staff. Their knowledgable recommendations where great everytime, and resulted in some of the best moments in my trip to New York. I felt that they really customized their recommendations to what I was looking for, and were not just naming a set list of restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your W experience, and our wonderful Concierge team was able to accommodate your requests. Please feel free to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan a return trip. Again, thank you for your excellent feedback, and we hope to see you soon! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I realize that we could have worse problems in the life than staying at a W hotel in NYC. That said, if you are a W fan and a hotel lover in general, you will be disappointed with this property. It falls very short of the W and Starwood Brand's reputation for both quality and service.

My rate: $429/night.

The problem with this property is that the rooms are incredibly small. When I checked in, I asked if I'd be in a room with a king bed. The thought being, that the other alternative is a double. Well, the gentlemen said, there were no Kings available and he had, "a quiet room on the 9th floor" for me. Okay, here is where they get you. And, remember I'm paying $429/night. I was not placed in a double room which would have been spacious. They have rooms with one "Queen" bed. These rooms are TINY. And, when I say TINY, I'm not exaggerating. At all. They are TINY closets with a appears to be a twin bed. I don't care if they call them Queens. They look so small. I didn't stay long enough to measure. The room is beyond claustrophobic not only because of the size, but rooms this small have no view. So, it's either facing a wall to the next bldg or a very small inner courtroom. No light. No View. Can't breathe. Trust me. You don't want to stay in this room. It's not Tokyo. It's not a youth hostel. It's a W Hotel for $429/night. They could do better.


Remember, reception told me there were no Kings available. I complained to SPG (Starwood) who called the hotel for me. Once I did that, they magically found a larger room with a king bed.

I did get a letter from the Hotel's GM, apologizing for my dissatisfaction for the room. And, then condescendingly suggested I book online next time, so that I could see what the rooms looked like in advance. I think we can all agree that photos aren't always representative of what you'll actually get. She also congratulated herself and the team for what a great job they did at responding to my disappointment. Yes. Great job. However, I'd like my excellent experience to start at check in, not only after I complain.

OTHER NOTES: ASK the front desk if there's any construction going on. I was surprised at 8am to hear loud banging and rustling around outside my door. They were working on another room. When I opened the door to see what was going on. Housekeeping said, "Oh we have a letter about the construction." Ok. A letter after the fact doesn't really give me my sleep back, does it?

Another thing I noticed is that house keeping gets started VERY early and they are VERY loud. Even with my do not disturb sign on, I could hear every conversation that was happening in the hallway with the housekeeping staff. Terribly annoying.

Overall it's just not worth staying here. Yes, there's a W on the sign out front, but the experience is just not what you'll expect. Trust me on this one. Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your recent W New York experience. We cannot even begin to explain how disappointed we were to read your review detailing the dissatisfaction you experienced. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to remedy your concerns. – Anna M. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We visited NY this month and had great time hotel helped us with everything. concierge desk is the best. David and Marco know it all . You ask them anything they know. They helped me to arrange my spa treatments at Allure day spa , they do the best massages and facials . Next time we'll only stay here and use this guys for help and definitely us Allure Day Spa to relax,we don't have this kind of cervices at home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! I am happy your enjoyed your W experience, and I have already shared your message with David, Marco, and the entire Whatever/Whenever team as a reminder of what we do best! Please do not hesitate to e-mail me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan to return. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon. – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is the one of the best hotels I have stayed on - service perfect, rooms are so nice and clean, with lovely soft colours.
The hotel are located central, 5 min from Central Station, 10 min from 5th Avd. and Central park, 2 min to the metro.
The service are excellent, the staff are very friendly and kind - I will highly recomendent this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for at room with view to Lexington Avd. very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josefinecopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your review! It is always nice to see when our guests enjoy our convenient location and signature WOW service. I will certainly share this information with the rest of my team, and please feel free to write me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan a return trip. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#267 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,057 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#238 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#290 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#222 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Property: W New York
Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-7503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in New York City
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
#192 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York, the very first W Hotel globally, delivers high-tech hospitality in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. It is an urban retreat where your options are unlimited with Bliss Spa, Whiskey Blue and our Whatever/Whenever service culture. Our unique Extreme WOW outdoor terrace offers panoramic views of the New York City skyline. W new York has something for everyone. The eclectic collection of rooms and suites appeals to a diverse audience, while the versatile meeting spaces, studios and flexible public areas can adapt to any event or gathering our clients are creating. The newly renovated iconic Living Room is the perfect gathering place to begin your night out in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing